Saturday November 26, 2011: The 180 days challenge

Okay, time to reveal the details about the 180 days challenge. With R.’s birthday last Tuesday, I’ve been thinking a lot about where I am today and where I want to be in 6 months. The funny thing is that R. and I have an age difference of exactly 6 months. My birthday is May 22nd and his November 22nd which makes me the older one by the way. In 6 months I turn  44 and still am not where I want to be. I’ve given myself 6 months, which is 180 days, to reach goals or at least get a lot closer to my goals. The goals I’ve set for myself.

Weight goals:
Target weight: 72 kg (158 lbs.)
Weight on November 24: 79.3 kg (175 lbs.)

Target fat %: 27%
Fat % on November 24: 40.9%

Target muscle %: > 43%
Muscle % on November 24: 29.9%

Measurements on November 24:
Waist: 87 cm (34.2 inches)
Belly: 98 cm (38.6 inches)
Hips: 107 cm (42.6 inches)
Chest: 103 cm (40.5 inches)
Upper arm: 32 cm (12.6 inches)

Other goals:
Set a new 5K PR.
Set a new 10K PR.
Run 10K without walking breaks.

Countdown till May 22, 2012: 180 days (as of November 24).

I might not reach all of them and the weight goal is the most important to me. I don’t have a plan how I’m going to reach this because I want to be flexible and adjust things if I need to. For now I continue eating low carb and start exercise more. For now these goals are enough to work on for the next 6 months and because of that I won’t be setting mileage or workout goals for 2012. I intend to just enjoy running/exercising in 2012. I will give an update about my progress around every 22nd day of the month. 6 Months seems a long time but it’s nothing compared to 12 years carrying to much weight with me. Hope you stick around to follow my progress and support me.

 

Daily stuff:

  • I still have a cold. Not as bad as I had in September, at least my throath doesn’t hurt this time. But it’s nasty enough to make me tired. I drink a lot of water and sleep more and hope to be better by Monday.
  • I’m getting tired by the 365 days photo challenge. It’s getting harder and harder to take a photo every day. But it’s almost finished and I keep making photos but they can be pretty boring sometimes (at least that’s how I look at them).
  • Also not very consequent in posting dinner pics. Reason is that my dinners are pretty boring again. I hardly use my cook books at the moment for recipes but do want to use them more again.
  • Weekend is going to be easy. Want to get rid of my cold and therefore take it easy.
  • As you can see I installed a new lay-out on my blog. I wanted something new and colorful now I’ve started a new challenge.

 

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 328 – Thursday November 24
This is my house.

Day 329 – Friday November 25
Still something blooming in the garden even though it’s November.

15 responses to “Saturday November 26, 2011: The 180 days challenge

  1. First, I love the new layout of your blog, Fran – the colors are gorgeous and the whole thing makes me happy. 🙂

    Second, I love your new goal! I like that you are not locking yourself into anything really specific; rather, you’re keeping an eye on the goal and will do whatever you need to in order to reach it.

    Third, I love that you wrote about not setting mileage goals, but you’re going to just enjoy running/exercising. I’m telling you, that makes it much easier to actually DO it, when you’re you there running for fun. Reminds me of Phoebe from Friends!

    Happy weekend, and I hope you get over your cold quickly!

  2. Fran I think that now that you have your eating plan in place and are enjoying it that the next step is naturally to incorporate workouts, with that I have no doubt you will succeed!
    Have a great weekend!

  3. I think you have a solid plan in place. I like that you give yourself the flexibility to make it work for you as well.

    Is your house attached to another one like a condo?

  4. Good luck with the challenge! I also think that it’s a good idea to leave some flexibility to adjust things as need be.

    I love the new background! Very pretty!

    Enjoy your weekend!

  5. I went to Dublin in 2008, very beautiful city. Here the post:
    http://cavnero.blogspot.com/2008_02_01_archive.html
    However Florence or Dublin, you will enjoy the trip: both are wonderful cities for a vacation.

  6. Wow! What a change when I opened up your blog! Looks great!
    I also think you have set some excellent goals. You have both outcome goals as well as process goals – and the most important one, I think is the goal of enjoying your running. Because working on this one will help you with all the others!
    Good luck and I’ll be cheering you all the way to your 44th birthday!

  7. The new layout is so pretty! Good luck on your 180 day challenge! You can do it Fran!!!

  8. Looks like a good plan Fran. I like the part about just enjoying exercise! That’s always a good goal. Sorry to hear you’re not feeling well. Get better soon!! I would go crazy trying to do a 365 photo challenge. I’m not nearly creative enough and would get bored easily. Kudos to you for keeping it up, I’m sure I’d never make it.

  9. I hope you feel better soon, and relax during the weekend. I like your new layout, and the colors. It is very creative. Also, good luck on your challenge, I know you can do it.

  10. I’ve spent the last several hours with my son’s new puppy! Pictures coming soon!

    I am dong so bad with weight. Nothing is fitting me. I also need to do something. Good luck with it.

    I like your goals. They seem very reasonable.

    Feel better! Relax and watch TV.

  11. Love the new background! I am all about the color! I think those are great goals & I am glad to see that you are not going to put more on your plate once the new year starts. I think that would end up being to much. Hope you feel better soon!

  12. Great goals for the next 6 months – good luck!!!

    Love the new look on your blog, by the way.

  13. I love your goals! I will beat you to 44 though – my birthday is in March. I hope to be 153.4 by December 31 – only 5.6 pounds to go!

    Hope you feel better – I am looking forward to getting all the food out of my house so that I can meal plan lower carb – I do feel better (and take less insulin!) when I do!

  14. Great challenge to yourself. I started a challenge with some friends xx number of lbs by your next birthday – so I am going for 34lbs by age 34 which is in April. 🙂 Should be fun and interesting.

Leave a Reply

