A day in my life: Wednesday August 10, 2011

Thoughts:
Let me tell you about my cross training plans besides the running.

You know I ended my gym membership. It ends in January and last week I’ve been working out what I want to do for cross training. I decided I am going to use workout DVD’s for my strength workout. I invested in some DVD’s that will arrive soon in the mail, these are all by Jillian Michaels. I will expand this collection by buying a new DVD every month so I can choose every time. I have a few on my wish list already.

K. and I were going to try out Bootcamp in October but we both look forward to this and we changed the date and now we will go in September. If I like bootcamp, I will start taking classes soon after the free class we’re going to.

Basically my cross training will exist from swimming (pool at the gym till January, public swimming pool after that), Bootcamp (if I like it), workout DVD’s, cardio sessions in the gym (till January) and some yoga now and then. I will make a plan every week, also based on appointments I might have in that week. If a workout has to be dropped due to a busy schedule it will be a cross training.

Exercise:
Yesterday morning I had to do an easy run of 5.6 K (3.5 miles). I took 3 walk breaks which is my goal for my runs this week. It was a good run. Only thing was that it started to rain pretty hard the last K of my run so I came home pretty wet but for that we have hot showers right?

Stats:
Weather: dry ending with rain, a little bit of wind, 13C (55 degrees)
Distance: 5.6 K / 3.5 miles
Time: 00:40:21
Average time: 7:12 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Journey – Don’t stop believing

After work I went to the gym for a swim workout. I took it to the next level and swam 870 yards in 30 minutes (instead of 660 yards at my last swim). It went easy.

I didn’t have the pool the entire time to myself. While I was swimming 2 guys came in the pool who didn’t really swim. I’m a pretty good swimmer and when I do freestyle I go pretty fast and I have a good technique. That’s not to brag but the result of years of swimming when I was a kid. At one point I heard one of them a bit behind me, he tried to pass me but he couldn’t. Shortly after that they left the pool. It made me smile: I may not be the fastest runner but in the pool I can beat a guy 🙂

This morning I had to do speedwork: 6 x 400 metres (at 5K pace) with 400 metres jog/walk in between. Speedwork is tough but I did all 6 repeats at the right pace. The jogs in between were slow.

Stats:
Weather: dry, a little bit of wind, 13C (55 degrees)
Distance: 5.2 K / 3.2 miles
Time: 00:36:06
Average time: 6:57 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – She’s not there

During lunch I had the weekly lunchwalk with K. We walked for 32 minutes. When I came home I took Bella out for a 32-minute walk. A good active day!

Daily Dinner:

Monday
Chicken Parmengia with salad. Recipe by Bill Granger – Bill’s basics.

Tuesday
Chicken burritos. Recipe by Bill Granger – Bill’s basics.

Wednesday
Pork tenderloin marinated in yellow curry paste with fresh pinapple, red onion and cherry tomatoes, served with rice. Recipe by Bill Granger – Bill’s basics.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 221 – Tuesday August 9
Sunrise during morning run.

I love these shoes I was wearing on Tuesday.

Day 222 – Wednesday August 10
Lunchwalk with K.

15 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday August 10, 2011

  1. Oh I envy you for being a fast swimmer and for knowing the proper technique. All I do is swim like an old lady (alternatively, like a duck). lol

  2. It sounds like you are all set for a successful cross-training regimen.

    Nice photos!

  3. I LOVE that you beat the guy in the pool!!! 🙂

    You sound so excited about all of your upcoming workouts – that’s really fun to hear. I hope you like bootcamp!

    Those shoes. Oh my. My, my, my. Gorgeous. You could be on Mad Men with them!

  4. Yahoo for cross training!!!

    Those shoes are gorgeous. I really like all the new recipes you are trying too.

  5. Way to go with your swimming. I was more or less self-taught when it comes to swimming and I can hold my own in a lake or whatever but I don’t think my form is very good. I did take a swimming class in college and learned the basics but I’m just not very good at getting the breathing right.

  6. Once again we’re kind of doing the same thing right now. I don’t belong to a gym, but have been taking drop-in fitness classes as it fits my schedule. The classes are $4.33 per drop-in (but I’ve been taking 2 classes per drop-in so it’s very cheap). If I don’t go it doesn’t cost me and I can take whatever I feel, whenever I feel. I’m having a lot of funny mixing it up.

    Awesome on the swimming. I am not a swimmer, I can swim OK but don’t enjoy it. It is great exercise though.

    I love Journey, great song!!

  7. Great job on the swimming!

    Have you checked out any of The Firm DVDs? I love the Firm!

    Those shoes – I have to admit that I said “Ow!” when I saw them. 😀

  8. Ha ha – great job on beating those guys at swimming and then rocking those pink shoes! ;-0

  9. one has to keep adjusting your training program till you find something that works for you…you sure are doing that…I do hope you find something you fall in love with as much as you love running.

    I dont think I could walk in those shoes 🙂 with not working I never wear heels…but love the look on a woman.

  10. Your cross training plan sounds great! I’ve been working out to DVDs a lot more, and I really enjoy it. The 30 Day Shred is my go-to DVD when I’m short on time, but I want to get in a workout. I also have a few Jackie Warner circuit DVDs, and they are great. They are a bit longer (30 and 40 minutes) but work a wide range of muscles.

    Great job in the pool! Love that you beat that guy! 🙂

    Finally, you have the best shoes!!!

  11. We, runners, sometimes need swimming. I’m trying to go swimming once a week.
    You have to increase your running drills as soon as possible because you may meet those guys on the runnng path 🙂
    Nice photo of the horses!

  12. Your cross training plan sounds perfect. I’m glad you feel it would be OK to skip a workout if necessary. Sometimes with plans it’s hard to let go but letting go is also sometimes the better thing to do – physically and mentally.

    I want those shoes and think you should send them to me immediately!

  13. Way to go on the cross training Fran. OMG…those shoes are HOT!!!!!!!! I’m not sure if my foot neuroma would find them equally as nice, but wow…they’re sassy!!! Love the sunrise shot too. Have a GREAT day!!

  14. way to go on the workouts and good for you and swimming! love the shoes too 🙂 so glad you found my blog!

  15. OMG LOVE the PINK shoes!!!! So cute!!!

Leave a Reply

