Monday October 17, 2011: The mishmash edition

Weekend recap:
I had a relaxed weekend. I had a great run on Saturday morning. When I got back after my run I worked in the garden for 2,5 hours. It’s ready for Winter now. I’m not a big fan of gardening and am glad I won’t have to do anything till Spring. The rest of the day was easy with watching some tv and reading.

Sunday another great run and another great Autumn day. R. went somewhere with his brother so during the day it was just me and Bella and we took a nice walk of 50 minutes. The rest was a repeat of reading, watching some tv and just relax.

I started the low carb way of life today and it went great. I haven’t been hungry. Usually around 9 am I’m hungry but not today. I will post an example of my daily meal in my Saturday post.

 

Book I’m reading
Tess Gerritsen – Vanish

And still not finished this one.

 

Movies I’ve seen last week
Loft

This movie is originally a Belgium movie but they made a Dutch version with Dutch actors. There will be a US remake next year with Eric Stonestreet (Modern Family) and Wenthworth Miller (Prison Break). It’s a thriller about 5 guys that share a loft which they use to cheat on their wives. It all goes wrong when they find a girl that’s murdered in the loft. I’m not going to tell what happens after that because maybe you will see the movie when it hits the theatres in the US but the end was surprising and not what I expected. Good movie, I rate it with 4 stars.

 

TV shows I watched last week
Desperate Housewives, Cougar Town, Rookie Blue, Rizzoli & Isles, The Voice of Holland, True Blood, Grey’s Anatomy, The walking dead.

 

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 288 – Saturday October 15
Sunrise during my morning run

Day 289 – Sunday October 16
Gorgeous Autumn day

Highlights of the week
Best run in months all 4 runs this week, made the decision to change my way of eating -> low carb, fantastic fall weather.

 

Quote of the week
The best part of a run? The birds chirping, the awesome air, and the fact that a lot of people are still sleeping. The worst? The first couple of steps. Just getting the creaks out.
Summer Sanders, Olympic gold medalist in swimming and TV commentator

15 responses to “Monday October 17, 2011: The mishmash edition

  1. Beautiful pics today!

    Glad to hear your new eating plan is treating you well …. and you had a great run. That’s fantastic!!

  2. Beautiful photos (as always). I just started watching The Walking Dead last week. We are about halfway through the first season.
    Glad to hear your runs are still going well.

  3. Cougar Town. I love that show!

    Hmmm, The Loft sounds interesting! Can’t wait for the American version.

  4. The weekend the weather sure was great…sun was shining and the sky blue…I love those days even if cold, but its the grey skies that I am not fond of during Autumn and winter.
    WE also ran both Saturday and Sunday and this evening H and I went for a 8km run…my hands were cold and I told him about the headlamp you wear as it was dark when we ran back to car and not so easy to see the ground.

    Keep strong with you new meal plan, remember the first 3 days are the easiest as one is motivated and then the 4th day you crash….keep focused and know why you are doing this and then carry one….

    Lovely photo’s of your area.

  5. Hi Fran. As always, your photos are beautiful!!!!! Glad you had a good weekend, hope the week ahead is good as well.

  6. I really like both Eric Stonestreet and Wentworth Miller so I’ll be looking forward to that movie!

    The weekend you had is the weekend I wanted! I’m overdue for a whole day of laying around eating bon bons and reading a good book.

  7. When I was a kid they had swimming lessons at summer camps. So I would get lessons for about a week. And I just didn’t get it. I remember well when I finally learned to swim. I hated not being able to previously. I can tell you who I was with and where I was. But I never got good at it.

    Like the mishmash Monday.

  8. I love your photos today!

    Eating lower carb actually does fill you up when you eat more protein and more fat. That is one really nice thing about it. I do a moderate carb diet of around 125 to 150 gram a day (except on long ride days). I love the extra fat! I am curious to see what you are eating.

  9. I have to agree with everyone else. The pics are great! Glad you had a good low carb day! I am interested to see what are eating…I guess I will find out Saturday. 😀

  10. I know what you mean about “getting the creaks out” – I always start out like that too, as if my legs are saying to me, “Are you kidding? Not again!” 🙂
    Great pictures and glad you’re feeling good with your new eating plan!

  11. I was so excited to read about all your great runs on dailymile. I’m glad that they are going so well. Keep up the great work Fran!

  12. so glad your runs are going so great Fran!
    You are such a fast reader…I’m still trying to get half way through the book I started reading a few months ago ;-).
    Love autumn for all the colors, looks like things are still really green in your neck of the woods.

  13. Beautiful pictures 🙂 I don’t think I could do a low carb thing… maybe for a little while, but i know it wouldn’t last.

  14. Nice to see you on my blog….and Syl’s! I see we have quite a few of the same friends! I look forward to following your blog as I stay on this journey with all of my blogging friends!

  15. Hey sistah! I love reading about your running. Even the struggles! Don’t get me wrong, it’s just that I admire you so much for sticking with it. I wish I had. Well done you!

    Seeing as you are such a reader, I want to ask you if you have read The Hunger Games trilogy? I think you would love it! It is written for young adults but a friend on mine recommended them to me and I can’t put them down! You should check them out.

    I know you said that you are having some trouble finding stuff to take pictures of every day but I love all your pics no matter what they are.

Leave a Reply

