A day in my life: Wednesday October 5, 2011

Thoughts:
Thank you for your sweet, encouraging and supportive comments on my last post. It means a lot to me, I’m very happy with you, my blog readers.

I’m taking complete rest from exercising this week and that has been a good decision. I think I was starting to get overtrained a little too and feel a lot better now. I am starting to look forward to exercising again which is a good sign. Saturday I start cross training again and next Tuesday I start running again.

When I cancelled my gym membership I looked into other things for strength and cardio and bought workout DVD’s. You can’t buy many Dutch workout DVD’s but in the US there’s a lot of choices. I bought them at Amazon UK. Chalean Extreme and Turbofire are expensive if you buy them at Beachbody. I bought them both for 75% cheaper than the normal price. Here’s my collection so far.

I bought:

  • Various yoga DVD’s for flexibility.
  • Jillian Michaels DVD’s, most of them are a combination of strength with cardio.
  • Chalean Extreme. Various strength workouts, I did two of them so far and I like it very much. She explains the exercises very well.
  • Turbofire. Cardio workouts, some normal, some HIIT, strength workouts and sculpt workouts. I did 1 workout so far and loved it although it’s going to take a few workouts before I can do all the combinations, it’s going fast.
  • The Firm workouts. Bought a few workouts this weekend, haven’t got them yet. But they have strength and cardio workouts.

With these DVD’s and the number of workouts on them and the combinations you can make (especially with Turbofire) I got over a 100 workouts! which is perfect for someone who’s bored easily.

The plan is to mix up everything and do something different every time. My goal is to do at least 2 and max 3 workouts a week. The length of the workouts is from 25 up to 60 minutes.

Do you prefer working out at home or at the gym? And if you workout at home with DVD’s, which programs do you like?

Daily Dinner:

Monday
Meatball, rice and mixed vegetables.

Tuesday
Pasta with red sauce, ham and vegetables.

Wednesday
Pork, baked potatoes, green peas with carrots.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 276 – Monday October 3
The coffee corner at the nursery home where my MIL is staying.

Day 277 – Tuesday October 4
On World Animal Day of course a photo of Bella.

Day 278 – Wednesday October 5
Autumn is here …

But still there are flowers blooming.

14 responses to “A day in my life: Wednesday October 5, 2011

  1. Lately, I work out at home a lot as I just don’t have time anymore to go to the gym (mainly because the toddler has so many sports activities in the late afternoons when we used to go to the gym…).

    I have a few Jillian Michaels DVDs which I like. I also really like Jackie Warner’s workout DVDs (Power Weight Circuits and Xtreme Timesaver workout). We also have a nice selection of workouts On Demand on tv. Right now I really enjoy Xtreme Yoga in the 10 Pounds Slimdown series (exercisetv.tv). It’s an intense 40 minute yoga routine that truly works you but also gets rid of stiffness, etc.

  2. I don’t know why but running and a bit of yoga are the only workouts I am self motivated with to do at home. I have a bunch of DVDs and while I might use them for a bit, I eventually seem to either give them away or donate them to our library.

    Autumn is here too but I wonder what sort of foliage season we’ll have. Tropical
    Storm Irene blew off so many leaves that I’m not sure there are many left to turn pretty colors!

  3. I have only really been running (no weights or DVDs) but I am thinking of doing some arm exercises after my marathon is over. I will probably do them at home with weights that I have and push-ups and planks. I need to get my arms buff for my wedding in March… but we’ll see if I’m motivated enough to stick with a plan.
    I forgot to mention that I like Bella’s haircut. What a cutie.

  4. I love the Firm workouts. I found it is harder for me to work out at home after having been to a gym, which is why I rejoined. It’s going to not be biking weather around here pretty soon and the bike will have to go on the trainer.

    Bella is so sweet 😀

  5. You have quite the collection of workout dvd’s. I love it! I prefer going to the gym because I like to take the classes –I get too distracted at my own home if I’m working out there. But good for you! And cutest pic ever of bella!

  6. I have never used DVDs. I do my stretching at home but that is about it. A lot of what I do is outside and some at the gym. I have been swimming twice now and enjoy that.

    Glad so glad you are feeling better.

  7. I love the gym! I don’t have any workout DVDs, but if I had to, I would use free ones online. The pool is right in my building…so I guess I do workout at home sometimes!

    Pretty Bella!

    Enjoy your rest week!

  8. Hey Fran,
    I’m just now catching up on my reading – glad you are taking some rest! I can never motivate myself to do workout DVDs but it looks like you’ve got a nice selection, so that should be fun!

    Love the picture of Bella in her tub. She looks so little there!

  9. I love the 30 day shred, but I’m like you if I’m going to be at home i need to mix it up. even if I’m at the gym on the treadmill and there’s nothing on, i can at least look out the window. Watching the same video over and over i just turn it down once i have the exercises down, and i crank my own music. I like Turbo Jam it’s fun if you like to dance.

  10. Wow! You have a lot of workout DVDs – there is no way you will get bored!
    I have a hard time motivating myself to work out at home – I get so distracted by all the other stuff I have to get done. I find if I go to the gym, I do better because I can’t get sidetracked by my kids, a phonecall, a neighbor ringing the doorbell, etc…
    I took pretty much the whole week off too – I am going back to the gym this morning for an easy workout, just to get back into things.
    Hugs!

  11. Sorry to hear that you had to stop while you were running the 15 km race with Amy.
    You listened your body and thought what was right for you, Fran.
    Take care!

    Nice photo of Bella 🙂 Have a nice weekend!

  12. I’ve never used workout DVDs. I don’t work out but I may start to and if I do, I’ll join a gym. Never would be motivated to do it at home – too many distractions. Hope you start running again soon. I think you’ll miss it.

  13. Your monday dinner is one of my favorite dishes.
    Bella is lovely as usual.

  14. Love Jillian DVD’s can’t go wrong 😉
    Fall is my favorite season, love all the colors!

Leave a Reply

