Friday January 6, 2012: The TGIF edition

My Friday post as of today is all about things that happened during my week.

Monday I took Bella for a walk. It looked like it was going to stay dry. But about 15 minutes from home it started to rain hard including hail. We were both soaking wet within a minute. Bella doesn’t like the rain at all and she was looking for a place to hide. I saw a church that had a little covering and we took shelter from the rain. I called R. if he could pick us up but he was in another town and couldn’t come. After 5 minutes it cleared up and suddenly it was dry and we could continue our walk.

 

Monday dinner was bread with leftovers from Saturday night.

I must have been living under a rock or something because I totally missed the weather forecast for heavy rain and storm on Tuesday. The weather was terrible. Luckily after dinner when it was time for Bella’s walk it was dry but still there was a lot of wind.

 

I decided not to buy new pants or skirts this Winter because if all goes according my plan, I’m on goal weight next Winter which will mean buying a lot of new clothes. I did buy 5 blouses however, that were on sale so I can make new combinations with the clothes I already had.

Wednesday dinner: chicken with mushrooms in pesto creamsauce with rösti.

We have had a huge storm from Tuesday till yesterday. Up north people are evacuated from their homes because the dykes might burst. Luckily we live in a part of the country that’s situated higher than other parts of the country and we never have floodings or something like that.

 

Today’s lunch: rocket salad with bacon, tomatoes, pine nuts and a dressing of olive oil with basalmico vinegar.

16 responses to “Friday January 6, 2012: The TGIF edition

  1. New blouses can completely transform your skirts and slacks into a brand new wardrobe! That was a great idea.

    Have a great weekend Fran!

  2. That salad looks tasty!

    I always hesitate to buy clothes when I am losing weight… but it’s nice to refresh the wardrobe with a few pieces now and then!

  3. Cute new clothes!
    Our news had very extensive coverage of what is going in on in Groningen on today – hopefully the dikes will hold and all those people will be able to get back home soon.

  4. Please send some rain out way, we are having a drought in California. Hopefully we will get some rain soon. I like your new blouses.

  5. Not only do I love the name “rocket salad” but it looks so good, too! Yummmmmm.

    Your new blouses are gorgeous. Hope we will see pictures of your outfits soon. 🙂

    I’m sorry, I’m such a dork that when you wrote about the dykes possibly bursting, all I could think of was Hans Brinker – loved that book as a child. But seriously, hope the extreme weather is over for your part of the world.

    Have a great weekend!

  6. Love the blouses! I shop at consignment or thrift stores when I am losing. Actually, I still do because I am too cheap to buy designer at full price LOL!

  7. HI Fran. LOVE those blouses!!! Hope the weather sorts itself out very soon. Love the story of you and Bella ducking into a church vestibule to get out of the rain. 🙂 Have a wonderful Weekend!!!!

  8. I love your taste in clothes. When I come to Germany you are totally taking me shopping! Have you ever thought of posting your rosti recipe? Every time I see it I want to eat it.

  9. Glad you are safe in the torrential rains! Enjoy your weekend.

  10. Glad you are safe from the storms. I love that salad, it looks delicious.
    Enjoy this week end I hope … without rain.

  11. Great idea to freshen up your wardrobe with blouses! They are pretty!

    Your salad looks delicious. It’s been too long since I added pine nuts to my salads. I somehow totally forgot about them….

    Have a great weekend!

  12. All the blouses are lovely! I broke down and bought a nice turquoise bathing suit. I do need to get some clothes soon as mine are getting big…but I don’t want to get too much because I am just going to keep on losing.

  13. I love running, hiking, walking in the rain but hail is another story.
    I like those blouses.

  14. I like the blouses!! I think you can do so much with just those also. Oh that bread looks so yummy!! Sure do love the bread over here better then the states!

  15. take me shopping 🙂
    I neeed style assistance.

  16. I always hit up thrift stores for clothes for the inbetween sizes – saves lots of $$. 😀 Luckily even though we live across the street from the channel of a river, we are high enough up so we have no threat of flooding, even when the river is super high.

    Hope you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

