Monday November 7, 2011: The mishmash edition

Weekend recap:
Saturday R. and his brother finished painting the walls and ceiling in the kitchen and hall. Now it’s finished and it all looks brand new again.

 

I picked up K. around 5 pm and we drove to Scheveningen which is about an hour. We found a nice Italian restaurant close to the theatre where we had dinner together. Because it wasn’t cold at all, we could eat outside. I never had dinner on a terrace in November.
After that it was time to go to the theatre where Wicked started at 8 pm. We had good seats with an overview at the entire stage. We both like the musical very much. In Holland musicals are translated to Dutch including the songs, this doesn’t really bother me. I liked the song “Define gravity” the most. Around 11 pm the show came to an end and we had to drive home which took us longer than an hour because of a little bit of traffic jam. I was home around 1 am and went to bed soon after that. I had a great evening and because K. and I hadn’t seen each other in more than a week there was a lot of catching up to do. K. thanks for a great evening, we’re going to do this again soon.

 

Saturday morning my lower back started to hurt. I have no idea how this happened, I didn’t do something strange but I could hardly sit, lay down or walk, everything was painful. Before my race on Sunday I used a gel with Ibuprofen and because of that my back didn’t bother me too much. Today it’s not over yet but much, much better.

 

Sunday was race day. The good thing about doing a race close to home that you are back home in 2 hours. I forgot how hard trail running is compared to road running but on the other hand it’s so much fun. I’ll get back to the race in my Wednesday post but I can tell you now that I’ve beaten my PR on this distance with 3 minutes.

 

Book I’m reading
Suzanne Collins
The Hunger Games

Movies I’ve seen last week
Sarah’s Key

If I’m correct a lot of you read the book too. I didn’t really like the book, everybody said it was a great book but I was bored pretty soon with it. But the movie was good. It doesn’t happen often that I like a movie more than a book but this time I did. If you haven’t seen it yet, I would recommend it.

 

TV shows I watched last week
Desperate housewives, Cougar Town, Rizzoli & Isles, Rookie Blue, True Blood, The walking dead, The Voice of Holland.

 

Weekend Dinner

Saturday
Dinner at an Italian restaurant with K. We both started with carpaccio.

Followed by tagliatelle with mushrooms for K.

And penne with tomato, olives and capers for me.

Sunday
Pasta with zucchini, ham and tomato sauce.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 309 – Saturday November 5
K. and I.

The theatre.

Day 310 – Sunday November 6
Before the race.

Hi there …

 

Highlights of the week
Great evening out with my friend K. and saw Wicked, new PR on the 6K, beautiful and gorgeous fall weather all week.

17 responses to “Monday November 7, 2011: The mishmash edition

  1. Congrats on the PR Fran. I love trail running and even if it is harder and slower, I find it so much more enjoyable.

  2. Nice pictures of our night out! We had a good time. And today we planned already the next date!

    Did you noctice that your legs look really slim on the picture before the start 🙂 !

  3. A nice trail run is a good way to give your legs a break from pounding pavment. You got the bonus of a PR – yay!

  4. I got to see Wicked too! LOVED it.

    And read Huger Games. We really liked it. I read it aloud to the family. We’re finishing up the last book in the trilogy. Can’t wait for the movie to come out.

    Nice job getting a PR! I love trail running. 🙂

  5. Sounds like you had a great week! I loved Wicked and PR and a fab dinner – complete awesomeness.

  6. Sounds like a great evening with K. The dinner looked scrumptious. I’ve heard ‘Wicked’ is a great show. Glad you enjoyed it.

  7. So glad you got to spend such a fun evening with K. It’s always wonderful to catch up with a good friend!

    I’ve never done a trail run – not that there’s a lot of opportunity around here, but I’m also a bit fearful of tripping over a tree root or twisting my ankle (ha!) on a stone. Do you find that you run much more carefully on the trail? Sounds like you had a great race.

  8. It does sound like a good week. I also rarely like a movie better than a book. But I did like Sarah’s Key. Maybe I do want to see the movie. It sounds like the trail race was great. I just did a race close to home and I was back home so early!

  9. Great photo’s of you at the race, before and after….:)
    I love Italian as well, but now with Gluten being an issue I am staying away from their pasta etc….
    While in Italy I ate their pasta and white bread and suffered like crazy afterwards.
    With being on the 17 DD and not having any of those kinds of foods I so love the normal feeling…..
    Now to see a photo of your newly painted kitchen 🙂

  10. Dang Fran – look at your legs in those tights! You are a runner!

    I hope your back is okay. I can sympathize with the lower back stuff, only I hope you don’t end up like me. Strengthening your core and your back is important to support that area.

    I have always like the musicals from the 1940s and 50s like South Pacific, Oklahoma, etc.

  11. A new PR? Congratulations!!! I can’t wait to hear more about this race, but you looked like you were having a good time in the pictures, so I suspect it was good!
    So nice you got to see your friend again – those friendships are so important. And fun!
    And how are you liking the Hunger Games?

  12. We saw Wicked last year and it was fantastic!!! Sounds like a nice evening out.

    Congrats on the trail race as well!

    Thanks for your feedback on WordPress. I’m looking forward to the change.

  13. Fran you look FANTASTIC in that running picture! Whistle whistle ;-).
    So glad you could get out with your friend, I’ve always wanted to see Wicked. So great that you got a girls night out, you are quite the party animal my friend, that’s a late night 😉

  14. I went to see Wicked with a friend of mine last year when it was in town. I almost got tickets to go see it again this year, I really enjoyed it!!!!!

    Congrats on the PR, can’t wait to hear about the run!!!!

  15. BIG congrats on the PR Fran!!!!! Glad you enjoyed Wicked!! And you AND Bella look fantastic in the photos!! Have a great Tuesday.

  16. Off to order sarahs key on kindle 🙂

  17. That sounds like a fun night out.
    I haven’t read Hunger Games yet but my girlfriend just read it in two days. She seemed to enjoy it and got sucked in really quick… although she is a really fast reader so the amount of time wasn’t a big deal for her. If I read it in two days it would be a big deal. 😉 You made me less excited to read it but I will anyway.

Leave a Reply

