Wednesday December 14 – 2011, The workout edition

Thursday
I got up in time, got dressed, put on a workout DVD of the Firm in the recorder. Started it and after 10 minutes quit it. I really didn’t want to workout this morning, didn’t even have the energy to push through. Well 10 minutes is always better than nothing.
Total time: 10 minutes.

 

Friday
Rest day.

 

Saturday
My last race this year. It was a 5K in a the next village, about 15 minutes away by car. It wasn’t a big professional race but just a small one. Dressing rooms were in a factory for example. Weather was perfect for running. I think there were about a 100 people who were doing the 5K. I didn’t go for a PR but my plan was to run it without walking. I almost succeeded in that. This was an out and back race and we had to cross a bridge over the highway twice. The first time I ran it, the second time I walked for about 30 seconds to the top. From the start there was this lady who ran at a pace that felt good for me and I followed her almost the entire time, at one point I passed her but she stayed close and passed me when I walked the 30 seconds. After that I stayed behind her and thanked her afterwards for pacing me. She said she had enjoyed running with me close because it’s always nice to have someone around. I didn’t PR but I did enjoy this race very much and was pleased I only had to walk 30 seconds.

Stats:
Weather:sunny, dry, not too much wind, 6C (42 degrees)
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:33:45
Average time: 6:45 /km
Average speed: 8.9 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Friday.

 

Sunday
Did nothing on Sunday, not even walking. R. took care of the walks with Bella. I had preparations to do for Christmas.

 

Monday
Started the week with a nice workout from Chalean Extreme. I love this program. It’s only weights but she’s a pleasant instructor to listen to and the workout doesn’t bore me easily.
Total time: 38 minutes.

 

Tuesday
I rescheduled my run for Wednesday morning because the weather forecast was storm at 5 am on Tuesday and it did rain and there was a lot of wind. Instead I did the workout I had planned for Wednesday. A Turbofire workout fully focussed on core exercises with a 10 minute stretch afterwards. Great short workout.
Total time: 28 minutes.

 

Wednesday
Not really in the mood for running but went anyway. Better a short and slow run than nothing at all.

Stats:
Weather: dry, not too much wind, 6C (42 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:23:17
Average time: 7:16 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Michael Jackson – Off the wall

 

Weekly review
I’m pleased with my workouts this week.

I did however decided to drop my 10K schedule (which I didn’t follow that well anyway) the last 2.5 weeks of this year and start it over in week 2 next year. This doesn’t mean I won’t be running at all but the rest of this years it will all be easy runs. No tempo, speed or pace runs.

Daily stuff:
I won’t be posting pics of my dinner and for the 365 photo challenge. I’m just not in the mood these days. I have a headache that started Monday and hasn’t been away up till now and probably will be there tomorrow too. I have trouble getting to sleep at night. I keep thinking a lot about my manager, I feel so sorry for him. Besides that I think a lot about my Dad who passed away 11 years ago, everything is coming back.

Tomorrow morning is the funeral. I’m glad I won’t have to go alone, my present manager is going with me.

While tomorrow will be sad, I do have something nice to look forward too because I already had made plans to go out for dinner with my best friend K. and another friend of ours W. tomorrow night.

Tonight R. and I are going to watch Love Actually, the ultimate Christmas movie if you ask me. That will keep my mind distracted for a bit.

I promise you my next post will be more happy than this one.

14 responses to “Wednesday December 14 – 2011, The workout edition

  1. oh Fran, can I ever relate. This time of year is always so hard for me, I try to stay upbeat and happy for the kids but it’s so hard when there are people missing around your table at christmas. And death is so tough as well. I’m glad you have the support of R and your friends, hold them close to you and let them help you heal through this tough time.
    thinking of you my friend
    xoxo

  2. Sending a GIANT hug across the miles to you Fran. Glad you won’t be alone on Thursday and that R and your friends are there!!! Take care!!!

  3. It’s ok to be down, you’ve had a shock with the recent death, which of course would remind you of your dad, and I think knowing you have a funeral to attend is just difficult. I hope that you start feeling better, and do enjoy your dinner out with friends – everyone would want you to live life to the fullest, because as you can see, you just never know how long any of us are here.

  4. Big hugs to you Fran! Enjoy your time with R and K. Family and friends really are the most important parts of life.

  5. Fran, I am so sorry to hear about your manager’s wife. I’ll be thinking of you today. Even when it’s not close family, funerals are hard. Hugs

  6. I think the way you’re feeling is completely normal for the death you’ve experienced. I’m so glad you have your very best friends to have dinner with afterwards. Now you’ve given me the idea that I need to wrestle Mr. Helen for date night and have him watch Love Actually with me. I don’t think he’s ever seen it!

  7. A tough time for you–I’m sorry! I think it’s smart to just go with the flow on the workouts for the remainder of the year. Do it when you feel like it and then get back at it come January. Take care of yourself!

  8. ((HUGS)) Fran. Hope your headache goes away soon and that you have (had) a nice evening with your friends.

  9. Well done on those workouts – it takes so much to get out the door some days.

    I hope you feel better and that the funeral is not too difficult tomorrow. {HUGS}

  10. I hope your headache gets a lot better, and I am very sorry about your previous manager’s wife. It is so sad.
    You are not the only one, who has started a work-out, and then quit after ten minutes. It has happend to me too, but at least you gave it a try. Somedays, workouts just don’t happen.
    Hope you have a nice dinner with your friends.

  11. I hope you are feeling better soon. Sounds like your race went well. Take care.

  12. Sorry you are feeling down right now. Hugs Fran!

  13. Sounds like you had a fun race. A good way to round out the year.
    So sad to hear about your old manager’s wife. I know what you mean about old feelings feeling so fresh in your mind when something like this happens.

  14. It sounds like a good race, running with a friend (even if occasional) makes the effort easier. Congrats and the PB will come soon. I am sure.

Leave a Reply

