Wednesday November 16 – 2011, The workout edition

Thursday, Friday, Saturday & Sunday
I’ve been very lazy these days. All I did was walk Bella, no running, no other workouts.

 

Monday
After 5 days of doing nothing I said to myself “enough is enough” and got up around 5.10 am. I did a Turbofire workout. First about 30 minutes of intensive cardio, including 2 HITT sessions followed by a 12 minute stretch. I’m getting better at the steps in this program (it’s high intensity and sometimes hard to follow but I keep trying) and I like this program very much.
Total time: 43 minutes.

 

Tuesday
Easy run on my calendar for Tuesday. First time I wore my thermo shirt and pants, my gloves and my winter hat on my run because it was cold. Temperatures dropped below 0 at night. Regardless time or distance this was one of the runs that makes me feel so satisfied afterwards because I jumped out of my warm bed at 5 am and was out the door at 5.15 am to run in that cold. My colleagues call me crazy for doing that because I’m the only one at work of the runners that runs this early in the morning.

Stats:
Weather:dry, little bit of  wind, 0C (32 degrees)
Distance: 6.4 K / 4 miles
Time: 00:45:19
Average time: 7:05 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bob Seger – Still the same.

 

Wednesday
Recently, I bought a Zumba DVD set and tried the first workout Wednesday morning. It was an express workout of only 20 minutes and I like it very much. I had ballroom/latin classes when I was a teenager and did line dancing for a couple of years and didn’t have much trouble following the steps. I like it very much.
Total time: 20 minutes.

 

Weekly review
After 5 lazy days I picked it up on Monday and had 3 workout days in a row. I’m happy with those 3 workouts because they all went great. Have to keep moving till Sunday, after that next week will be a recovery week.

 

Daily stuff:
Not much to tell. Work is busy, had a meeting today from 9.30 am till 6 pm and am pretty tired by now. Tomorrow another meeting, I think only in the morning. My manager told me today he wanted to keep it short and keep my fingers crossed it will be a short one. Friday I took a vacation day. My mom has to go to the hospital to get the results from the tests that they took on her and she wanted me to come with her, just in case something’s wrong so she won’t be alone. But as I’m a pretty positive person I don’t think something serious is wrong with her.

 

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 318 – Monday November 14
And 2 new cook books (as if I don’t have them enough) but these were a cheap buy. One has Dutch recipes and the other recipes from all over the world.

Day 319 – Tuesday November 15
Random view in my village.

Day 320 – Wednesday November 16
Today’s meeting was all about paint ….

12 responses to “Wednesday November 16 – 2011, The workout edition

  1. Oh I do love your random pic of your village, I think its stunning…

    I too think you are crazy ( in a good way ) for getting out of bed so early to run,…gosh I know first hand how cold it is this side of the world…you deserve a medal.

    Glad you enjoyed zumba…I will give it another try in SA….as I didn’t like the structure of the classes I attended…no teaching just felt like instructor was showing off the moves… ( is the best possible way to describe this ) and I am a dance teacher, so that should tell u.

  2. Great job getting back on track. An all day meeting – uggh I those can be so draining.

    Can’t wait to see what you whip up out of the new cookbooks. 🙂

  3. I love paint! I love to look at paint samples and actually love painting rooms in the house. John and I like color.

    Long meetings are so ugh. Too hard to concentrate after a couple hours.

  4. Wow, an all day meeting. Those are tough. I hope you have comfortable seats.
    I admire you for getting up at 5:00am to run. It is hard, but it is nice to get it over with early in the day. Working out after work isn’t always easy.
    I enjoy the pictures of your village. I just love Europe! Enjoy the new cookbooks, I hope you share some great recipes.

  5. Great workouts!!! I can’t even imagine getting up and going out into the cold to run. You are hard core!

  6. I love hearing about great runs – so glad you are able to get yourself up and out there! Must make you feel energized for the day, which is nice, especially when you have some tedious meetings.

  7. Hope the meeting didn’t last too long! I’ve been kind of lazy this week too, am still debating about getting my run in today – treadmill or outside???
    You know how much I admire you for getting yourself out there so early when it is cold and dark? A LOT!

  8. I go through phases with my exercise, especially this time of year. Sometimes life is so darn busy it actually feels HARD to get up and just do it. Next week with the Thanksgiving holiday and Little Helen coming home will definitely be a challenge for me.

    Yet, it seems the rest did your legs good – that was a great run!

  9. Hi Fran. I LOVE the look of your village and never tire of seeing your photos. I also love cookbooks, and like you have MANY. Congrats on pushing through and getting some workouts in!!! Sending good wishes to you, and to your Mom for her test results. Take care.

  10. Way to rock those workouts! I find that sometimes my body likes a little break, and then bam I have a crazy urge to workout consistently again. I love that you got up and did an early morning run –even though it was cold. That is awesome! 🙂

  11. Love the picture of your village! Thanks for stopping by my blog through Shelley’s blog – its been a crazy work week and sorry I didn’t stop by sooner!

    Enjoy your weekend!

  12. Looking at your village I miss always more my work-trips to Holland. Now the Ecoports head office is in Brussels and not anymore in Amsterdam.

Leave a Reply

