Dam tot Damloop, Amsterdam, September 18th 2011, 10 miles (16.1K)

The Dam tot Damloop is the biggest running event in The Netherlands with 40,000 participants. It’s from Amsterdam to Zaandam.

My colleague picked me up just after noon and we went to Amsterdam together. We arrived around half past 12 and it rained. And I don’t mean nice drizzling rain, no it rained hard. We stayed at the train station till it was almost 1 pm and then dropped of our clothing at the trucks. We found our other colleagues and had our group photo taken (when I have it I will post it of course).

By then it was thunder, lightning and raining even harder. We all were soaking wet within a minute. We found a dry place that we left about 10 minutes before the start. The start was at 1.30 pm. Because there were so many people running, every 10 minutes groups of 2,500 people started.

Right from the start I knew I was going to finish this run. My legs felt great, at that point my lungs too. The first 10K I was fine, I didn’t have a fast pace but today wasn’t about time but about finishing. Between 11 and 12K my lungs started to hurt and I needed more walking breaks but still knew I was going to finish this.

I never had a negative thought in my mind, I was so positive about this run. I kept saying: you are going to finish this and then I smiled: BIG!

The race itself was awesome. Because people started in time shifts I never ran alone, there were always people running in front, beside and after me. There were so many people along the course that were cheering and had music on. It was fantastic. The last 2K in Zaandam were the best, so many people there that helped the runners cross the finish line by cheering for them.

After I finished and got my medal I went to find the guys from work (I was the only women running). They all waited for me to finish even though they had much faster times than me, that was so great of them. We left together to walk to the train station and had a beer (well I didn’t) together.

This run made me realize I can do that half marathon. My health wasn’t a 100% and I still did finish it which makes it maybe one of my best runs ever, never mind the time. If I can do this, I can do that half too in 4 weeks.

My finish time? It was 2 hours and 30 seconds and I’m very very happy about it.

I didn’t take any pictures myself. There will be race photos of me and if they are good I will post it.

The day after? My upper legs and knees are a bit sore. There was a huge tunnel at the beginning of the run and what goes down must go up and there were a few bridges we had to run over. I always run a flat course and not really used to it. I asked a lot from my lungs yesterday because today it’s worse than before Sunday. But it was all worth it!

Thank you all for supporting me this past week, I needed it very much and it helped me run this race. You’re all the best!

Weekly workout review


365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 260 – Saturday September 17
Getting my stuff together for the race.

Day 261 – Sunday September 18
My medal

And a well deserved glass of wine at night.

20 responses to “Dam tot Damloop, Amsterdam, September 18th 2011, 10 miles (16.1K)

  1. I am so glad you did this Fran because I can feel the confidence in your post for your up coming race. I believe this is exactly what you needed to do so you can know what we already all know..you’re gonna kick butt on your half marathon!
    So proud of you, and it would appear you lived up to my challenge…I laughed when I saw the picture of your wine!
    So proud of you Fran, congrats!!!

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! You did so well, even with the poor weather.
    40,000 people is a huge run. I can’t believe there was that many people.
    Glad you celebrated with a glass of wine, you deserve it. Looking forward to the pics.

  3. Congratulations. What a great feeling to finish the race even with the rain. You did an awesome job. I love the picture of the wine. It is well deserved!

  4. …aaannnddd Fran’s running mojo is BACK!!! Love it, love it, love it!!! 🙂

    You had a great race and I’m so happy for you! Of course your co-workers waited for you – you’re part of the team! Sounds like it was fun with all of the cheering crowds, and holy crap – 40,000 runners? That is one HUGE race! Nice medal. I hope the pictures turned out – this was definitely a victory run for you!

  5. HURRAY! I am sitting here with a big old silly grin on my face. I am just so happy for you. This was just the ticket to get your confidence back!! And you’ve just got to love a huge race like that where you never run alone!

    Congratulations on proving to yourself what the rest of us already knew: you are a champion!

  6. Way to go, Fran! I knew you could do it! What a great positive attitude!! You are going to be just fine for your half marathon.

  7. I have the biggest smile on my face right now. I am so proud of you Fran. Not just for doing and finishing this race, but because I can tell how pleased you are with yourself. You removed all the pressure and just let yourself enjoy. Though with all that rain I’m not sure how you managed to enjoy it – hahhahaaha, I HATE rain! This is just what you needed going into your half marathon. You can do this, and you can do that too. You can do anything you set your mind to!

  8. oh i am just so pleased for you! great job fran 😉

  9. Yay Fran! I am clapping for you! So proud of you for doing the run, doing it in the rain, and doing it with a smile on your face!

  10. Yeah for having a good race and feeling so good about it! I love the medal and your race outfit.

  11. Congratulations Fran!!! Way to go!!! Can’t wait to see some pictures.

  12. Awesome job with the finish. I love the medal and you had a really cute outfit.

  13. Congratulations!!! I am so happy for you – I knew you could do it, and now you know it, too! this is a huge boost for your confidence for the half marathon, exactly what you needed. Can’t wait to see the pictures of you running with your big smile on your face!

  14. Woo Hoo!!!!! Way to go Fran! Congratulations. I KNEW you’d do yourself proud!!! Hopefully you post a picture so we can see the smile! Have a great day.

  15. Congrats!!!!!!! We all knew you could do it! I’m so happy for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m still smiling…great post!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. So happy for you!!! You will rock the Half!

  17. Fran, you made me laugh so hard with your comments about The Boss…LOL!!! 😀

  18. WOW! Color me impressed. 1st time visiting your blog. I will be back!

  19. WOW!! Congrats Fran! Sounds like this race was amazing even despite the rain. Way to get out there and give it your all. I’m so proud of you. And I love your medal. You are going to be ready for that half.

  20. Congratulations! I never had a doubt in my mind that you would complete this race. What a great confidence-builder for your upcoming half-marathon!

Leave a Reply

