Saturday November 12, 2011: The low carb way of life

The low carb way of life
Saturday wasn’t a good day. Because R. and his brother were painting the kitchen and everything was covered around lunchtime, I couldn’t make a low carb lunch. Instead I got out and bought “kibbeling” which is made of codfish. And at night I had my dinner with K. at an Italian restaurant. The other meals of the day were okay.

Sunday morning I baked flaxseed pancakes (eggs, flaxseed, almond flower). I covered them with some maple syrup. They were very tasty but 2 was too much for breakfast, I finished 1 and ½ of it.

Monday was the first day since I started eating low carb that I could feel a difference in my clothes. They fitted better and felt more comfortable. Also this is the first week I can feel I have more energy and feel great.

What I haven’t figured out yet is that when I wake up I’m really hungry. Much more than before I started this. And I do my running and other workouts first thing in the morning. The hunger is bothering me during my runs, the other workouts are okay. I think I’m going to eat a banana before my run. Fruit is only allowed in my carb hour but I think the carbs from the banana will help me perform better at my runs.

 

Start weight on October 15th: 81 kg (178.5 lbs).
Weight on November 12th: 78.6 kg (173.3 lbs).
Total loss: 2.4 kg (5.3 lbs).

 

Recap: Four weeks and still going strong. It’s not hard (except for the morning hunger). I don’t miss the bread at all. This is the first thing in years since I try to lose weight that really seems to work for me.

 

Daily stuff

  • The past few days the weather is changing, it’s getting colder. Yesterday it was very cold, mostly due to a very strong cold wind. By the end of next week temperatures can drop below zero at night. But no rain or snow yet.
  • No big plans for this weekend. The past 2 weekends I have been away a lot and look forward to spending a quiet one at home this weekend. I have a lot of catching up to do on TV shows I recorded and my book (The Hunger Games) catched me after a few chapters. I won’t be bored, that’s for sure.

 

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 314 – Thursday November 10
Shouldn’t these birds have gone to warmer places by now?

Day 315 – Friday November 11
Bella has found a new favourite spot, the seats from our garden furniture. It’s like she has her own throne 🙂

 

20 responses to “Saturday November 12, 2011: The low carb way of life

  1. We had the same cold wind here yesterday! Today I will race but I have a lot to do around here this weekend. I wish we had that extra hour we had last weekend from daylight savings time. I love the picture of Bella.

  2. Well, as you call it – you are doing the low-carb *way* of life, not the *only* life. I think truly if you stick to whatever plan it is 85 to 90% of the time, you will do well. Life is never 100%.

    Have you tried eating some light protein before going to bed? That might help you not be hungry in the mornings.

    Your pancakes sound almost like my 1-minute muffins, and I had to laugh that you were full because I would have eaten both of those and probably had fruit, too. I eat a lot for breakfast. 😀

  3. I had to look up what kibbeling was. Looks sinful. I wonder if there is any way to make a paleo style batter for it. And how come I missed it when I was in Amsterdam?

  4. I am finding it cold as well at the moment and struggle to go outdoors…in a way its a blessing I cant run as I don’t think I would go and then would be more angry with myself ~ now I have an excuse 🙂
    Is Maple Syrup allowed on this plan??
    I would eat a banana before my run as well…

  5. I am so glad to hear that you are losing weight & found something that works for you! I am at a stand still but have a plan to start lifting weights! The pancakes sound yummy!!!

  6. while I was watching the first photo I thought why those birds haven’t travelled to other warmer places yet! Maybe they know that in South Europe (Italy, Greece and Portugal) there is an economic crisis and, as a consequence, they are afraid there isn’t enough food in other countries where the weather is warmer 🙂

    Have a nice weekend|

  7. Love that pic of Bella on her throne, what a doll!
    Glad the plan is working for you fran. Sounds like you found something that your body is not fighting.
    Do you have a snack at night or is dinner your last meal? could be that you are going too many hours before breakfast. I found that only because that was what I was doing but then realized I stopped eating at around 4:30 and not eating again till 7am the next morning. Now I have a snack before bed, a small one but it helps.
    The pancakes sound yummy!

  8. Bella is the Queen of the pillows! So cute!

    Yay to clothes feeling better!

    It is so nice when we find something that works for us!

  9. Haha, Bella on the pile of pillows. That is something Paco would do, too…they DO think they’re royalty!

    Your pancakes look kind of crispy, which is my favorite. Love crispy edges. 🙂

    Glad that you are seeing results from your new diet, that’s awesome!!!

  10. Glad the plan is working for you!

    Enjoy your quiet weekend at home!

  11. I am always starving in the morning. I’ve never been one of those people who couldn’t eat breakfast and always found it odd when I would hear people say “I’m just not hungry in the morning.” The first thing I do when I get up is make my coffee and eat something.

  12. Cheers for loose clothes – you may need to do some clothes shopping soon!
    I am with you on the banana – it’s so important to listen to your own body when it comes to food.
    Love the pic of Bella on her tower of cushions!

  13. I’m glad the low-carb diet is working for you!
    It’s getting colder here too but we have been having beautiful fall days this past week or so. Very different than the snow we had the day before my marathon. I’m very pleased with it! It does not seem like Thanksgiving is less than 2 weeks away.
    LOVE that photo of bella on her throne. SO cute.

  14. Ahh the low carb morning hunger. I am starved in the morning. I have started doing a quick protien shake if I am going to workout before work and then eggs and something after I workout.

    Love Bella’s throne!

  15. 4 weeks??

    time flies (when it’s not me :))

  16. I think eating the banana is a great idea! The photo of Bella on the pillows is so cute.

    I thought of you this morning while making my salad… I’m going to put something on the blog later in the week so you can see. What a tease I am, right?

  17. That is a great feeling when your clothes start to fit better – good for you sticking with this! In the mornings I am always hungry and craving carbs NOW! I would have a hard time doing any exercise without something substantial in my belly. I hope the banana helps!

  18. Congrats on your weightloss and I’m so happy to hear that this new plan is working so well for you. I hope the banana does the trick for your morning hunger. And those flax cakes sounded really good!!

  19. Hi Fran, so glad the lower carb way is working for you. Great news. LOVE the picture of Bella. SOOOO cute! Have a great week.

  20. My daughter and I look forward to eating kibbling in Venlo every time we go overseas. It is one of our favourite foods over there! I’m glad the lo carb thing is working out for you. It really does help with bloating and clothes feeling more comfortable I found that out in my one brief foray into lo carb eating.

Leave a Reply

