Goals 2012

I have just 1 goal for 2012 and that’s why I started the 180 days challenge in November: reach my goal weight of 72 kg (158 lbs) before my 44th birthday in May. At this moment I’m 6.6 kg (14.5 lbs) away from this goal.

I have no workout goals, no mileage goals. All I want to do next year is enjoy running, enjoy my other workouts, enjoy some races. I will keep posting a workout review by the end of each month.

I do have some tools to help me reach my goals weight (besides eat healthy of course).

First: what does a runner do when she gets a Christmas bonus? Right, she buys new running shoes. I went to the running store with my old Brooks Adrenaline shoes on and said I wanted the same shoes. I tried them on, didn’t even go for a test run, I bought them immediately. Took me about 15 minutes. This is my 4th pair of the Brooks shoes and they are perfect for me. The color is great too: they are purple-blue, love them.

 

I cancelled my gym membership this year and invested in some (okay maybe a lot) workout DVD’s. Most of them I bought for a very cheap price at Amazon UK. The Turbofire program I bought online in China of all places but the price was too good (about $20) to let it pass.

A few of the DVD’s are complete workout programs one can follow for a month or longer but I’m not doing that. I get easily bored if I have to do the same thing over and over again. That’s why I’m going to mix up all the DVD’s and don’t follow a particular program. I have been using most of the DVD’s already and I love them all. I won’t be buying any new ones because I have a complete collection that is perfect for me right now.

Here’s what I have:

Turbofire

Turbofire is an intense cardio conditioning program, it uses the HITT method. It’s a Beachbody program and it has 11 DVD’s with lots of combinations for workouts.

Chalean Extreme

This is a program (also from Beachbody) mostly with  strength workouts, you use hand weights at this program, this program has 12 DVD’s with 12 different workouts.

Jillian Michaels

Who doesn’t know Jillian. I love her workouts because most of them are short (about 30 minutes) but intense.

X-Trainfit

This is a program that contains 8 workout DVD’s. Every DVD is for a different bodypart: Chest & Back, Arms, Legs, Cardio, Circuit burnout (full-body), Hard Core (abs), Stretch and Yoga. Haven’t tried it yet.

Zumba

I bought my own Zumba DVD’s. I tried it out and I love it.

The Firm

I bought 4 different The Firm DVD’s. Haven’t tried one of them yet.

The Firm Express

The Firm also has a full workout program. It uses a cardio + sculpt formula. The program has 12 different workouts and the best part is that every workout is only 20 minutes.

Yoga

And of course I’m adding yoga for my flexibility.

So here you have it for 2012: no workout goals but great tools to reach my goal weight next year.

 

I’m leaving you with my favourite running photo of this year. It was a beautiful Saturday morning in June and I was doing my long run. Suddenly I saw two sheep that had escaped in front of me. Everytime I got closer to them, they ran away from me. It was funny, running with the sheep.

15 responses to “Goals 2012

  1. I think its good to be focused on one goal that way you can really get it done!

    Hopefully 2012 will be the year we both get to goal weight. The last 10 pounds really are hard to lose!

  2. oooh you have it all laid out.
    me?
    I just wanna try one zumba class during 2012 🙂
    I start small…

  3. I think having the one goal is great! In order to hit it you will have to exercise & eat well so it is like a goal with mini goals attached. I wish I like dvd workouts but it just isn’t my thing. I am having trouble following Insanity. I hate doing videos.

  4. I love your goals. I think my goals are to just enjoy running. I don’t intend to run more miles this year than last (because of the marathon I don’t think I could easily do that). I will be doing something new this year. I will probably be announcing it next week.
    I just signed up to Daily Mile yesterday. Glad to have found you on there. Hopefully I’ll actually use it.

  5. Your photo made me smile.

    It sounds to me like you have a GREAT plan, even if you have no goals! That plan makes me think your 72kg weight is right around the corner 🙂

  6. Running with sheep – love that!
    Sounds like you have a good plan for this year – and lots of DVD’s to get you there! If you do a different workout each day, how many days would it take you to do all of them?
    I am all about enjoying what I am doing, too, and I told myself I wasn’t going to sign up for any longer distance races anymore, because the training is just too tough on me. I think a 15K is about the max I would consider doing, so if you want to try Breda again next year, keep me posted!
    Enjoy the last few days of the year! Big hugs en ook bedankt voor de schattige kaart!

  7. From the shoes to the DVDs, you KNOW what works best for you – and I love that you have the confidence to go with that!

    May 2012 give you many more fun runs with animals – the sheep picture never fails to crack me up – and I have no doubt that you’ll hit your goal weight this year, my determined friend! 🙂

  8. You have an awesome DVD collection! I have some but no nearly that great of a collection! I like that you are focused on one goal with a plan in place to reach that goal! Best of luck in 2012.

  9. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran! You are set for a fit 2012. And I can’t wait to celebrate your successes (and your birthday) with you from afar. LOVE the sheep photo! So fun! Have a wonderful day today, we’ll “touch base” before the end of the year.

  10. At first we enjoy our running, our workouts and our races. I agree with this, Fran! The time taken and the average pace aren’t as important as our motivation. Of course, you will reach your goal about the weight … It’s easy to see your motivation!

    Nice colour of the new running shoes!
    The last photo made me laugh 🙂

    Happy new year!

  11. I love your workout DVD collection. It’s so important to have choices for workouts at home…

    You are very focused on your goal, and I know you’ll reach it!

    Wishing you much joy and happiness in 2012!

  12. I really enjoy yoga tapes as well. I used to use videotapes to exercise when my kids were little and I couldn’t make it to the gym. Now, I can’t do any exercise indoors, it just doesn’t work for me anymore. Thankfully, we haven’t had a ton of rain yet but today it was almost 74 degrees which is a bit too hot for a workout. I must not complain…
    Are you planning on posting more outfit pictures? I always love those and since I haven’t been blogging, I’m sure I missed a lot.
    Have a great weekend!

  13. I have the exact same shoes! I love that picture of the sheep. That must have been a riot.
    Good luck with your weight goal. I do think you are on the right track. Have a great 2012.

  14. I am rooting for you to hit your goal this year Fran!

    I really like the Firm workouts. They are no nonsense and tough!

  15. To enjoy running, workouts and races are good goals too! Good luck on your main goal!
    Never had Brooks, at the moment the Asics Gel are perfect for my feet.
    Great photo, I remember long time ago when I was “fast”, during a speedwork with a friend of mine, we were smoked by a pregnant sheep!!!!! We didn’t know if crying or laughing.

Leave a Reply

