A day in my life: Saturday September 24, 2011

Thoughts:

  • Tomorrow R. has his last motor race of this season. It will be nice that he’s home more often during the weekends. When he has a race he leaves around 6 am and comes home around 8 pm.
  • My dear friend K., who works for the same company as I do, is leaving our company. She’s got a great job offer and took it. It’s a step forward for her and I’m very happy for her. She deserves it.
    But I’m going to miss her a lot. It will be weird not seeing her on workdays. There will be more dinner dates in the future for us. We already had 2 dates planned to see a musical.

    K. I know you’re reading my blog, you were the first to read it. Thank you for all the fun times we had together at work and outside the office. And thank you for giving me that push over 2 years ago to pick up running. Have lots of fun at your new job and make it a success but I know you will!

  • My mother in law is still at the nursery home but she’s making progress and is doing fine.
    This week my own Mom called me, she has to go to the hospital too in 3 weeks. Her legs are always hurting and they want to examine that in the hospital.

Exercise:
This morning it was time to do my long run. I didn’t really want to do this run, wanted to stay in bed a little longer. When I got up, I wanted to go back to bed. I’m still not recovered a 100% from my cold, I’m getting there but it’s taking longer than usual. Anyway I sucked it up and went. I used a 15:1 ratio and I’m going to stick with this till after my half marathon because it works great for me. I don’t think in distance but only in 15 minutes of running a time which makes it mentally a lot easier for me. I ended up doing the distance I had to do and afterwards I’m glad I did do it. The weather was absolutely perfect for running, Autumn is definitely my favourite running season.

R. bought this sweet bread for me at the bakery this morning. A well deserved treat after my run!

Stats:
Weather: sunny, dry, little bit of wind, 15C (59 degrees)
Distance: 17.6 K / 11 miles
Time: 02:07:46
Average time: 7:16 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Europe – The final countdown.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 265 – Thursday September 22
Again my friend Bambi, I can’t get enough of these animals. I think they are beautiful and very elegant.

Day 266 – Friday September 23
One of the many beautiful houses in my village.

15 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday September 24, 2011

  1. Thank you for your sweet comment! It will be weird not to see eachother that often anymore or to walk by eachother for a chat (or a little gossip 🙂 ). I will miss that! But you’re right, we will have more dinnerdates in the future to catch up with everything!

    Btw; very good of you to do that 17,6k after the dam tot damloop!

  2. Great job on the run! I hope you’ll feel 100% soon. Get some rest now! 🙂

  3. Congratulations to K for a new job. Now you have an excuse to go out more since she doesn’t work with you 😀

    What is that pastry? Because I want it.

  4. Congratulations to K. on her new job…it is hard when someone from work moves on…you are happy and sad all at the same time.

    Where I work people usually just move around between the different floors, or they retire.

    The deer are so pretty…I think they are so sweet and gentle looking.

    Nice that R. will be around more on the weekends…maybe some movie nights at home are in your future.

    Speaking of movies…I am going to go and watch Bridesmaids with The Boss. 🙂

  5. Oh how I have missed you!!! Glad to hear that you got out there & ran!!! Congrats to K on her new job!! I love the pic of the house. Beautiful!!! Glad to hear you are doing good!

  6. So sorry to hear your friend is leaving – I know you’ll miss her!
    Good job on your run! I think we are right on track for our race next week – I hope the weather holds out but doesn’t get any warmer! 😉

  7. Great job on your long run! 11 miles!! You are going to be just fine in your half marathon. Just stay positive and you’ll succeed!
    Congrats to K. on her new job. I have a few friends at my work that I would miss greatly if they found a new job so I understand your feelings.
    Those deer are so interesting. They look a bit different than the deer I am used to seeing here in the states.

  8. So sorry your work mate is leaving. That is always so hard. Glad you got in your miles and what a nice treat to eat after . Yum!

  9. Oh, I’m sad for you to not work with K anymore, even though I know you’re happy for her and her job. That will be a transition for both of you!

    Hope both your MIL and mother’s health gets cleared up soon.

    Your 15:1 running seems to be working great for you, so why change it? Nice job hitting that 11 mile run!

  10. I love that house! That’s just beautiful.

    I like the idea of a 15:1 ratio and think I will do that once I start to build up my mileage again

  11. I’m sure it’s taking a bit longer for your cold to go away because you have continued to work out…. not that there’s anything wrong with that! As long as you slowly get better and don’t relapse.

    I agree with Lori… the fact that you and K don’t work together anymore means you’ll absolutely need to get together more often!

  12. You definitely earned that treat and it looks fantastic! All the best to K!

  13. sorry your friend is leaving, but it’s wonderful that you will still be in contact with each other. That was a long run my friend. great work. Those types of distances seem like such a stretch for me right now but I know that I’ll get there again…and soon ;-).

  14. That is my favorite cake!
    How can the hunters to shoot those sweet animals?

  15. It’s sad to lose friends at work even when they are moving on in a good way.

Leave a Reply

