A day in my life: Wednesday September 7, 2011

Thoughts:
Keeping it short today, it’s a busy week:

  • Work is busy, had a meeting yesterday from 9 am till 3 pm. Tomorrow got another one from 9 am till 5 pm, can’t say I look forward to that. Because of these 2 meetings I have to do my other work in 3 days instead of 5.
  • My mother in law is in the hospital. She’s got a new hip yesterday. This means I have to visit her. We went together today, on Friday I go with my sister in law and Sunday I go alone.
  • Because we had to go to the hospital I was home around 8 pm and didn’t feel like doing a workout DVD. Have to see if I can catch up on this later this week.
  • R. is going to Italy, he’s leaving tomorrow morning at 4 am. Will be back late Sunday night. He’s going to a motor fair to buy motor parts. This means I’m alone for the weekend which I don’t mind every now and then.

Exercise:
Monday I was all ready to do level 1 of Jillians Yoga Meltdown. I put the DVD in our player downstairs: nothing. It couldn’t read the DVD (it’s a pretty old DVD player). Upstairs from my PC I thought: didn’t work, I needed to install a DVD decoder. That took me 30 minutes and by that time I almost quit but I didn’t. Finally it worked but I couldn’t see it very well when I was lying on the floor so had to get up a lot to see what they were doing. I didn’t get the full sweat of this workout but I do like it a lot and know I will get better at it once I know the exercises. It’s more power yoga than the usual yoga but I like to vary with both. During dinner I tried if it worked in our laptop and it worked immediately, hmmm if I’d only knew that.

Tuesday morning an easy run. Somehow it didn’t feel very good but I made the distance I had to do. Lots of wind, because of that I stayed in my village because outside the village it’s all open. I don’t mind wind but the combination of running in the dark and wind I don’t like that much.

Stats:
Weather: dry, lots of wind wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 6.4 K / 4 miles
Time: 00:47:27
Average time: 7:25 /km
Average speed: 8.1 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Born this way.

Speedwork Wednesday, that’s what today was. I had to do 6 x 400 at 5K pace. I had to walk a few times but the 6 x 400 at 5K I did at that pace. Very pleased with today’s run because there was again a lot of wind, luckily no rain.

Stats:
Weather: dry, lots of wind wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 4.8 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:32:18
Average time: 6:44 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Take That – The Flood

Daily Dinner:

Monday
Chicken with guacamole, rice and grilled zucchini -> delicious!

Tuesday
Spaghetti with spinach, onion, garlic and bacon.

Wednesday
Noodles with vegetables and a loempia (no idea what you call it) with sweet chili sauce.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 248 – Monday September 5
This is one of the last things blooming in my garden.

Day 249 – Tuesday September 6
Rainy day.

Day 250 – Wednesday September 7
If you can’t think of anything to photograph: there’s always Bella. The foot is mine 🙂

14 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday September 7, 2011

  1. Sounds like you’ve been really busy this week! I hope your MIL recovers quickly.
    All your food looks delicious this week. Are those pumpkin seeds in the rice?
    We’ve had rain here since Saturday. It cleared up a bit on Saturday and Sunday but it seems to have been non-stop since then. No end in sight. Hoping my half marathon on Sunday is dry, cool, and not humid. A girl can hope, right?

  2. That is such a cute picture of Bella – I just want to reach into my monitor and pet her head!

    Hope your MIL’s recovery goes well. And a weekend alone every once in a while is nice – a mini-vacation, sort of.

  3. I definitely would have given up on the yoga DVD after all that frustration. Way to stick with it!

    Your spaghetti dinner looks/sounds gooooood!

  4. auh hope your MIL feels better soon. Being in the hospital is never fun!
    I think the item on your plate is a egg roll or spring roll? looks like one of those things, from where I am anyway 😉
    Good job on your runs Fran, I know I would take rain over wind anyday!
    Keep up the great work and I loved seeing pics of Bella, such a cutie! I gave Simba a bath today, because he smelled like a sewer ;-).
    Hope you are having a great day!

  5. Hope your MIL recovers quickly. Have a good week, and enjoy your alone time! 🙂

  6. You are so busy. All those meetings would make me tired. I admire you for your determination to view the Jillian DVD. Glad you finally got it working. Now you know… laptop.
    Wish your MIL has a quick recovery. It is no fun going to the hospital. My MIL is in a nursing home, so I go by once a week myself. Not a fun place though.
    Good runs this week, enjoy your pics, especially Bella. She is adorable.

  7. I see you’ve got some stick-to-it-iveness too with the DVD and all! Good for you. You know I’m going to have to google loempia, I want to know what that is!

  8. Best wishes to your MIL. My mother had both of her hips replaced.

    It’s so funny to hear people in Europe say that they are going to this country or that country. When someone around here says they are going to Italy, that is a big trip! 😀

  9. What a busy work week for you! I hate weeks like that.

    I would have given up on the DVD after it din’t work the first time.

  10. I agree with Lori. It is odd to hear people say they are going to Italy or wherever. That is a huge thing here! Enjoy your weekend alone.

  11. Enjoy your weekend on your own – Stefaan is away this weekend too (in Maastricht)! Hope your mother in law is okay – my father in law had that surgery many years ago.
    Oh and by the way loempia is “egg roll” in English!
    Less than four weeks to go now!!!

  12. Hope you MIL gets better soon….take good care of her…one day you might need the favor returned…:)
    Living here I missed not having family and friends around me when in hospital….not nice at all.

    Hope your day is not as stressful as you thought ~ weather is grotty here today.

  13. Oh..I dunnoo…staying home vs going to Italy?!! LOL…though Italy is my favorite place so I would take any excuse to go there! Enjoy your “me-time”!

  14. Hope your MIL has a speedy recovery.

    Great job on persevering until you were able to play your DVD!

Leave a Reply

