A day in my life: Saturday September 3, 2011

Thoughts:
All of the sudden it’s Summer here in Holland. Yesterday it was a gorgeous day with 25C (77 degrees).  Forecast for today is about 27C (80 degrees). I can handle these temperatures in September much more than in Summer because it cools down at night and there’s not much humidity now. After 2 months of lots of rain and pretty cold weather this is a nice surprise.

Yesterday I had a haircut and colored my hair. The color of my hair had lightened up a lot the past weeks and I wanted to get a darker color now we’re heading towards Autumn. The color is named Dark blonde espresso, I like the name of that. Below you can see before and after pics.

Exercise:
This morning I got up at 6.30 am because it is going to be hot today. An you know I’m not good at running in the heat. I had a 14.4K (9 miles) planned for today and decided to run it at a 20:1 run/walk ratio which went fine, except till the end where I had to take an extra walk break. I stopped once after about 30 minutes to take of my jacket. When I started the temperature was great, some fog and great for running. At the end of my run the sun was out and it was a lot warmer.

Stats:
Weather: dry, fog for the first hour, little wind, 20C (68 degrees) at 9:15 am.
Distance: 14.4 K / 9 miles
Time: 01:43:00
Average time: 7:09 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Spandau Ballet – Highly Strung.

September/7 weeks challenge:

Update August 30-September 2
For Heidi’s challenge I timed my 5K on Tuesday. Weighted and measured myself on Thursday. Did full push ups and plank on Thursday. I’m not going to post these yet but will wait till the challenge is over on September 30th.

Healthy eating this week went great. Except for Monday when I had to empty my bottle of wine (I don’t like to throw away my wine) and had 1 glass. Up till Friday all went great. But yesterday I had a glass of white wine before dinner because it was such beautiful weather. I was sitting outside reading the Help and forgot about the time. I had lost my interest in cooking by that time and bought fast food.

For the challenge I also will post my workout plan for the next week on Saturday.

Workout plan September 4 till September 10:
Sunday am: Pace run 6.4K (4 miles).
Monday pm: Jillian Michaels yoga meltdown.
Tuesday am: Easy run 6.4K (4 miles).
Wednesday am: Speedwork 6 x 400 (0.25 miles).
Wednesday pm: Jillian Michaels no more trouble zones.
Thursday pm: Jillian Michaels ripped in 30, level 1.
Friday: rest.
Saturday: Long run 16K (10 miles).
Daily Dinner:

Thursday
Pasta with tomato, onion and bacon pieces.

Friday
Fast food.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 244 – Thursday September 1
Because the owners took over the doggy day care 1 year ago, I got a sunflower and Bella got a chew stick.

Day 245 – Friday September 2
Got a haircut and new color.

Before

After

14 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday September 3, 2011

  1. Okay Fran, usually the before picture is the nonsmiling one and the after is the big smile LOL! Love the color. It is perfect for fall!

    What came with the fries?

  2. hahaha, at Lori’s comment, I thought the same when I saw these pics…Hair looks cool and ready for winter.
    Very hot here today as well…I said to Heinz, * this feels like summer * today while out as our summer was terrible and now good weather.
    I hope cooler for us runners tomorrow morning…

    Have an awesome weekend.

  3. I’m cracking up at the other comments on your before and after smiles…the new color is very rich! I guess I do have some extra highlights added in the summer, so by default I must go a little darker in the fall/winter, but I don’t consciously do it like you did. I love your top, too, btw. 🙂

    How sweet that the doggy day care owners gave out treats to both parents and dogs – they sound like they really care about their business, which is nice and I’ll bet, reassuring for you.

    Those french fries look so crispy and good.

    Oh, and “Yoga Meltdown”? Yikes! That title alone makes it sound hard!

    Have a great weekend!

  4. Your hair looks great, but I’m smiling at the previous comments, too! 🙂

    Great workout plan! Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

  5. Hair looks great! I do that in the fall too–tone down the summer highlights! Those fries look too good, I have to admit!

  6. Well done getting that run done early!

    Your new ‘do looks great.

  7. Those fries look great. Like the haurcut but “smile.”

  8. I like the new cut and color. I like to go darker in the fall/winter too.
    Keep up the good work with your runs! You’ll be ready for that half marathon in no time.

  9. I love sunflowers.

    It’s a long weekend here and the weather has been really nice too. I’m enjoying it by spending a lot of time outside reading.

    Do you like yoga meltdown? I have the DVD and think it’s okay. I just have such a hard time getting into yoga.

  10. love your hair fran! but i agree……you should be smiling because it looks good!

  11. Smile Fran! LOL! Nice hair colour. I don’t colour my hair, so it is always the same.

    Great job on your long run!

    Sunflowers are so pretty…nice that you and Bella received a gift.

    Those fries look so tasty!

  12. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. WOW….LOVE the hair, it’s HOT!!!! Hope you have a great rest of the weekend!!!! Glad Bella chewed her chew stick and NOT the sunflowers. Take care my e-friend!!!!!

  13. I’m doing better with the eating too. Plan to keep it up for awhile. I’m not brave enough to weigh myself.

  14. FUN!!! I always love a new do! And the color you went with is very Fall! 🙂

Leave a Reply

