Monday January 9, 2012: The mishmash edition

Daily stuff:
Tamara asked if I could post the recipe for the rösti in my last post. Well that’s easy: you go to the grocery store, frozen food section, buy a bag of rösti, bake it -> done! In other words: this is one of the few products I buy that I don’t make myself.

 

Shelly mentioned Hans Brinker when she read about the dykes bursting (which never happened after all). Alarm bells went off because I knew the name and it had something to do with dykes. So I checked my friend Wikipedia. Turns out Hans Brinker never existed but was made up for a children’s novel. Funny thing about it is that there are 3 statues in Holland of the imaginary Hans Brinker. I read they are put there especially for the American tourists. Shelly thanks for the mention, I learned something new and that’s always a good thing.

 

Friday night we had a New Year’s reception from R.’s work. We didn’t really wanted to go because usually parties from his work aren’t very fun. But have to say, Friday night wasn’t that bad. We went bowling for an hour and after that we had drinks. We said before we went, we would go home early but came home after midnight.

 

Saturday was an easy day at home. I didn’t feel all that well and didn’t want to go anywhere.

 

Sunday afternoon we went to my friend T. She had her birthday last Friday but celebrated it yesterday. It wasn’t a big party, just coffee and cake. We stayed for about 2 hours. My gift to her is (as you may remember from last year) an invitation to dinner at my house. We’re going to do that first weekend of February.

And our Bella thinks big! Why pick a little stick if you can have the big one. She made me laugh when she picked this one up, she even ran with it, that was even more funny.

The first week of this year didn’t go completely as I had in mind when the new year started. Yes I did eat better than the last 2 weeks of 2011 but I could have done better. Yes I did workout a few times, but I could have done better. What’s done is done, all I can do now is start over, starting today, with healthy eating, no skipping of workouts. No excuses Fran, just do it!

 

Book I’m reading
David Baldacci
True Blue

Still reading this one. It’s not a bad book and I want to finish it but after I’ve read a few chapters I have enough of it.

 

TV shows I watched last week
The Big Bang Theory, Private Practice, Glee, Modern Family, New Girl, Raising Hope, The Voice of Holland, Homeland.

 

Highlights of the week
Facial treatment at my beauty salon, my friend’s birthday.

 

Quote of the week


11 responses to “Monday January 9, 2012: The mishmash edition

  1. Love the photo of Bella. Little boys and dogs are very similar! The sticks can never be big enough! 😉

    Love the quote!

    Have a great week!

  2. A facial treatment sounds wonderful!!

    Rosti is pretty much just potatoes, right?

  3. Ahem. ZERO Excuses, Fran!

  4. Love the pic of Bella with the stick. How funny. Dogs are just wonderful!
    Have a good week!

  5. I can’t believe Hans Brinker was a fictional character! Illusions: shattered! Too funny that there ARE statues of him – how accommodating of the Dutch for us goofy Americans!

  6. I LOVE lazy quiet days at home.

  7. haha! You’re funny. Go to the grocery store and buy a bag of Rosti. You can’t do that in Canada.

    I like your big quote. I was thinking about that today myself. Your body is a simple mechanism. It will do what you tell it to do. If you eat crap and sit on your butt, you are telling it to get fat. If you eat right and exercise, you are telling it to get fit. Eventually it will listen. Every time. 🙂

  8. ahhh needed the quote this morning.

  9. Great quote! And I would add to that: “Don’t be afraid to pick up a big stick!” I think we can all learn something from little Bella!

    Glad you guys had fun at the party – I love bowling!

  10. Great quote!

    Bella is so funny with her great big stick…what a cute doggie she is!

  11. Bella is a hard worker, congrats.
    Don’t give up, a great song, I like the Gregorian’s (with Sarah Brightman) version:

Leave a Reply

