A day in my life: Wednesday August 31, 2011

Thoughts:
Monday I started with my plan for the next 7 weeks and so far (yes, it’s only 3 days) I’m doing great. I have been eating healthy, had only 1 glass of wine on Monday night because the bottle wasn’t empty yet.

Tomorrow Heidi’s challenge starts. If you want to join us, you still can. See here for the details.

I’m going to keep this part short because below there’s Shelley’s favorite part of the month: the numbers (Shelley you can just read the recap and skip the numbers 🙂 ).

Exercise:
Yesterday morning I had an easy run to do. First time I needed my headlamp and small change in my running routes. I still run outside the village where there are no street lights but don’t go that far and combine the run with a part through my village (which I don’t really like). It was a good run and I felt good afterwards.

Stats:
Weather: dry, little wind, 12C (53 degrees)
Distance: 6 K / 3.8 miles
Time: 00:42:32
Average time: 7:05 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Robbie Williams – Lovelight.

After dinner I did a Yogalates for weight loss. I liked it, it was a short workout (25 minutes) focussed on the upper body. This is a perfect workout when I run 2 mornings in a row.

This morning: Oops I did it again! Hit the snooze button twice. Now I could have made the same choice as last week and skip my run but I didn’t. I still went out for my morning run, only had to cut it short because I was short on time. It wasn’t a very fast run, not particularly satisfied with this one, but what’s more important to me is that I went. Ran 2.6 K (1.6 miles) in 19 minutes.

Workout goals August 2011

Quote of the month:
“If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.” John Bingham

I’m very happy with my results for August.

Results August:

  • I did more workouts than in July (16 runs, 1 bike ride, 1 swim, 1 cross training, 2 yoga sessions).
  • My mileage this month is the second best of this year.
  • I was active for 29 hours and 37 minutes. Still didn’t beat June, missed 1 hour. But did better than in July.

Goals September:

  • Stick to my running schedule, don’t skip runs.
  • Do at least 2 cross training sessions a week.
  • Race: Dam tot Damloop on September 18th, 10 miles (16 K).
  • Participate in Heidi’s September challenge.
  • Beat the total of activity in June (1822 minutes)

Workouts:
Number and time of workouts in July: 16 workouts, total time 9 hours and 29 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in August: 21 workouts, total time 13 hours and 38 minutes.

Running goals:

Yearly mileage
Goal kilometres/miles in 2011: 1011 K / 628 miles
Total August: 90.4 K /  56.3 miles


Total till 08/31: 640.3 K / 397.8 miles
Total running time: 76 hours 7 minutes
Still to run to reach yearly goal: 370.7 K / 230.2 miles

Daily Dinner:

Monday
Meatball, rice and mixed vegetables Italian style.

Tuesday
Chicken with pesto, rice, broccoli.

Wednesday
“Kids meal”: Fish sticks (made them myself), mashed potatoes and carrots with peas.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 241 – Monday August 29
My sky Monday.

Day 242 – Tuesday August 30
The road I ran on in the morning, as you can see no street lights there.

Day 243 – Wednesday August 31
Bambi and her friends.

15 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday August 31, 2011

  1. “…had only 1 glass of wine on Monday night because the bottle wasn’t empty yet.”

    Fran, that may be the best reason I’ve EVER heard to drink a glass of wine. Love it!!

  2. Me too – you had me laughing with your reason for drinking the glass of wine – because the bottle wasn’t empty yet, that’s a good one! 😉

  3. Agree with the others on your wine drinking reason – that made me LAUGH!!!

    I love your no streetlamp road to run on – looks deserted, yet not really scary because of the open land around it. So pretty. Good on ya for getting a short run in even with the snooze button threatening to do you in!

  4. Great job in August!!! Can’t believe tomorrow is September already…

    That long flat stretch of road looks great to run on!

  5. I am not a fan of running in the dark, way to get out there and do it.

  6. Sounds like August was a pretty good month. Keep that momentum going!
    All of your meals look delicious and I like the “kids meal”.
    You made me hungry. Time to go make dinner.

  7. Love your “kids meal!”

    Great job in August! And great job running despite hitting the snooze button twice! All that counts is that you get our there and run!

  8. Ohhh you did good this month. And you’re going to do even better next month! 🙂

    Glad to hear you still got out for your run despite wanting to sleep in. It matters that you did it.

    I too finished off a bottle of wine just because it wasn’t empty the other day – heeheeeee. Can’t have leftover wine now, can we???? heeeheeee

  9. Great job with your results from August!!! Go Fran!!!

    All the food looks great and I really like the cute deer!

  10. I started eating better today. I need to keep it up because my clothes are not fitting and I do not feel good at all about myself. Good luck to you!

  11. What a great August you had! And I loved that plate with the chicken, rice and broccoli. Looks like a dish I would love 😀

  12. I’m really not looking forward to winter months and running, I will be heading back to the gym * me thinks * thankfully I have a longer summer in SA this year and can get to run there and on the beach!!! Cant wait to run at the start of each day with hubby as well…
    7 weeks will fly for your Half marathon, good luck with your training…
    This time you will rock it for sure.
    I see on Sunday its 27 degrees during our run….:)

  13. Very good numbers in august, you are ready for the Dam tot Damloop.
    As italian I can say that the rice and vegetables mixed dish looks delicious.
    Beautiful photos. I miss my trips to your Country.

  14. great stats for August Fran! I’m really looking forward to seeing how you go in September!!

    Love the photos as well, your sky on Monday is exactly the kind of sky I love to look at here!

  15. I love that running quote –If you run, you are a runner…So true! Oh and I love the bambi pic!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

