A day in my life: Saturday August 13, 2011

Thoughts:
I don’t have that much to say today. Except maybe that I’m struggling, as usual, with what works best for me. During July my job wasn’t too busy but that has changed since this week because almost everybody is back from vacation. I noticed by Thursday I was again very tired. One thing I need to do on weekdays is get more sleep, working on that. I’m also going to give a double workout on Tuesday, Wednesday and Sunday a try. My long run is on Saturday. For now I’m skipping the easy Thursday run which is always 4.8K (3 miles). I’ve always ran 4 days a week and for me that’s enough.

I’ve chosen two days in a row because these days work best for me in combination with other stuff like work, housekeeping, grocery shopping etcetera.

This way I have 3 rest days a week which I apparently need. I’m no athletic person, running or exercising is hard work for me, it doesn’t come naturally. I need my rest days, I can’t workout 6 or 7 days a week like other people can. I hope this new approach works for me, if not I keep trying till I find something that does work.

Do you have find your balance in all of this or are you also still trying to find out what works best for you?

Exercise:
I took a complete restday on Thursday. My legs were so sore. I’m such a lousy stretcher after workouts and I paid for that on Thursday. Friday it was a little bit better, this was a planned restday and all I did was walk Bella.

This morning I had to do my long run of the week: 11.2K. From the first step I knew this was going to be a tough one. I decided immediately to do whatever I had to do to finish the distance which ended in a 7:1 run/walk run. I stopped every 20 minutes to stretch my legs. The second half of the run was better but still I was happy when I finished this one.

Stats:
Weather: dry, cloudy, a little bit of wind, 17C (62 degrees)
Distance: 11.2 K / 7 miles
Time: 01:20:02
Average time: 7:09 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bonnie Tyler – Holding out for a hero.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 223 – Thursday August 11
The family Swan

Day 224 – Friday August 12
Just a view taken during my walk with Bella.

20 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday August 13, 2011

  1. I don’t think you would need to run more than 4 days a week. I need to take 2 rest days a week or I end up burning out. Even when I did my 500 mile biking month, I still had 2 days a week off. It’s good for body and soul 😀

    That swan family is adorable!

  2. It is hard to balance exercise and all of other life’s demands. I’m still trying to figure it out. I have a toddler, so my ‘free time’ is limited to 2.5 hours in the afternoon. If I exercise, I don’t get other things done,such as housework, shopping, errands etc. It is a balance, and I’m still trying to figure it out every week. I think running four days a week is very good.
    Love the picture of the swan family.
    You are doing great! Enjoy your weekend.

  3. That is a cool swan picture, with them cutting through the algae in the water. 🙂

    My rest days are Saturday and Sunday, and I cannot tell you how good my legs feel in Saturday morning when I sleep in – I swear, I can literally feel the muscles sighing in relaxation!

    Good on ya for powering through that long run this morning – I like your determination.

  4. One thing I’ve learned on this journey, is that everyone is different. WE are 5 women who run together and each is at a different stage yet we all do the same sort of training. Some are more athletic than others…
    I admire you for trying so hard with something you love…thats what its all about. I think we get hung on who does the fastest time, or distance etc…we should just celebrate each others achievements and not compare ourselves to their bar…
    I always admired Heidi’s pace ~ now she is honest that she is struggling a little….this happens to us all…we have good times, and you have had many good times…you are struggling now……you will get over this time again…
    YOu are trying to find what works for you…we each have to do that.
    I sometimes think I am superwoman and then I crash…I crash hard…its not nice, your way is better…you know how to balance yourself, something I wish I could do more balancing of my life. I’m an all or nothing person, and I am very hard on myself…Like you know, I refuse to allow myself to walk during a run, yet every book I read says ITS OKAY TO WALK during a run….
    I think for me its having been a coach and expecting the best from each pupil I had….Now I only have myself…So I’m hard on me.
    You will find yourself again in your running, you have your half marathon to look forward too now…you have a goal…don’t pressure yourself…just run and walk it…finish it…thats what I aim to do…I dont care about time…my pace will be slow…but thats fine..all I want to do it get to the end….

  5. I definitely agree that you have to find out what works for your body. When I started going to the gym, I was still going to yoga twice a week, so that was five work outs per week. My body didn’t like that.

