Saturday November 5, 2011: The low carb way of life

The low carb way of life:
We went out for dinner on Saturday night and although I didn’t eat as much as I used to do when going out for dinner, I still felt full. And my IBS problems returned the same evening and lasted till Monday. This won’t hold me back, however, from going out for dinner because I do love it. I just accept the consequences afterwards.

We also had breakfast at the hotel but I was prepared for that. I brought my own crackers which meant I could have a low carb breakfast at the hotel. After that the day wasn’t that good but I restarted on Monday. The rest of the week went according plan.

I made nut muesli on Sunday: mixed nuts, 2 tablespoons flaxseed, 1 tablespoon coconut oil and some cinnamon. Heat it in the oven at 120C for about 20 minutes and … voila.

Start weight on October 15th: 81 kg (178.5 lbs).
Weight on November 5th: 79 kg (174.1 lbs).
Total loss: 2 kg (4.4 lbs).

Recap: Three weeks low carb eating and it’s still going great. I haven’t been feeling well all week, felt down and tired. Not sure if that was of the weekend eating or because the time went back 1 hour on Sunday. But now I’m fine again and feel good. I don’t miss the bread or the cookies or the sugar stuff at all.

 

Daily stuff:

  • The weather is extremely warm for this time of year. Yesterday it was sunny and 20C (68 degrees) which is warmer than normal. I’m not complaining at all, I love it.
  • Tonight my friend K. and I are going to see the musical “Wicked”. The theatre is in Scheveningen which is situated at the beach. We will go early and have dinner at one of the beach restaurants there. K. has started in her new job last Tuesday and I’m looking forward to hearing all about it.
  • Tomorrow I registered for a 6K (3.7 miles) run. It’s a trail run in a forest where we often walk with Bella, a 15 minute drive from home. I’ve done this run 2 years ago and it’s a nice run with a little hill in it which you have to run up twice (run is 2 rounds of 3K). Weather forecast is dry, sunny and around 13C (55 degrees): my kind of running weather.

 

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 307 – Thursday November 3
Bella exploring the leaves.

Day 308 – Friday November 4
My sky Friday

16 responses to “Saturday November 5, 2011: The low carb way of life

  1. Your date with K sounds fun! I hear that Wicked is amazing, and getting together with your best friend to catch up, while near the beach?? Sounds perfect!

    I like that you’ve been able to make the low-carb way work with your life; not letting it stop you from doing the things you enjoy. Best way to make a diet stick, if you don’t have to stress over every event that involves food! 🙂

    Hope you have a wonderful run/race tomorrow – everything sounds “Fran” to me, from the run in the forest to the temperatures. Have fun!

  2. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. YAY for low-carb still working for you!!! OMG…can’t wait to hear what you think of Wicked! (we saw it in June, LOVED it!!) LOVE the photo of Bella in the leaves (love all the photos!!) Enjoy your weekend! Be Wicked!! 🙂

  3. Yahoo for loving low carb! I am trying Atkins and the first two weeks are very low carb.

    Hope you enjoyed Wicked!!! It looks wonderful. I read the book, but I don’t think the musical is exactly the same.

    Bella looks so cute in the leaves and that blue sky is gorgeous!!!

  4. Enjoy your run and enjoy Wicked! I have heard lots of good things about that show.

  5. Hope you had a great time with K! I’d love to see Wicked!

    Have a great run tomorrow!

  6. hope you enjoy Wicked, heard alot of good things about it!
    I’m so excited that you signed up for a race Fran! WOO HOO!

  7. Congratulations on your weight loss – you got yourself over the hump!
    That race sounds like it would be nice and yes, perfect weather for you. I have been enjoying the warm weather and sunshine – plan to go out to enjoy it one last time today…

  8. A trail race sounds wonderful! And that museli looks great too. Sounds like the diet is working for you…keep up the good work

  9. I’m glad the low-carb is still going well. Your date with K sounds nice. I’ve heard great things about Wicked though I’ve never seen it myself.
    Have fun at your race! Trail races are fun! Especially this time of year with the leaves changing.

  10. Hi Fran, thanks for stopping by my blog! I missed you too, but now you know how hectic it has all been. Congrats on the 2 kg loss – that is very good and keep it up. Sounds like you are doing all the right things….as we said last year, patience, it will come off. Enjoy your run, and have fun with Bella. Ciao!

  11. It’s great to hear you made nut muesli! My daughter like nut muesli and my wife sometimes buys them: its price is € 3.80 a small box! I think it is expensive. Thanks for sharing that recipe, although it is very simple. I’ll try to make them!

    Glad to see that the weather is good enough in your country (the third photo shows a sunny morning)!
    Have nice runs, Fran!

  12. My challenge food is extremely low carb and I’m not looking forward to it. I have tried low carb things before and never stopped wanting rice or bread or potato or pasta. But I’ll suck it up and do it because I agreed to try!

    Will you eat your nut muesli as a snack? Or is that like cereal or something?

  13. I love the picture of Bella in the leaves. I bet you will have a great evening with your friend. I enjoyed Wicked a great deal!

  14. Eating out can be tough on low carb but can also be fun.

    Great job so far.

  15. I hope you enjoyed the musical and the race. Bella in the leaves is a great picture.
    I will let you know about Dylan-Knopfler (next saturday in Rome).
    Have a good week.

  16. Glad you’re feeling better!!! Congrats on the progress this low carb thing has been providing you!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

