Wednesday November 30 – 2011, The workout edition

Thursday
Despite my cold I did get up at 5.15 am to get my workout in. I had planned a short one and said to myself it was only about 30 minutes and I could do that. And I did. Did a Turbofire HITT 15 and Stretch 10 workout.
Total time: 27 minutes.

Friday
Scheduled rest day although I did spend the morning cleaning my house.

Saturday & Sunday
Because of my cold I decided to take it easy on the weekend and start exercising again on Monday. I did take some walks with Bella because the fresh air felt very good, especially because there was a hard wind and you all know I love me some wind.

Monday
Started the week with a yoga workout. I’m not as flexible anymore as I was when I took weekly Pilates classes. In fact it has been almost 2 months since I last did yoga. But it went okay, after a few exercises my body was warmed up and the exercises were easier.
Total time: 54 minutes.

Tuesday
It has been 1.5 week since my last run. I thought I was a 100% better but during the run I noticed I was not. It wasn’t an easy run but I did the distance I had set my mind on before I started. I had to take a few walking breaks because halfway I (already) felt tired.

Stats:
Weather:drizzle, windy, 3C (37 degrees)
Distance: 4.8 K / 3 miles
Time: 00:34:20
Average time: 7:09 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Billy Ocean – Love really hurts without you.

Wednesday
Turbofire time! I have a bad arm/legs coordination. And with these workouts you have to move your legs and arms at the same time. It’s going to take a few more workouts before I get it but that doesn’t stop me from trying. I do like these workouts very much.
Total time: 53 minutes.

 

Weekly review
Last week I hardly did anything and that had to end. October and November haven’t been my best workout months and I wanted to end the month good which I did with 3 workouts in a row. Now I have to stick to this workout routine and make December a good month.

Workout goals November 2011

Results November:

  • I thought October would be the month with the lowest mileage of this year but I couldn’t be more wrong: November is.
  • I did 1 workout more than in November.
  • 1 Race where I ran a new PR on the 6K distance.
  • I was active for 19 hours and 35 minutes.

Goals December :

  • Simple: Make it a better month than October and November.
  • Races: Koude Polderloop, 5K (3.1 miles) on December 10.
  • HAVE FUN AND ENJOY RUNNING AND WORKING OUT!

Workouts November:
Running. Done: 7
Strength training. Done: 2
Yoga. Done: 1
Cardio. Done: 4

Workouts:
Number and time of workouts in October: 13 workouts, total time 6 hours and 35 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in November: 14 workouts, total time 8 hours and 55 minutes.

Running goals:

Yearly mileage
Goal kilometres/miles in 2011: 1011 K / 628 miles

Total November: 35 K / 22.8 miles
Total till 11/30: 798.1 K / 495.9 miles
Total running time: 94 hours 59 minutes
Still to run to reach yearly goal: 212.9 K / 133 miles

Races:
September 18, Dam tot Damloop Amsterdam, 16.1K (10 miles) -> 02:00:30
November 6, Maple leaf cross, 6K -> 00:43:34 (new PR)
December 10, Koude Polderloop, 5K.

 

Daily Dinner:

Monday
A piece of beef meat, rice and snow peas.

Tuesday
Rice with spices, chicken and vegetables.

Wednesday
Spaghetti Carbonara

365 days photo challenge 2011

Day 332 – Monday November 28
In Holland we have Sinterklaas which is celebrated on December 5th. It’s a holiday especially for children and we don’t celebrate it. Most companies (mine and R’s does) have a Sinterklaas celebration before December 5th. Last Friday they had it at R.’s work. He came home Monday with a present. Because we don’t have kids it was for Bella: she got a dog bone from Sinterklaas (you can compare Sinterklaas with Santa Clause).

Day 333 – Tuesday November 29
Sunset

Day 334 – Wednesday November 30
Heard a loud noise at work this afternoon. When I looked outside all these bikes were waiting for the traffic lights.

11 responses to “Wednesday November 30 – 2011, The workout edition

  1. Hi Fran. LOVE the new layout BTW!!! Congrats on taking the rest when you needed it, but still getting in those workouts. Yay on a very active November. Awww…lucky Bella…Sinterklaas brought her a lovely gift!! So fun. Have a wonderful rest of the work week my friend!!

  2. We celebrated St. Nick on Dec 5th as well – which I think is quite like Sinterklaas. Well, sort of. On the night of Dec 5th you had to put a clean boot outside your door. St. Nick would visit over night and if you were good AND your boot was polished well, it got filled with goodies.

  3. This is a nice colorful layout for the blog. It almost feels like summer!

    You were sick this month, so it is more important to get better than get the miles in. Make sure to take care of yourself!

  4. I think both you and I are back in the saddle when it comes to exercise – whew! Amazed that you love anything called Turbofire, though. 😉

    That’s pretty cool of R.’s workplace to remember Bella with a gift. Do you (Dutch population) get presents on December 25th or only on the 5th?

  5. You sound all fired up with motivation for the last month of the year!!
    I did think of you a lot when I had my windy run on Sunday – I knew it was your kind of weather, and thinking that made it a bit better for me. Embrace the wind, right? 🙂

  6. I think if you push yourself when you’re sick, it takes twice or three times as long to get better, which then only delays being able to work out. The kyoshi at our dojo says being sick is your body’s way of saying it needs some rest!

  7. Love the poster. Just love your photos! GL with your December goals!

  8. Love the motivational poster – I may have to print that out to get me throught the month of December!

  9. Good job getting back at it after being sick. I always feel so drained for a few days, even once I think I’m better. Good luck with December!

    That carbonara looks delish. I can’t remember the last time I had that!

  10. Good luck on having a great December!

    Love the pictures!

    P.S. I have a new blog!

  11. Your meals look so good.

Leave a Reply

