A week in the life: week 33-2011

Weekend recap:
This weekend I reached my first goal of this year. By now I have run more km’s / miles than I did in 2010 totally, and still 4 months to go. I am almost sure I will reach my goal of 1011 km’s (628 miles) this year.

Saturday we had a perfect Summer day, not too hot and sunshine the entire day. I spent a lot of it in my garden with my book.

Yesterday it was so humid, I stayed inside the entire afternoon, didn’t like it outside. After dinner it was a bit cooler and we went to a little park that’s a 5 minute walk away from our house to play with Bella. In this park she can run around without a leash and she loves it.

Weekly workout review
Yesterday morning I had to do a pace run of 4.8 K (3 miles). The pace I want to run at my half marathon is 6:40 per km. Yesterday I ran at a 6:43 pace which I’m very happy about because it included 2 walk breaks. My legs were a bit stiff at the start due to Saturday’s long run but it got better during the run.

When I got home I took a 15 minute break before I did a yoga workout of 1 hour. I bought a few yoga DVD’s and did a workout called “The Original” of a serie called Total yoga. I could notice that I haven’t been doing yoga or Pilates in a while because I’m not as flexible as I used to be. But it was a good workout, everything was explained very well. I liked it and had a good workout.

After a difficult start with my runs last week, I made up for that the second half of the week when everything went so much easier. Next week is a kind of recovery week from running, less mileage and 3 instead of 4 runs.

Book I’m reading
Karen Rose – I can see you

I finished Body double by Tess Gerritsen. This is the 4th book in the Rizzoli & Isles series. I had read a book of her few years ago but didn’t like that one. When Rizzoli & Isles started on TV last Winter I found out this was based on books by Tess and I bought the first one “The Surgeon” and these ones I like. Every book has a main story but the lives of R & I continue in every book. If you ever want to read them I suggest you read them chronological because of that.

Movies I’ve seen last week
Eclipse for the third time. What can I say: I just love the Twilight saga 🙂

TV shows I watched last week
Covert Affairs.

Weekend Dinner

Saturday
Clubsandwich with fricandeau, boiled egg, rocket salad and tomato.

Sunday
Made tomato soup that we ate with some whole wheat bread.

Cocktail Sunday
Pina colada with some toast with brie cheese.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 231 – Saturday August 20
The other harbour in my village (we’ve got two)

Day 232 – Sunday August 21
Playing with Bella in the park.

Highlights of the week
Nice weather the entire week, lunchwalk with a colleague, facial treatment at the beauty salon.

Quote of the week
If you have time to whine and complain about something then you have the time to do something about it.
Anthony J. D’Angelo, The College Blue Book

17 responses to “A week in the life: week 33-2011

  1. HI Fran, congratulations on hitting that running goal!!!! Love the photos as always, love Cocktail Sunday (ours was a gin based drink yesterday, but we were both “tropical”)and really like the quote. Have a wonderful week!!!!

  2. so happy for you that you reached your goal Fran! That’s so great, I’m so proud of you!
    Looks like you had a great week and that last quote really hit me! so very very true!

  3. Congrats on reaching your mileage goal already!! Great job last week. Enjoy the recovery week!

  4. You keep going like this you’ll definitely beat your yearly goal. Congratulations on passing the first mark!

  5. I’m guessing that “fricandeau” is watercress? Yummy looking sandwich. 🙂

    How awesome that you hit your mileage mark! You are a runner girl, Fran!!!

    Your village is so pretty and seems to have it all. I hope to see it in person one day (need to go buy a lottery ticket to make this happen sooner rather than later!).

  6. Congratulations on reaching your goal!!! Glad you had nice weather all week and fun times!!! Reading out in the garden sounds so lovely!

  7. Congratulations on reaching your goal! And you still have four more months to go. That is awesome!!!!
    I admire your dedication to running, and your determination to ‘just do it’. It isn’t always easy, but if feels so good when you accomplish a goal.
    The Yoga DVD looks interesting. I’ll have to check it out. I love pilates and yoga too. I just wish there was more time in the day to do these things.
    I enjoy the pictures. (The sandwich looks absolutely yummy!).

  8. Bravo on reaching your goal Fran! That takes dedication 😀

    That harbor looks so crowded LOL. Maybe Shelley and I can get a group discount to come out and visit.

  9. Jealous of the two harbours.

    Have you watched Castle? That is what I am watching now and I do like it.

  10. you had a great week, I love when I find a good DVD especially yoga. It just makes me want to do it.

  11. Wow– super congrats on your yearly mileage!!! I have not really even come to close hitting my mileage from last year. I know there is still time! But super congrats to you Fran!! 🙂 Oh gosh…and your brie cheese and pina coladas make me jealous!!!

  12. Well done! Good job on the mileage….likewise, I am sure you will reach the others. Good to hear you still have some summery days. We had a few heat waves here in Boston, and it was unbearable. It reminded me of being back in Italy with 40° heat everyday. Anyway, seems like that is a thing of the past, and the days are definitely much friskier. A lot has been going on, and I’ve not had much time to blog, let alone run. However, I will update it soon. It’s always nice though, hearing how things are going with you.

  13. Great that you have reached your goal…well done on that.

    You had a good training week with the weather being hot and I know you dont like that.
    Today is hot and humid again…but I love it! Did Kettlebell outside on the grass this morning…:)

    Lovely photo’s, always enjoy seeing your town, what you eat etc etc.

  14. Great job on hitting your goal and with 4 months to go!!!
    Yoga workout sounds good – I haven’t done any for a while – with three teenage boys at home all summer I never seem to find the peace and quiet I need to do it! I am looking forward to September 😉 for that and many other reasons!

    This weather is so crazy – did you guys get hit by the big storm we got this morning? The sky went completely black at 10 am – it was so creepy…

  15. Fran it’s so good and INSPIRING to read about your running!

    sorry I’ve not been around – so much catching up to do after holidays!

  16. Congrats on your running miles or kms in your case. I love Twilight too. Can’t wait for Breaking Dawn movie!

  17. Way to hit your running mileage from last year already! That’s awesome!
    That sandwich looks really tasty. I LOVE a good sandwich!

Leave a Reply

