Saturday November 19, 2011: The low carb way of life

The low carb way of life:
Last weekend was the first weekend I didn’t follow the plan completely. Instead of 1 carb moment a day I had 2 on both days. First time I ate some bread too but that was more because it was easy to made, I didn’t enjoy it that much at all.

Monday and Tuesday weren’t good days either. The salads I have at lunch and that I buy at work didn’t look tasty on both days and I didn’t eat much of it. Tuesday I skipped it completely and had a slice of bread and a bowl of soup. Both nights I didn’t feel like eating dinner either and didn’t eat much either. I wasn’t hungry but know I didn’t eat enough.

Wednesday another “bad” day. I had a meeting that lasted all day and included lunch. No salads to choose from, only bread and soup which I had. In the afternoon we went to a different location where we had drinks and appetizers after the meeting. I had 3 glasses of wine and appetizers. When I came home around 6 pm I wasn’t hungry anymore and skipped dinner.

By Thursday I was annoyed. I always buy a salad at work. But there are 2 lunch shifts and I’m always in the 2nd one. When I came to the salad bar: everything was out. I had to eat bread again. Maybe I should bring my own salads but it’s more work to prepare them and the salads at work (when available) aren’t expensive. I’m going to think of alternatives to eat instead of bread when salads aren’t available.

Start weight on October 15th: 81 kg (178.5 lbs).
Weight on November 19th: 78.6 kg (173.3 lbs).
Total loss: 2.4 kg (5.3 lbs).

Recap: No weight loss this week because I didn’t stick to the plan the past week. I’m going to follow the plan again, starting today at least till Christmas. The first 4 weeks went great and I felt much better those weeks than I did last week. It’s working as long as I stick to it.

 

Daily stuff:

  • Yesterday my Mom was supposed to go to the hospital to get results from tests that were taken. Since the appointment was in the middle of the day I took the day off from work to go with her. But about 15 minutes before I was supposed to leave, she called and said the cancelled the appointment because the doctor was sick. I took a day off for nothing but on the other hand I didn’t care too much about it and enjoyed the day.
  • Tomorrow we’re having family over to celebrate R.’s birthday. His actual birthday is Tuesday but on the day itself we always go out for dinner together which we will do next Tuesday too.

 

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 321 – Thursday November 17
Remember the little horse last week? Here’s another photo to show how little it actually is.

Day 322 – Friday November 18
Beautiful tree in Autumn colors.

16 responses to “Saturday November 19, 2011: The low carb way of life

  1. I find this plan that I’m on hard sometimes too Fran because you have to put the work in to be prepared. If I don’t have things made ahead of time it’s so hard if all of a sudden you have gone to long without having a snack and need to eat RIGHT NOW. It’s not so easy to just “grab” something ;-). Not sure if you are finding the same thing.
    Don’t know what to suggest other than making your own lunch. I always find that salads I make at home taste so much better than salads out. But like you said sometimes it’s a convenience thing.
    Glad you got a unexpected day off Fran. Sometimes those are the best!
    Have a great weekend!

  2. That horse is tiny!

    Whenever you follow any type of eating program, planning is really key. It is easy to get sidetracked and then keep sliding 😀

    I have come to realize that those days where you are just not that hungry, you don’t have to eat because you are ‘supposed’ to. Our bodies don’t need the same number of calories each and every day, and listening to it sometimes isn’t a bad thing.

  3. What a beautiful photo of that three! I love fall colours!
    Don’t worry about eating program, our motivation can’t always be at 100% 🙂

    Have a nice weekend!

  4. Tiny horse is so tiny! I want to put him in my pocket, that’s how tiny he is!!! 😉

    How frustrating to not be able to get your dang salad! I don’t mind making them, but when you can normally pick them up for cheap, I’d go that route in a heartbeat. Hopefully next week will be better with that.

    You have a beautiful Fall in Holland. Love the pictures!

  5. What’s the Chinese proverb–fall down 7 times, get up 8? something like that. Anyhow–you have just fallen for the first time on the carb plan and I know you will get right back up and at it.

    It looks so nice there right now!

  6. That tree is stunning. Enjoy the birthday celebration – both times!

  7. As always love the photo! What a beautiful tree. The horse is cute.

    Low carb way of life can be tough, but you know what we all have those days and if you pick back up it will be easier now then before. I think you did okay with your options you had at the time though.

  8. Sorry to hear you had a tough week with your meals but you will surely get back on your horse next week (just not on that little horse, though!)

    Hope you enjoyed your unexpected day off!

  9. Don’t worry about your meals, the most important thing is that you didn’t put on weight despite the different kind of food.
    The little horse is very cute.

  10. P.S.: I received a gift from Belgium (exchange of presents during an european meeting): a big Godiva chocolate box. My wife is angry with me because she cannot resist and now her diet has gone!

  11. Oh how I hate making salads for lunches also but I know that I have to bc if I don’t then I eat junk or what not. What motivates me is that I don’t want to have to throw out all the fresh veggies & waste money. Oh having one already made is so much better though. Love the photos!! Beautiful one of the tree!

  12. Sorry your week didn’t go as planned, but I’m sure this week will be better!

    I can see that it could be quite difficult to find low carb options at times. I like to prep the ingredients for my salads for a few days at a time. I’ll wash (and dry very well) lettuce and veggies. I also boil eggs, etc. I have convenient containers that come with a little container for dressing (I sometimes use a little hummus) that snap into the lid. If everything is pre-washed and in the “right” place in the fridge, assembling the salad is much quicker.

    Have a great week!

  13. OMGOSH I LOVE THE LITTLE HORSE
    and pray and KNOW it will be a better week for you.
    for us all.
    xo

  14. Mama said there’d be days like this…. sound familiar? I know you’re frustrated but I know you’re strong too!

    Tiny horse is so cute!

  15. What a cute little horse!! Autumn colours look great too.

  16. So hard when you rely on things and can count on them. The convenience of buying lunch at work is nice, but then if it’s not available (or doesn’t look great) then you are in a bit of a bind. Are you able to maybe take one salad to work at the beginning of the week and store it in a fridge. Just as a back-up IN CASE you need it. If you don’t then you can take it home for dinner or just eat it one day anyway. I think that’s what I would do if you don’t want to pack lunch everyday.

    That pony is SO adorable, and tiny. Although I think the bigger one must be a draft breed which are bigger than the average horse. But he is a little one. I’d love to have a mini. They are horribly bratty, but their cuteness overrides that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

