A week in the life: week 32-2011

Weekend recap:
My weekend was easy and relaxing as usual. My life isn’t that exciting, sometimes pretty boring but I like it that way. After Saturday’s long run I relaxed in the afternoon with some reading, blog reading and watching TV. I also took a nap of an hour which was very nice. Saturday night we watched a movie “Date Night”.

Sunday more of the same, running and working out in the morning. Relaxing and taking a nap in the afternoon.

Today back to work and when I got there all the servers were down. Nobody could do anything for 2 hours, after that we had access to our documents on the server but still no email till lunch break. These days we depend so much on our computers that when everything is down, it’s hard to find something to do.

Weekly workout review
Yesterday morning I had an easy run of 4.8K (3 miles) to do. I have never run the day after a long run and had no idea how it would go. It turned out to be one of my best runs since the past weeks. It went easy. It rained the entire time but I don’t really mind running in the rain.

When I got home I changed to dry clothes and did workout 1 of Jillian Michaels 6 week six-pack. This was tough after the run and have to be honest that I skipped some exercises. Those of you who are familiar with Jillian’s workouts know she can kick your butt. Well she certainly kicked mine because I feel it today 🙂

I’m very, very happy with my weekly results of last week. It’s getting a little bit better every week.

Book I’m reading
Tess Gerritsen – Body double

Still reading this one.

Movies I’ve seen last week

The A-Team

We have a subscription to a movie channel since we don’t go to the cinema that often. Most movies are aired about a year after they were in the cinema. That’s why you probably will notice I’m watching mostly movies that are 1 year old or older.

Those of you who are of my age probably watched the A-team when you were little. I still see a part of it every day because they keep airing it here over and over again every weekday. As to be expected this movies was made as action movies are nowadays. It was a nice movie to watch, one you don’t have to think about that much. But we both find the original A-team more sympathetic than the new one.

Date night

I heard a lot about this movie last year but to be honest I didn’t think it was that funny. It made me smile a few times but never had to laugh out loud. It was an okay movie but not one I am going to watch again.

TV shows I’ve been watching last week
Rookie Blue (last episode season 1), Modern family (rerun), Covert Affairs.

Weekend Dinner

Sunday
Beef tenderloin with green beans and zucchini in a soy-honey sauce, served with rice.

Cocktail Sunday
S*x on the beach (use the * because I don’t want my spambox to explode by search engines for this word). It was a delicious cocktail. We had some Port Salut cheese on toast with it.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 225 – Saturday August 13
Mushrooms? Aren’t they supposed to grow in Autumn instead of August?

Day 226 – Sunday August 14
My little workout buddy. As soon as I lay down on the mat for ground exercises Bella stood next to me with her ball, thinking it was playing time.

Highlight of the week
Great workout week.

Quote of the week

Weekends are a bit like rainbows; they look good from a distance but disappear when you get up close to them.
John Shirley

17 responses to “A week in the life: week 32-2011

  1. We rarely go to the movies and wait for them to come out on disc as well. Although I did make an exception yesterday when Mr. Helen was working and went to see The Help. It was excellent!

    I’m glad your workouts are going better and that you are feeling better about all the hard work you put in. It’s nice to see some results, eh?

  2. That picture of Bella on your exercise mat cracked me up – Paco does the same thing, gets all in my face whenever I’m on the ground trying to exercise.

    I’m impressed that you ran three miles and THEN did a workout DVD! Way to go for some extra credit!

    Movies are super cheap at the theater by my house, but I go in spurts, although this summer I’ve gone quite a bit. Still haven’t seen some major movies, yet, like The King’s Speech, because I rarely rent DVD’s.

  3. Look at you going all super woman on the workouts! Good job!!! A run followed by Jillian, you are hard core.

    Glad to hear the running is coming easier. I had a good run this weekend too. We are improving – YAY!

    My daughter had about the same opinion of ‘Date Night’. I haven’t watched it after her review and think I definitely won’t bother now.

  4. I like uneventful weekends. Our life isn’t very exciting and that is a good thing LOL!

    The A-team was a show I watched when I was younger. That and Mod Squad 😀

  5. Go see Stupid Crazy Love. I laughed out loud several times.

  6. Lovely relaxing weekend! Great job on the workouts! Funny Bella, thinking it was play time.

    We always wait for movies to come out on Blu-ray…we like to watch movies from home.

    The beef looks so tasty!

  7. Sounds like you had a nice relaxing weekend, and still got some runs in. That is wonderful! I just love weekends.
    I don’t go to the movies much either, maybe twice a year. I do have a subscription to Netflix, so I can rent via the mail, but there is not much time to watch TV. I saw Date Night too, and it wasn’t a favorite of mine either.
    I like your drink “…on the Beach”. My sister-in-law introduced me to a new drink this weekend, so easy to make at home. I’ll have to blog it.
    Like your beef dish. You have good recipes.

  8. Love how Bella wants to work out with you – and yes, Jillian defintely makes you do a tough workout!
    Good job on the running and workouts – you had a great week. I just plotted out a program for the next seven weeks to get ready for this 15 K I am running with a very cool blogger friend of mine 😉 …can’t believe it’s less than two months away!

  9. Your weekend sounds like mine…Run and sleep on the couch!!!!!
    This weekend we got the South African Braai in Frankfurt…so no running and no sleeping on the couch!!!! 🙂
    Have a good week…
    You did well last week…

  10. Hi Fran, I love that you are doing cocktail Sunday too. And that picture of Bella? AWWWW!!!!! You are inspiring with your workout commitment! Have a great Wed.

  11. Bella is such a beauty. She wants to work out too. Gotta work on those abs, ya know.

    Jillian’s workouts are tough. I can’t believe you did one AFTER a run. Wow. That’s impressive. I’d say you needed that cocktail afterwards!

  12. I love that your run after your long run was such a great one! I usually hate running back to back…it’s like my legs don’t want to work or something. Oh and cocktail sunday sounds like the best!! 🙂

  13. Great workouts this week – I could never do a Jillian DVD after a run, that is impressive. As for movies, I loved Date Night. Maybe because in the movie theater everyone else is laughing, so it makes me laugh too. If I saw it at home perhaps it wouldn’t be as funny?

  14. I saw date night awhile back and hated it. Awesome workouts and love your quote 🙂

  15. I would have never thought to see mushrooms in August 🙂
    Have a nice weekend!

  16. I don’t think your Sunday sounds boring- to me sounds delightful!! My Bosco does the same as your Bella- he thinks play time when I have my mat out!!

  17. A very good week with many workouts. When the Bella’s first official running race (with her own bib)?

Leave a Reply

