Saturday October 15, 2011: The low carb way of life

The low carb way of life:
Lately I have a lack of energy. I’m doing fine in the mornings but after lunch my energy levels drop and I get very tired. This makes it sometimes hard to concentrate on my work. I am often too tired to do a workout after work or dinner. At night I don’t feel like doing much. Besides that I have a bloated feeling after lunch that doesn’t go away for the rest of the day.

After reading a lot about the 17 Day Diet I did some research on the internet and came across a Dutch book. The questions draw my attention:

  • Are you often hungry or want to eat?
  • Is it difficult to lose weight or maintain it?
  • Are you having bowel or bowel motion problems?
  • Do you want more energy?
  • Are you often washed-out?
  • Are you an overweight person?
  • Do you have a fat bally?

There were 2 other questions I answered with no. All the above I answered yes. If you answered yes 4 times or more you could be oversensitive for carbs.

I immediately bought the book and read it yesterday and it all made sense. I think my problems are mainly caused by eating too many carbs during the day. That explains the title of today’s post: I’m going to make a change in the way I eat: low carb.

The book is called (free translation): control your carbs and the program is simple: you can have 1 carb hour a day where you can eat carbs. All your other meals are low carb. For me this will be dinner and I won’t have to change much in my dinners. I do have to make adjustments to my breakfast and lunch. I have to read the book again this weekend and make notes what I can eat. There are a lot of recipes and suggestions for breakfast and lunch so I will find my way in this.

She works with three food groups:

  • Green: you can eat these all day. Green foods are meat, chicken and fish. Most vegetables. Cheese and eggs. Nuts. Fiber crackers. Oil and butter.
  • Orange: you can eat these at your carb hour. Diary. Bread, pasta, potatoes and rice. Fruits. Dried beans. Chips, pretzels, cookies, sugar, desserts. Vegetables that aren’t on the green list. Soda’s, alcohol.
  • Red: forbidden! There’s only one product on this list: the artifical sugars like aspartaam.

I will explain more about the program in the next couple of weeks because I have to get familiar with it myself too. I will start on Friday or maybe sooner. I have all my groceries already bought for this week.

The author advices you to follow her program for 6 weeks and see what it does to your body. I made a pic yesterday of my belly and will make a progress pic every 4 weeks. I also will give a weight update every week.

Belly on October 14th:

Start weight on October 15th: 81 kg (178.5 lbs).

 

Daily stuff:
I’m going to make a few changes to this blog. I will be posting on Saturday, Monday and Wednesday as usual but the posts will be sort of “theme” posts:

  • Saturday: The low carb way of life edition.
  • Wednesday: The workout edition (Shelly stealing this from you, hope you don’t mind).
  • Monday: The mishmash edition.

Not many plans this weekend. This morning I did a 6.4K run and it was awesome! Best time on this distance this year. Very happy with that. After my run I worked in the garden for 2.5 hours. It’s ready for Winter now and I won’t be working in it till Spring.

No plans this weekend, going to get familiar with the program and just relax at home.

 

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 286 – Thursday October 11
Beautiful sunset after a beautiful Autumn day.

Day 287 – Friday October 12
Bella is enjoying the Autumn sunshine.

19 responses to “Saturday October 15, 2011: The low carb way of life

  1. It will be so interesting to see if going low carb makes a difference – and if it does, hmmm…I may have to join you!

    Steal away, my friend, steal away. 😉

    A relaxing weekend sounds nice especially since you’ve been so busy lately. I’m sure Bella will enjoy having her mom around, too.

  2. Interesting….but don’t agree with everything here so hoping this is going to work for you.
    I do like your plans for your blog….
    Glad you had a great run….I run with Hubby today and it was a struggle the first 5km, as he is running so fast and for me to keep up….I take longer to get going usually.

  3. Glad you had a great run! I’m going out tomorrow morning and looking forward to the sunny cool weather.
    One thing that struck me when I was reading the symptoms you had, was that most of those symptoms also apply to low thyroid function. Something to look into perhaps?

  4. Good luck with the low carb way of eating. I am interested to see what you end up eating for breakfasts/lunches and how it works for you.
    Love that last photo of Bella.

  5. Good luck with the new low carb diet!

  6. Lower carbs definitely reduce bloat, especially in the first couple of weeks. The carb hour is interesting. I could eat a lot of carbs in an hour LOL!

  7. Great sunset picture and of course Bella is adorable.

    Good luck with the low carb…it makes me feel much better!

  8. It’s so interesting to see all the many different approaches to eating. I am trying vegan right now (to an extent) and staying away from meat and dairy. So it’s fun to compare how one works for one person and another for a different person.

  9. can’t wait to see how this works for you! i also like the new topics you will be blogging about…….love all the pics too. have a great day 🙂

  10. My favorite may be mish mash day. I like doing random posts.

  11. Hi Fran!!
    I was sorry to hear about your half-marathon decision but I do know that you know yourself best and races come and go, there will be others, right?!
    I look forward to reading your three, weekly entries. The ORANGE group happens to be one of my favorite food groups…I don’t think that’s too good! Keep us posted on this food information!

  12. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. Look forward to following your low carb journey. Love the idea of the theme posts, I always love your site. Bella looks adorable in the autumn sunshine. Hope you have a great week!!!

  13. you are the only one who knows exactly what is in your diet and what your weaknesses are so good for you for looking at the way you eat and trying to change things around. Like a previous poster said there are so many diets out there, and not one will work for everyone.
    I hope this provides you the answers you need and works into your lifesytle. Looking forward to reading about your new adventure ;-).

  14. Cutting out the wheat got rid of tHe belly bloat for me. I will be curious to see if the carbs are your culprit

  15. I have to say Ive been an accidental low carber for 17ish years—and it works for me too 😉

  16. This definitely will be initeresting to follow along as you try this. I’m sure you will see a difference in your belly. Lower carbs do reduce bloat and appearance of the belly, because it’s carbs that make you retain hydration. That’s why runners carbo load prior to long races.

    At least you keep trying to figure out what it going to work and that is what is really important!

  17. As you know I’m on a similar journey, and I wish you the best of luck! Like another poster said, I could do A LOT of damage with those foods in an hour. But I will assume that it’s meant more to consume those foods during only one meal per day, not necessarily for an hour. And of course, there is only one way to find out if this works for you and that is to try it. GOOD LUCK!

  18. I’m excited to hear more about this Fran. J. Alabama has been lowering carbs from his diet for that past 6 months (not completely carb free) but he’s been loving the way it makes him feel. It’s been easier to do than we thought..we eat a lot of lettuce wraps, and burgers with lettuce instead of a bun. It’s kind of fun, and I do feel better too. I think I just eat carbs out of comfort. I can’t wait to hear more about how this works for you. Good luck!

  19. onelittletrigirl

    Wow. The photos of the sun coming up are beautiful!

    PS- garden work is a workout of its own!!!

Leave a Reply

