Wednesday October 19 – 2011, The workout edition

Thursday
Dry and perfect running weather. This one was a bit slower than Tuesday’s run but still faster than I have run 98% of my runs in the past 3 to 4 months so I’m happy with this run too.

Stats:
Weather:dry, no wind (4K (2 miles) per hour), 6C (41 degrees)
Distance: 4.8 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:33:29
Average time: 6:59 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Duran Duran – Rio

Friday
Active restday, did some cleaning in my house and took Bella for a 45 minute walk.

Saturday
“Long run” of the week. Weather was perfect for running although a bit cold. At the first 2K I’d wish I had put on my running gloves but soon after that my hands were warm enough. It went perfect, even with 2 walk breaks, and when I looked at my stats this year, I ran the fastest time on this distance this year. Again: a happy runner over here.

After the run I worked in the garden for 2.5 hours. It’s ready for Winter now and I won’t have to work in it till Spring. And of course a walk with Bella, short one because I could really feel my legs, 20 minutes.

Stats:
Weather: dry, sunny, little bit of wind, 6C (41 degrees)
Distance: 6.4 K / 4 miles
Time: 00:42:59
Average time: 6:43 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Eminem – Lose yourself

Sunday
Another perfect morning for running. I had a short run of 3.2K (2 miles) to do. I didn’t walk but stopped after 1 miles to stretch my legs that were stiff from the gardening on Saturday. I didn’t think it could go better after 3 great runs but it did: fastest run of the week.

In the afternoon a 50 minute walk with Bella.

Stats:
Weather:dry, sunny, little bit of wind, 6C (41 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:21:20
Average time: 6:40 /km
Average speed: 9.0 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bruce Springsteen – No surrender

Monday
Chalean extreme lean circuit 1: a great strength workout of 44 minutes, mostly core and arms this time. Total time: 44 minutes.

After dinner we went to see my MIL who came home from the hospital. This is a 30 minute walk. Bella and I walked and R. went by car so we could drive home with him later.

Tuesday
Schedule said a tempo run of 30 minutes but I wasn’t feeling that well. My muscles were weak and decided to make it a short and easy run which I did. I’m sure next run will be better.

 

After dinner a 40 minute walk with Bella.

Stats:
Weather:a few raindrops, windy, 6C (44 degrees)
Distance: 2.6 K / 1.6 miles
Time: 00:18:21
Average time: 7:03 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Pink! – So what

Wednesday
I put the DVD of Jillian Michaels, Ripped in 30, in my laptop and even tried it for 7 minutes but then I stopped. I was feeling weak in the muscles, everything went in slow motion. Tomorrow is a new day.

I did walk with Bella for 40 minutes after dinner.

 

Weekly review
I’m very pleased with last week workouts. Running is fun again and goes well. I take longer walks with Bella. This week I’m doing a little experiment. I find it hard to do a double workout in 1 day and I find it hard to workout after work. Since Monday I get up every day at 5.15 am and do a workout: running or a workout DVD. So far so good (except that I had to stop early this morning). I like it very much that when I come home from work I don’t have to workout anymore and have time to take a longer walk with Bella. We’ll see how this goes.

 

Daily stuff:

  • My mother in law came home last Monday. Her hip is as good as new and there was no need to stay in the nursery home much longer.
  • Tomorrow night we’re going to a concert of Mark Knopfler and Bob Dylan in Rotterdam.
  • Because we will be home late tomorrow we both took the day off Friday. R. has to prepare the living room because on Saturday he and his brother are going to paint the ceiling and the walls.

 

Daily Dinner:

Monday
Chicken breast, rösti, stir-fried mixed green vegetables. Two mandarins for dessert.

Tuesday
Whole wheat pasta with chicken, vegetables and tomato sauce. An apple for dessert.

Wednesday
Kale with mashed potatoes and sausage.

 

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 290 – Monday October 17
Bella always wants to be where we are but when I came downstairs on Monday and saw this …. well see for yourself.

Day 291 – Tuesday October 18
Our mill in the dark.

Day 292 – Wednesday October 19
Sunset (can’t get enough of this).

14 responses to “Wednesday October 19 – 2011, The workout edition

  1. Sounds like you have hit your running groove! I’m so happy for you that you are enjoying your runs and gaining some speed.
    Love your photos. The one of Bella on the table is priceless! Your mill is very pretty. Do you have any photos of it in the daylight?

  2. First, my sympathies to you and R. for having to listen to Bob Dylan. Here is my interpretation of what you will be hearing: “garble garble chicken pox” – as you can tell, I am not a fan. However, Mark Knopfler will be great, I’m sure, and will make up for the Dylan torture.

    Second, that picture of Bella next to R. is so dang cute, even Paco is over here going “awww!”

    Third, I remember that my hands used to get so cold when I ran – sometimes I’d be in a short-sleeved shirt, but would wear thin stretchy gloves!

  3. Oh Bella on the table .. bad puppy – ahahhaha. Glad you had a good exercise week. You did quite a bit!

  4. Haha – can Bella get on the table by herself?

    I am so glad your running is making you happy again!

    Mark Knopfler. I love Dire Straights. Brothers in Arms is one of my favorite albums!

  5. I am glad you are getting better runs! I hopee you are not coming down with something – sounds like you might need a few days rest. Enjoy the concert.

  6. Love the picture of Bella on the table. That is so funny. She sure is comfy there.
    Working out in the mornings is nice, I used to, and loved it. It is nice to get it over with, and then you come home from work, and can relax.

  7. People I work with LOVE Bob Dylan. Love the pic of Bella on the table.

  8. Great workouts!!! Love the pictures! LOL at Bella on the table…what a funny dog!

    Glad your MIL is as good as new!

    Have a fun time at the concert!

  9. So glad running is fun again!!! 🙂 And I’m glad the early morning workouts are working out for you!

    Enjoy the concert!

  10. that’s great that you got your groove back Fran.
    That pic of Bella is hilarious. Our kitchen table has a cut out in the middle, kind of like a hollow box with a self, this is Simba’s favorite spot to sleep. It’s been the table and the floor and you can usually find him there doing what he does best…sleeping ;-).
    Loved the sunset photo, beautiful!

  11. LOL!!! Love the picture of Bella on the table! What a cutie!
    You have been doing really well with your workouts this week, you definitely deserve to be pleased with yourself!

  12. I love the photo of the windmill! Windmills are something that I distinctly relate to Holland, sort of like tulips 🙂

    Glad to hear running is fun again. Just don’t get too hung up on pace for each run. Remember, each run will be different and some days will be slower or faster than others.

  13. Great to hear you loving your running again….
    The photo’s are really great as well…
    Love to visit Holland again

  14. Wow Fran, your running stats are REALLY impressive. Mark Knopler and Bob Dylan? WOW…My husband would get on a plane and join you RIGHT NOW if he could. And Bella??? AWWWWWWW!!!!! So cute. At first glance, I thought she was on a vet’s table, and my heart skipped a beat. Glad she is simply lounging. (what a character) Have a wonderful rest of the week!!!!!

Leave a Reply

