Monday November 14, 2011: The mishmash edition

Weekend recap:
I had a quiet weekend. After being away 2 weekends in a row, I loved being at home. Actually I always love being at home. I watched tv, made some puzzles, read a lot, walked with Bella and did some slowcooking Sunday afternoon. It was a lazy weekend too because I didn’t run or workout, if I didn’t have Bella I would have been a couch potato all weekend.

 

Book I’m reading
Suzanne Collins
Catching Fire

I finished The Hunger Games in 1 week. It took a few chapters before the book catched me and I couldn’t stop reading. I loved it and started reading the second book yesterday.

 

Movies I’ve seen last week
Sonny Boy

Sonny Boy is a Dutch movie based on a true story. It starts in the 1920’s when a Dutch women (Rika) meets a man (Waldemar) from Suriname. She has left her husband who cheated on her and falls in love with Waldemar. Three things that were against them in those days: she wanted a divorce, she was almost 20 years older and he was black. All of this was not done back in those days. She had 4 children from her first husband but he took them away from her when he found out she was living with a black men and carried his child. They survived and stayed together and their son, nickname Sonny Boy, was born. Then the second world war started and they had a bed and breakfast at that time and they provided a safehouse for Jewish people. But in 1944 someone betrayed them and they were taken prison. The German let their son go who went to his grandparents and uncle that took him to the country to hide there. Both Waldemar and Rika were sent to a different concentration camp and didn’t see each other again. Rika died in Spring 1944 of dysentery. Waldemar made it to the end of the war but the Germans in the camp put all the prisoners on a ship in the East See where the ship was attacked by the liberators. He jumped overboard and made it to the coast where he was shot by 2 German boys. Sonny Boy survived all of this and found out what happened to his parents years later.

This was a great movie, it will be the Dutch entry for the Oscars 2012. If it will be released in other countries, I would recommend to watch it.

 

TV shows I watched last week
Grey’s Anatomy, Two and a half men (still with Charlie Sheen), Rookie Blue, True Blood, The Walking Dead, Desperate Housewives, Cougar Town, The Voice of Holland, Rizzoli & Isles, The Mentalist.

 

Weekend Dinner

Saturday
No carbs dinner: portabella mushroom stuffed with cucumber, cabbage, garlic, ginger and cheese.

Sunday
Made a stew with beef, leek, onion, sweet potatoes, honey and cinnamon.

For dessert a crumble with apples and pears.

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 316 – Saturday November 12
Found a lost flower in the garden that was still blooming when it’s not supposed to at this time of year.

Day 317 – Sunday November 13
Autumn view

Highlights of the week
Not much really, it was  normal week, life as usual.

16 responses to “Monday November 14, 2011: The mishmash edition

  1. Oh I am envious of your lovely go nowhere and relax weekend! Looking at my calendar I do not have any time like that until possibly December 10th but at that point I’m sure I’ll be in the midst of Christmas shopping…. maybe in 2012?!

    The movie sounds really interesting. I love movies based on true stories.

  2. LOVED The Hunger Games series and I can’t wait for the movies!

    Mmm those portabella mushrooms look delish.

  3. Sounds like a wonderful weekend, what could be better, reading, puzzles and watching some TV. Sounds super relaxing.

  4. Sounds like a wonderful weekend! I love relaxing weekends.

    That movie sounds so, so sad.

  5. Where is that creek – behind your house? How neat!

    Nothing better than a relaxing weekend – sometimes, you just need to do nothing – and enjoy it! 🙂

  6. I love to travel but I also love being at home. The only times I left this weekend were to race and to run.

  7. Nice, relaxing weekend.

    Food looks great…especially the stuffed mushrooms.

  8. I’m enjoying your photos, especially the trees! I also enjoy being at home but we’re itching to go away for Thanksgiving…can’t wait!

  9. That movie sounds really good – I wonder if they will release it in Flanders?
    Good job on getting out for your run so early this morning – you are BRAVE! It was freezing! But it’s a good kind of cold right now – I am enjoying the sun.

  10. Do you get Ringer there….and Strike Back??
    I am totally hooked and Heinz has to keep recording for me while I’m away.
    Keep enjoying your low carb diet…
    I am into low sugar more than low carbs and have decided to stop all breads ~ wish me luck as love rye bread 🙂
    Love Autumn photo

  11. I read Hunger Games on the plane. Now I can’t wait to read the next 2 in the series before hte movie comes out.

  12. Hi Fran. I second the “being home is good” comment! Nothing wrong with a relaxing weekend to recharge your batteries.

  13. I’m finally taking a few moments to read some of your blog!

    Love the photos….you’ll be seeing a lot more on my blog shortly….I’ve just been blessed with a brand-new camera!

  14. I love the photos!! I also love reading that you watch the same shows I do. Not all of them but there was more then 2!! How is the mushroom. I always read about them but never had one. Just the small ones.

  15. That movie sounds heartbreaking but interesting.

    LOVE the Hunger Games. I watched the trailer for the movie last night.

    Beautiful picutres!!

  16. Oh man that stuffed mushroom sounded soo good! I love all the fun new meals you are coming up with. I feel like without bread I get so lost on what to eat. It’s about thinking outside the box –and you are giving me some great ideas for some dinners. If only J. Alabama liked mushrooms! LOL!

Leave a Reply

