Tuesday December 27, 2011: The Christmas edition

Saturday December 24
In the afternoon I did some baking.

Made cupcakes:

Baked an apple pie:

While this little girl was watching me:

At night we watched “Slumdog Millionaire”, a movie we hadn’t seen yet.

Sunday December 25:

We started with a Christmas breakfast:

After breakfast we went for a long walk with Bella in a forest/park close by:

Dinner was just the two of us. We started with some bruschetta with guacamole and parma ham with basil dressing.

After that we had rolled meat, potatoes with herbs and olive oil out of the oven, green beans with bacon and cooking pears.

My plate:

At night we watched “The King’s Speech”. If you haven’t watched this movie yet, I definitely recommend it. I thought it was a great movie.

Monday December 26:

First thing I did was put these on and went for a slow and easy run.

Another walk with Bella:

For dinner my Mom and mother in law came to our house. We did something called “gourmetten” here, basically it is you bake your own meat on a table grill. I made a couscous salad and a potato salad as side dishes. Everything else was bought.

For dessert I made Tiramisu (I already cutted it when R. said I forgot to take a photo).

We had a great Christmas. But I did eat more than I usually do and am glad Christmas is over and things get back to normal. I stayed away from the internet but will catch up with your blogs this week, I still have a vacation till next week and plenty of time to read your blogs. I haven’t made any plans this week, I probably will stay home most of the time. It’s been a busy year and it’s nice that I don’t have to do anything I don’t want to.


14 responses to “Tuesday December 27, 2011: The Christmas edition

  1. and from this vantage point it all looks like perfection.
    relaxingperfection.

  2. Everything looks delicious! That’s an interesting way to cook meat – almost like a mini hibachi? We do the same thing in our fondue pot – except put oil in it and everyone fries up their meat to how they like it done – and I have dipping sauces too.

    Enjoy your week off! I have to work today – but only for 3 days so that’s not too bad!

  3. What a lovely holiday you had! I really like that you share your photos and traditions with us.

    Both the movies you watched are movies I like and would watch again. Enjoy your week off!

  4. I love the pictures of your walks. It is all white here with snow so it is strange to see your green! It looks like you had a wonderful Christmas.

    I am becoming a dog person as Jameson visits with Jax. I LOVE that dog! I miss him but he will be back today as it is my husband’s birthday.

    We watched Crazy Stupid Love the other night. A good chick flick.

  5. Merry Christmas, Fran. Looks like you had a nice time and enjoyed some delicious food with loved ones.

  6. looks like you had a great holiday!

  7. wow–seriously good eats! I am hungry reading through that. Sounds like a wonderful holiday weekend. Beautiful pics!

  8. What a lovely holiday! I am very intrigued by the gourmetten. Now maybe the nieces are old enough to handle something like this 😀

  9. Glad you had such a nice Christmas – and I love the picture of Bella watching you cook! You are her world. 🙂

    I still have not seen the King’s Speech. Tried to when I was visiting Barbara, but we ran out of time. Or actually, we just did not want to shut up for two hours – we tend to talk a lot when we’re together, lol!

  10. What a wonderful Christmas! It is so gorgeous in Holland…nice and clean looking is what always catches my eyes…no litter.

    I have seen both movies and loved them both. These past few days I watched ALL eight of the Harry Potter movies. That is enough for awhile. 😀

    Enjoy the rest of your holiday. I am back to work tomorrow…then off for three days, back in for two and off for four. Yippee!

  11. The King’s Speech was wonderful! I’ve been catching up on some great movies this week, we just saw Midnight in Paris by Woody Allen and it was great! Your food also looked wonderful and I am surprised that you haven’t had snow yet, that’s crazy! It’s been so hot here but I know that the rest of the country has already had tons of snow!
    Big hugs and Happy New Year, Fran! Hugs to cute Bella 🙂 !

  12. Sounds like you had a lovely weekend! I haven’t seen the King’s Speech, my mom really loved that one too.

  13. Hi Fran – I wanted to stop in and catch up with you! Sounds like you had a lovely Christmas. I can relate to eating a bit more than I wanted, but managed to stop before any damage was done!!

  14. Wonderful pictures with great landscapes and delicious food. I love tiramisu (italian word).

Leave a Reply

