A day in my life: Saturday August 27, 2011

Thoughts:
Thursday after work I had a dinner date with my friend K. Those of you who have been reading my blog for a while, know we do this at least twice a year. We decided to go for Mexican food and it was delicious (see below). We had a great time as usual, time really flies when we’re chatting about all kinds of things.

Follow up on my last post: this morning during my crappy run I made a commitment with myself. As said my half marathon is 7 weeks away. For the next 7 weeks, starting Monday I’m committing myself to:

  • Stick to my running schedule.
  • Do at least 2 cross training sessions a week.
  • Eat healthy (no more fast food/take away which we have once a week now).
  • No alcohol except for 1 or 2 glasses of wine at special occasions. This also means cocktail Sunday is going on hold.
  • No more processed foods like cookies etcetera. I can have a treat at the weekend (like dessert, a snack or pastry) but I have to make it myself.
  • Get enough sleep.

As you can see in the photo below I really need to lose some weight. When I saw this photo this morning after loading it on my computer it actually gave me a wake up call, it’s so obvious I gained some weight and I don’t like the way I look right now.

I also decided to participate in Heidi’s challenge for September. If you want to join us, please do. You can find the details of the challenge here

Exercise:
I really, really didn’t want to run this morning. But I did go because the weather was perfect for running: dry, not to hot, little bit of wind. But it wasn’t a good run. I did 3.2 K (2 miles) at a very slow pace. The only positive thing about this run is that I did go even though I didn’t want to.

Daily Dinner:

Thursday
Mexican: enchiladas and a grand dessert with chocolate mousse, chocolate cake, kahlua (coffee liquor) cake, a crepe with honey and some lime sorbet ice.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 236 – Thursday August 25
Dinner date with K.

Day 237 – Friday August 26
On Syl’s request: the lovely miss Bella.

14 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday August 27, 2011

  1. Bella is so adorable 🙂 Her expression looks like she is posing because she has to LOL!

    You need to add one more thing to your list.

    Every day, say “I am going to run a half marathon and be awesome!”

  2. I will be supporting you all the way the next 7 weeks.
    I can see you have gained a bit of extra weight, but know you will get it off again in no time with your head in the right space.
    Marleen ran her first 10km run today in South Africa…did 10km in one hour and 12 mins…good going for a first.
    Next week its my turn…oh I am so nervous!!!
    Love the photo’s this week.

  3. Good for you for getting your run in. I think a lot of people have had some weight gain over the summer. I’ve got some to lose and also need to get back into my running. I have a half in November. Keep up the work!

  4. I love what Lori said…Every day, say “I am going to run a half marathon and be awesome!” Yahoo!!!

    Mmm…love Mexican food! I have had a few visits with friends over the last week and the time does go by so fast when you are talking!!! I need to find a way to slow time down, but have not been successful yet.

    Cute Bella!

  5. I like your plan for the next seven weeks! And good for you for doing your run even though you didn’t feel like it! Even thought it wasn’t great, sticking with it is what counts!

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  6. Good for you for making up your mind and starting. I have gained weight and doing nothing about it yet. Yes, I exercise tons but the eating is not good.

  7. Bella is a cutie!

    The hardest part of any run for me is just getting out the door. Once I’m out there running, I am usually good to go.

  8. Sounds like you have a really, good solid plan in place to get where you want to be for the 1/2 marathon. You can do this!

  9. Love to catch up with a good friend… especially over a good meal. 😉

  10. Wowza on the dessert plate – that looked amazing! Nice to have dinner with your bestie. 🙂

    You sound very focused and determined to make the best effort toward a successful half marathon – getting enough sleep, eating really well and losing a little weight will make you energetic, light on your feet and speedy!

  11. Way to get out there even when you weren’t feeling it. Last week was a tough week for me to get out for my runs too. I did manage to get in my long run but I was disappointed with my midweek runs. I’ll have to get back out there this week to make up for it.
    That Mexican food and dessert look amazing!

  12. Listen, don’t say “The only positive thing about this run is that I did go even though I didn’t want to.” Say, “I am a strong, determined runner who is going to rock her half marathon!” Add shutting down your negative left brain to your list, ok? As you know the mental is just as important as the physical when it comes to distance running.

    I know you are unhappy with your weight right now, but you really do look pretty in that photo and not awful like you think you do 😀

  13. Isn’t it great to have a friendship like that? and that dessert plate looks positiviely decadent!
    I hear you on the weight loss – it’s an ongoing struggle, isn’t it?

  14. Oh my —your dog is adorable!!! 🙂 I am excited to take on Heidi’s challenge too. Ever since the honeymoon (all you can eat, drink whatever!) I’ve been off the horse. I need to get back on! We are in this together Fran!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

