A day in my life: Wednesday September 28, 2011

Thoughts:
Over 3 weeks ago I got a nasty cold and till today I still haven’t recovered a 100%. Helen mentioned in her comment on my last post that it’s partly due because I kept going without taking the time to rest and heal and I believe that’s true.

But I’ve had enough of this because it’s effecting mostly my personal life. I give a 100% at work which leaves me tired at night.

I didn’t want to run the past 3 weeks and either skipped or shortened runs. In fact I don’t love running very much at the moment because every run is a struggle.
I didn’t want to cross training and skipped more workouts than I wanted too.
Even little things as taking a walk of at least 30 minutes a day with Bella I don’t enjoy very much.
Every week I make a meal planning for the next week, but the past two weeks I can’t find the inspiration and motivation to look up recipes and make only easy things.

It’s obvious something has got to change to get me out of this “depression” and I need to recover 100%. Next Friday is my regular day off work and yesterday evening I decided to ask my manager if I could get a vacation day tomorrow too which gives me a long weekend of 4 days. He’s always easy and agreed to this.

I’m going to use these 4 days to recharge myself again. It’s not that I’m not going to do nothing, I need to do some cleaning, I want to workout a few times and I have a 15K with Amy planned on Sunday. But not having to go to work is a big plus!

I also planned some fun things/appointments for the next month, starting with visiting friends Friday night, whom we haven’t seen in 3 months or so.

Exercise:
I didn’t do anything on Monday (official rest day) and yesterday. This morning I went out for a run but couldn’t push myself and stopped after 3K. After work I decided to do a DVD workout. I did Chalean Extreme, push circuit 1. I’ve done 2 workouts so far and I really like them. It’s weight training only, no cardio. I like this much more than having to go to the gym to lift weights.

Daily Dinner:

Monday
Quarterpounder, whole wheat rice, mixed steamed green vegetables.

Tuesday
“Nasi” (Chinese rice dish).

Wednesday
Chicken breast in pesto sauce with mushrooms, baked potatoes.

365 days photo challenge 2011

 

Day 269 – Monday September 26
R. has finished his race season and won 4 trophy’s this season. I’m proud of my man.

Day 270 – Tuesday September 27
Another nice house in my village.

Day 271 – Wednesday September
Ducks, lots of ducks.

14 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday September 28, 2011

  1. I hope you feel better soon. I agree that all our body needs is rest, but it is really hard to take those days.

    I really love the photos you share. I tried to do a photo a day in Septemeber and I think I lasted 11 days. 🙂

  2. I’m glad you’ve decided to take some time for yourself. Get the rest and relaxation you deserve! It’s so important, and it’s so easy to forget…

    Glad you enjoyed the weights workout!

  3. Enjoy that 15K with Amy. I hope you get recharged and feel better. It’s no fun feeling less than 100%. Hope you’re reading and watching something good to help in your relaxing days.

  4. Enjoy the time off and the extra rest and relaxation! I hope that you get back into the zone with your running soon.

  5. You sound like you need some good rest, and perhaps a spa day. Hope the days off help with everything!

    Love that house – it’s absolutely charming!

  6. Lucky you – two days off! Enjoy yourself and get some rest. Don’t forget to drink lots of water so you are well hydrated for Sunday! It’s going to be a fun time!

  7. Enjoy your time off and rest, rest, rest! There’s absolutely nothing wrong with that and, in fact, probably lots right with it for you at this time.

  8. Congrats to your son – that’s fantastic!

    Hope you are feeling back to 100% soon.

  9. Congrats to R on the trophies!

    And good for you on taking some mental health days to help you physically get better. We often push ourselves too hard and overtraining is not limited to just the sports we do. It affects all areas of our lives.

  10. Hi Fran. BIG YAY for taking a long weekend and recharging. Sounds like R& R is JUST what you need to get back to “you”. Take care!!!! Hug across the miles. Feel better soon.

  11. Good luck for the race on sunday with Amy. I am sure that the adrenaline will help you to run as you had not skipped the workouts. However, even if you don’t like, the cross training is a good solution.
    Beautiful pictures, I miss your Country, what a pity I don’t have anymore the chance to come there for work because now the meetings are in Brussels.

  12. I have a 15k tomorrow with my mom. With the time difference we might be running fairly close in time to each other but I don’t know. It’s such a random distance so it’s cool that we are tackling it on the same weekend. 🙂 Hope you feel better during that run.
    Hope you are enjoying your 4-day weekend! I get a 3 day weekend next week. Can’t wait!

  13. I hope you feel better and get over your hump. It’s hard to want to workout or do anything when you have a cold. I know you are going to do great on your run this weekend! Enjoy the time to yourself to recharge & relax too.

  14. Great idea to take some time for you! Hopefully by Monday you are back to 100%.

    Congratulations to R. on his success!

    Have a great run on Sunday.

    All your meals look great! I feel hungry from looking at them.

    Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

