Thursday December 22: The 180 days challenge

May 22, 2012 I hope to reach the age of 44 in good health.
As of November 24, 2011 that’s 180 days.

How did I do this month?

Well first it’s the holiday season and it’s hard. I love food, that’s no secret.

Second, I had way too many carbs the past 3 weeks. Mostly because I got lazy, it’s faster to make a sandwich for lunch than prepare a salad. But I have learned something about it: too many carbs aren’t good for my body. My IBS problems almost disappeared when I ate low carb but it came back full swing once I started eating more carbs and I’m not happy about that.

Till New Year I’m trying to do the best I can, eat low carb on as much days as possible. Once the New Year starts I’m going back to low carb fulltime, not only because it helps me lose weight but my body reacts much better to it.

 

Weight goals:
Target weight: 72 kg (158 lbs.)
Weight on November 24: 79.3 kg (175 lbs.)
Weight on December 22: 78.4 kg (173 lbs.)

 

Target fat %: 27%
Fat % on November 24: 40.9%
Fat % on December 22: 41.3%

 

Target muscle %: > 43%
Muscle % on November 24: 29.9%
Muscle % on December 22: 29.7%

 

Measurements November 24:
Waist: 87 cm (34.2 inches) -> December 22: 86 cm (33.8 inches)
Belly: 98 cm (38.6 inches)  -> December 22: 98 cm (38.6 inches)
Hips: 107 cm (42.6 inches) -> December 22: 106 cm (41.7 inches)
Chest: 103 cm (40.5 inches) -> December 22: 103 cm (40.5 inches)
Upper arm: 32 cm (12.6 inches) -> December 22: 32 cm (12.6 inches)

 

Other goals:
Set a new 5K PR.
Set a new 10K PR.
Run 10K without walking breaks.

 

Countdown till May 22, 2012: 152 days (from November 24)

 

Daily stuff:

  • Finally: my working year is over. At 4 pm today my vacation started. My first working day in 2012 will be on January 3.
    I really need a break too, it’s been June since we had our vacation and lately work has been busy and crazy.
  • Today at noon we had our annual Christmas lunch which was fun as usual. I love some of my colleagues (especially the ones in the photos below, great people). The general manager had a speech before lunch started and we get a Christmas bonus this year, even tough our economy is in a recession right now. I’m happy with that and will put it in my savings account because I have plans for it next year.

 

  • In Holland we celebrate 2 days of Christmas. On Christmas day it’s just the 3 of us and I’ll cook for us. Monday my Mom and MIL are coming over for dinner at our house.
  • This is my last post before Christmas and I want to wish you and your beloved ones a merry Christmas.

15 responses to “Thursday December 22: The 180 days challenge

  1. Losing weight this time of year is tough, if not impossible. Good for you sticking with it. Even if your diet is not perfect, every bit of commitment helps and that means less to lose in the new year!

    Congrats on the bonus and your last day of work! I have a few hours left today and a half day tomorrow. I am so ready for a break!

  2. Looks like your work gathering was lots of fun. Happy to hear you got a little bonus for all your hard work and dedication. Merry Christmas Fran, enjoy your week off!

  3. What a beautiful photo of you, Fran!
    May you have a wonderful Christmas!

  4. Isn’t it frustrating when something that you love to eat doesn’t love you back? ugh!

    I love your work photos – and who is that hottie in the first picture? 😉

    Have a wonderful Christmas Fran – and thank you for being a bloggie friend!

  5. Great pictures!!!

    Have a wonderful holiday and enjoy your vacation!

  6. Losing 2 pounds at this time of year is Awesome!

    We have the exact same vacation. Well, I was done at 3 pm so not quite. Enjoy it a ton!
    Merry Christmas my friend.

  7. Have a wonderful Christmas Fran, and enjoy your time off work.
    I wish you many good things for 2012, it will be a great year!
    Congrats on the bonus too.

  8. Enjoy your time off – relax and recharge your batteries!

    Thanks for the lovely Christmas card – it’s been another great year of being friends with you, and I STILL hope to meet and run with you one day!

    Merry Christmas, Fran!

  9. Merry Christmas Fran, and all the best in the new year!

  10. My, so many good looking people working at Gamma in Holland!

    Enjoy your holidays, too, Fran, and all the best to you and your family in 2012!

  11. Hi Fran. Have a VERY VERY Merry Christmas. My best holiday wishes to you, R, Bella and your whole family. Hugs!

  12. Merry Christmas, Fran. It’s been nice to get to know you this year.
    Love your dress in the pictures. You are always so stylish. 🙂

  13. I love your outfit! Glad you got a Christmas bonus – this is the first year I haven’t gotten one, and its usually what I bank on for Christmas gifts, so this year is going to be very lean – oh well!

    I hope you have a wonderful Christmas x 2!

  14. I am good at coming & going huh..LOL With the holidays forget blogging. Love the dress! You look smokin!! Glad to hear that you got a Christmas bonus. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

  15. Christmas time is the best period to eat and to put on weight, it is difficult to resist!
    Good luck for your goals, I am sure you will reach all of them.
    Glad you got the bonus, in Italy we have a terrible crises but I am lucky and I got it too.
    Great photos.
    Happy Christmas to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

