A day in my life: Saturday October 8, 2011

Thoughts:
It’s weekend! Lots of meetings and lots of preparation for these meetings at work this week so I was happy the weekend started yesterday at 4 pm.

Not many plans this weekend. Autumn has finally arrived here in Holland with a dropping in temperatures, lots of wind and lots of rain.

Tonight we are going to a big party from my work. The company is celebrating it’s fortieth anniversary. The party is held at the office and I don’t know what to expect, there will be different kinds of music, food and there’s an artist coming to perform at the end of the evening. Which one is the big secret.

Next Tuesday I start running again. I have taken over a week off from running and almost a week off from crosstraining. I’m going to do things a bit differently this time:

–          Still follow a training plan because I like working with a plan.

–          But … I’m adding a recovery week after every 3 weeks of training, I’m adjusting the plan to my own needs.

–          In my recovery week I also take a step back at cross training.

Short post today but haven’t that much to tell today. Wish you all a great weekend.

Exercise:
Workout vacation is over and started with a slow but always great workout: Shred level 1. I like the Shred because it’s intense and short: only 27 minutes and you get a good workout.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 279 – Thursday October 6
And another new cookbook: Bill Granger, Bill’s Asian basics

Day 280 – Friday October 7
When the my water kettle broke down and left me in the dark at 6 am, it was time to buy a new one …

 

10 responses to “A day in my life: Saturday October 8, 2011

  1. It is the weekend – yay!

    I love how you constantly assess and reassess your training. That is so smart to make it work for you.

    That party sounds fun! I worry when it is unidentified entertainment because it almost always ends up being something I don’t like and then I have to sit through it LOL.

  2. Its getting so much colder here as well..and rain…now you know I cant get myself out the front door in this weather let alone run….so today hit the gym and treadmill…looks like I will be back there till SA holiday end of next month.

    Do you know that so many people have no idea what a Kettle is…and have never heard the word before. I found that SO strange.

  3. Today and tomorrow are going to be hot here! Crazy weather! It is Thanksgiving, so I will be doing a lot of cooking and will probably have to turn on the air conditioning.

    Have a wonderful time at the party!

    Thanks for helping me realize something…this week, I didn’t feel like working out at all…then I saw your post about the rest week and realized I have been working out consistently since July and that my body wanted a break. I will resume working out on Tuesday! Wooohooo!

    Enjoy your new workout plan!

  4. Hmm…wonder who the entertainment is going to be? Hope it’s fun!
    I was thinking of you this morning and thinking that this is just your kind of weather! I am going to get back to running tomorrow morning but will probably be a big baby about the cold and rain and go to the gym and do it on the treadmill, LOL!!!
    Have a great weekend! Hugs 🙂

  5. I have wanted a kettle like yours for years now, but I’d only use it part of the year (the cold months, for hot tea) so I haven’t bought one. They are so nice, though!

    Hope the party tonight is lots of fun. Be sure and take a picture of what you’re wearing – I miss your fashion posts!

  6. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. OOOH….can’t wait to hear who the mystery entertainment was. Have a fantastic weekend. (btw…love the new kettle!!)

  7. Your office party sounds great, Nice your company does nice things for their employees.
    I do think it is important to continually evaluate your training. I think it is easy to overtrain, and not realize it.
    Enjoy the cookbook, I hope you share some good recipes from it.

  8. There was a big company party at my fave Thai restaurant on Friday. I called to order take out and the entire restaurant was closed for this event. I want to work there =) No, the company my hubby works for throws good parties with good food. 30 day shred is just what i need with a newborn. 27 min is doable.

  9. I am sorry that you didn’t finist the race last sunday but your decision was wise.
    I hope you had fun at the work-party.
    Sometimes (or often) the rest is an important part of our running routine.
    I hope you feel good and you can easily follow your new plan.

  10. Funny about the kettle, I haven’t used one in over a year because my mom got me a tassimo coffee system last year for christmas. I used the kettle for the first time yesterday, I was feeling under the weather and wanted a tea 😉
    Off to read about your party post above lol!

Leave a Reply

