A day in my life: Saturday September 17, 2011

Thoughts:
The decision has been made: I’m going to run the 10 miler (16.1K) tomorrow.

I did a test run yesterday and my lungs still aren’t a 100% fine but good enough to try it.

I have only one goal for this race and that is crossing the finish line.

Weather forecast: 14C (57 degrees), 91% chance it will be raining. Those of you who know me, know this is perfect running weather for me (well if it’s dry it will be better but I’ll take it anytime over running in hot weather).

I’m doing a September challenge hosted by Heidi and this week we give each other challenges. She and Syl thought the same and gave me the same challenge and I take the challenge.

Heidi said:
I challenge you to complete your 10 mile race to the best of your ability and to be absolutely pleased with whatever result you get – no matter what.  Included in this is that you MUST stay within your ability.  So if you are not feeling 100%, you will not push yourself to go faster or further than your body is capable.  You will do this and you will “own it”, meaning you will be proud of yourself for getting through this despite the obstacles you are facing.  You may not be disappointed in yourself in ANY way. 😉  I give you this challenge because you do so well in so many other areas of healthy living, but sometimes you put too much pressure on yourself for not sticking to a plan, or not accomplishing certain goals, even when it’s beyond your control to do so.

Syl said:
If you feel well enough to run on Sunday I would like you to give it all you can.  I would like you to take a moment out before the run and realize how far you have come, I want you to run that race like I know you can and then I would like you to reward yourself with a nice glass of wine, a good book, a nice dinner with R or some cuddles with Bella.

My start is at 1.30 pm, most of you will still be in bed at the time I think. But if you wake up, send some positive thoughts my way, I can use all the support.

Wish me luck for tomorrow.

Exercise:
I did a “test” run yesterday as mentioned above.

Stats:
Weather: dry, little bit of wind, 20C (68 degrees)
Distance: 4.4 K / 2.7 miles
Time: 00:30:55
Average time: 7:02 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bob Seger – Still the same

September/7 weeks challenge:

Update September 10-September 16
Saturday and Sunday I skipped both of my dinners but have to be honest: ate 2 bags of tortilla chips over the weekend. During the workweek I ate healthy but a bit more than usual because my body needed to regain strength. A bad weekend and eating a bit more during the workweek showed a little gain on the scale on Thursday.

Workout plan September 18-September 24:
Sunday 1.30 pm: Dam tot Damloop, 10 miles (16.1K)
Monday: Rest
Tuesday am: Easy run 7.2K (4.5 miles).
Tuesday pm: Yogalates for dynamic weight loss, upper body.
Wednesday am: Tempo run 40 minutes.
Wednesday pm: Jillian Michaels, Ripped in 30, Level 1.
Thursday pm: Chalean Extreme, Push circuit 1.
Friday: Rest.
Saturday: Long run, 17.6K (11 miles).

Daily Dinner:

Thursday
Caramel chicken (recipe by Bill Granger from “Enjoy”), backed potatoes, mixed vegetables.

Friday
Pasta with zucchini, mushroom and tomato sauce.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 258 – Thursday September 15
Guess this cow doesn’t like me, it sticks out his tongue at me. 🙂

Day 259 – Friday September 16
Bella and I took a walk at the little beach in my village.

15 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday September 17, 2011

  1. Good luck tomorrow! I’ll be awake and thinking of you. All good vibes – be a little bit conservative to begin with to keep some juice in the box! I can visualise you crossing the finish!

  2. Good luck Fran! I know you will cross the finish line and you will be awesome because you already are! I am jumping up and down as your cheerleader over here 😀

  3. Heidi and Syl had great advice for you, and they are right.
    I will be sending you good vibes tomorrow for your run. You will do great, and enjoy your victory reward (glass of wine, dinner, fun with Bella…..)

  4. Good luck tomorrow! Love what Heidi and Syl told you!

    Love the photo of Bella at the beach!

  5. Your town is so nice, and seems to have everything – a forest, a beach, the cute little shopping area, wide open spaces, COWS – I hope to visit you there someday and see everything in person!

    Enjoy the race – I’ll be thinking of you. You are going to do great!!!

  6. Good luck Fran I will be thinking of you, when ever you see anything Pink that will be me cheering you on…now go and kick some butt 😉

  7. Good luck tomorrow. 14° and possibility of rain is the perfect weather for me too but here it’s again hot and sunny. We live in the same time zone, so at 01.30 pm I will think of you sending good vibes.
    Beautiful pictures, your village is very nice. Here the beaches are again full of people; this is a long summer.

  8. I like that you have made a decision and are at peace with it. Now go out and have a fantastic time at your race! Good luck.

  9. I love the beach in your village. I like the challenge you were given and I think you can do it. Have fun! I will send positive vibes your way!

  10. I’m sure you are running… or maybe done running as I type this. I hope you followed Heidi’s instructions because they were spot on! Can’t wait to hear how it went.

  11. Hope your 10 miler went well!

  12. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. Good luck!!! Hope the run was ok! Look forward to your report. All the best for the rest of your weekend and the week ahead.

  13. Hope all went well for ya! My colleague and his friend did not run, so I had to go at it on my own but I finished in the pouring (!!!!!) rain. I hope when you started it was a bit drier (I was on the 11.30 wave). Looking forward to the race report!

  14. It’s easy to see that the meal showed in the first food consists of good food 🙂
    Please, let’s read the race report … if you have time!

  15. You’ve already run your race by now. I hope it went well! Can’t wait to hear about it.
    Love the cow photo and of Bella on the beach.

Leave a Reply