    Now I go to yoga once a week and the gym or swimming for a total of three more work outs. That gives me three rest days and I am happy with that.

    Love the swan family!!!

  6. I’ve mostly learned to find a balance but I don’t have a lot of other obligations in my life right now. I’m also lucky that I can run during lunch and have coworkers to help motivate me with that. It’s nice to run with other people. Is there anyway for you to find someone to do some runs with? Do they have running groups or clubs where you live?
    I love that swam picture too. Are the babies that purplish color and then they turn white once they get older?

  7. I don’t think anything is wrong with you for not being able to run more than 4 times a week! I am planning on running 3-4 times a week for C25K and then cut back to a max. of 3 in October as I am also starting my Zumba class. If I work out 3-4 times a week, honestly, I will be very proud of myself.

  8. I love that swan family. I usually take two rest days or at least two days off from running. I didn’t do well in my race today and I think part of it is that I haven’t had a rest day in quite awhile. I should know better but I am trying to fit it all in while I can.

  9. Do I struggle with finding balance? YES! But as long as we keep trying, experimenting with new things, figuring out what works and what doesn’t, stepping outside of the box every now and then, we are doing great, don’t you think?
    Love the swam family picture!
    Hugs

  10. i really love your blog and love your honesty about the dogs 😉 I find it is so hard to find balance especially with work and all. It seems like you are doing pretty well! Keep it up girl.

  11. Good for you for listening to your body and implementing rest days- I too am like you and athletics are not natural for me and I need rest as well…I just always feel guilty then make myself sick! Good for you congrats

  12. Well you know what my answer is right? I’m searching and struggling. Lately I’ve been working out 6 days a week but since I’m not training my runs are shorter. I average around 4 days of running and 2 days of something else (Muay Thai Boxing) and 1 day of rest – which can change from week to week. This week it’s today!

    That path where you walk with Bella looks like it would be a great running path too!

  13. It sounds like your new programme suits you very well. The new school of thinking (Matt Fitzgerald et al) all hold with the theory that you should have an adequate number of rest days, and rather focus on having a quality workout. I have found it to be a good philosophy, but I guess it’s not for everyone. Some people do well running almost every day….I wish I had both the time and organization, so Matt’s theories are the way for me. Good to see you are back in form.

  14. I think we all have been struggling to a certain degree Fran, you are not alone! Summer is so hard to find balance with. I find lots of get togethers, lots of food and trying to keep the kids entertained at the end of the day I’m to tired for anything else. I have been struggling badly as well. But I keep thinking about my end goal and that I will start back up once they are back in school, that’s my balance, to not be hard on myself.
    You are doing the best you can and we are all very different, what works for one may not work for the other. Hang in there friend.
    Hugs from Canada!

  15. I agree. 4 days running a week is more than sufficient – if I run more than 4 times a week, I burn out. So I completely agree with your decision here.

  16. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran! 4 times a week sounds a-ok to me! (not that I run, but building rest days with any exercise is important!) LOVE the swans and the photo on the walk with Bella. Have a great week!!!

  17. I feel like I am ALWAYS trying to figure out what works best – especially now that I am dabbling in swimming & cycling. How much of each sport, how to divide it up, do I need complete rest days, etc. Have to have fun with it!

  18. I’ve never run more than 4x a week. Now that I’ve gotten injured, I realize that even 3x is a luxury and it’s better than over doing it. I want to stay healthy and if that means I can’t run 2 days ina row, I’m ok with that. It may mean only 5K and 10ks but I still plan to try to do at least 1 half a year.

  19. Finding balance is a never ending quest for me. Sometimes I think I have it nailed and I have the world all figured out … then I crash into a brick wall and wonder how I ever could have thought I had it all together. HAHAHA What works for me at some stages of my life is constantly changing and we have to adapt. Right now I’m OK with one, maybe 2 rest days a week, but some of my workout days are easier than others. The focus for me at the moment is one really good quality long run and at least one day of a really tough full body workout. The rest are easier days and/or rest days.

  20. I’ve been interested in checking out that book…run less, run faster. I’ve heard that sometimes running less and having more quality runs is better than quantity. You will have to let us know how your running is by subtracting a day. I am happy if I’m running 3 days a week with added strength training and a yoga class.

Leave a Reply

