Monday November 21, 2011: The mishmash edition

Weekend recap

  • Yesterday we celebrated R.’s birthday for the family. His actual birthday is tomorrow. We are going out for dinner tomorrow evening, something we always do on our birthday.
  • I worked out a few goals for myself for the next 6 months but not sure if I should mention it on my blog. If I fail, no one will know. But if I mention it, it’s an extra motivation. 6 Months is a long time but I’ve got a reason why it’s 6 months. What do you think, should I tell you what my goals are and update about them once a month?
  • This morning we were very happy. R. got an email and I read it on Facebook: Bruce Springsteen is coming to Europe next year for a tour. Woohoo! Hopefully he will visit Holland, if he does we will try to get tickets for his concert here and we will try to get tickets for another concert in a different European country. He will be here from half of May till the end of July, that’s the period where we usually go on a vacation and we try to combine those 2. We hope he will give a few concerts in Italy because the plan is to go back to Italy this Summer.

 

Book I’m reading

Suzanne Collins
Catching Fire

Almost finished with this one.

 

Movies I’ve seen last week
Little Fockers

Not much to say about this one. The first one still is the best one, this was a lot of repeating the first 2 movies. But an okay movie for a Friday night.

 

TV shows I watched last week
Grey’s Anatomy, Rizzoli & Isles, Rookie Blue, True Blood, The Walking Dead, Desperate Housewives, Cougar Town, Two and a half men, The Voice of Holland.

 

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 323 – Saturday November 19
R.’s birthday present: a DVD about Ayrton Senna. Senna is the F1 pilot he is still a huge fan of. We even have 3 drawings in our living room of Senna. I gave the present before his birthday so he could watch it during the weekend.

Day 324 – Sunday November 20
First time this season we used the fireplace.

 

Highlights of the week
Celebrating R.’s birthday on Sunday, had a great run despite the darkness and the cold on Tuesday.

 

14 responses to “Monday November 21, 2011: The mishmash edition

  1. I just saw a preview for The Hunger Games movie – it looks great!

    Happy Birthday to R.

  2. happy birthday to R!!! Hope you have a great night out – and good luck with the Springsteen tickets!

  3. I finished the Hunger Games book in less than a week. That is very fast for me. It usually takes me a while to read a book and I usually get bored with it. I enjoyed this book thoroughly though and can’t wait to pick up Catching Fire to read! As soon as I finished the book I looked up the trailer for the movie. It looks really good and now I can’t wait for it to come out!
    Happy Birthday R.!

  4. Can’t believe that’s your first fire! We heat our house mostly with a woodstove, and it’s been going steady for a while now. Brrrr. It was at least -5 the other night. Warming up a bit now though.

    As for your goals, if you’re comfortable sharing then go ahead. I seriously doubt anyone would hold it against you if those goals changed or whatever. I set a goal at the beginning of this year to run 2011 miles and I am NO WHERE near that. In fact, I haven’t even recorded my runs for the last month or so. Things changed for me. But sometimes it is fun/interesting to look back on the goals I had set and see if I met them or what happened that I didn’t. When I haven’t met them, sometimes it’s actually a bit inspiring to look back and remember that ambitious feeling I once had. Sometimes it’s depressing too (to be honest!), but sometimes it’s a kickstart that I can be that person again.

    We had Little Fockers on last night. hahhaa I didn’t watch much of it myself, but saw bits and pieces. It’s a cute movie.

  5. That fire looks so cozy! Happy Birthday to R!

    I am a big goal lister (as you well know). Part of doing it on the blog is for accountability. And you really don’t fail if you don’t achieve a goal. It just gives you something to think about.

  6. Hunger Games is still my favorite. Did you know they are making a movie? I did not like the trailer one little bit.
    As for announcing goals, there have been some studies done that for most, yes, most people, this is de-motivational. Apparently when we tell others what we want to achieve it feels almost as if we had achieved it already. I don’t know about that.
    So my goals for 2012? I haven’t thought of those yet. 🙂

  7. Goals are great, but if you don’t want to share them, I understand. I have goals too, but mostly don’t meet them. Is it because we expect too much from ourselves, or we don’t make them realistic?
    The fire looks WONDERFUL! There is nothing like sitting in front of the fire with a glass of wine.
    A Bruce concert sounds great. Hopefully, he will have a good tour in Holland and Italy. That would be neat to see him in two countries.

  8. Of course you should list your goals (says the always curious Shelley)!

    Happy Birthday to R! Hope you guys have a nice dinner out. And oooh, Springsteen is coming? How fun – and that would be a MUCH better concert than Dylan!

    P.S. I liked your comment to Helen this morning. I wish you were rich, too! 🙂

  9. Happy Birthday to R!!!

  10. Dear Fran,

    I wish you were rich too. Because if you were rich, you could fly me to see Shelley. Then fly Shelley and me to see YOU!

    I say if you feel that putting your goals out here for all of us to peruse will make you feel more accountable to them, then do it. But only if there are not too many numbers involved because we don’t want to hurt Shelley’s brain. 😀

  11. HI Fran. BIG Happy Birthday to R!!!! Very exciting about Springsteen. Hope he plays in your neck of the woods. Have a great day.

  12. Just bought Catching Fire today – loved The Hunger Games.

    Golas are important – they keep you accountable.

  13. I say do what your comfortable with Fran with your goals. I had goals to this year, some I meet, some I exceeded some I’m not even close to…see Heidi’s running goal above, but the important thing is you have goals and you still want to move forward!
    Hope you and R had a great dinner out!

  14. Springsteen will be in Italy for 3 concerts but not in Rome: maybe Florence, Milan and Verona.
    If so I will go to Florence with my son. Please let me know if you need help for the tickets (be careful, you know what happened to me in the last concert).

Leave a Reply

