Wednesday January 11 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday
Because of the storm I couldn’t run in the morning or at night. I knew Wednesday there was going to be a huge storm and decided that night that I would switch my rest day from Friday to Thursday.

 

Friday
After cleaning my house first, I did a Chalean Extreme workout, Push Circuit 2. Chalean Extreme is a weights workout so I worked those muscles good.
Total time: 35 minutes.

Saturday
When I got up I didn’t feel well at all. I doubted if I should go for a run but decided I wouldn’t. I took it easy on Saturday and recharged my battery for next week.

 

Sunday
Still not feeling 100% and another restday.

 

Monday
Great workout to start the week. Did Turbofire HITT 15 and Sculpt 30. First an intensive HITT session for about 15 minutes. Followed by a full body workout using resistance bands.
Total time: 40 minutes.

Tuesday
First run early in the morning this year. Weather was great, especially for January. I had a tempo run to do for 35 minutes and I completely failed at it. I did reach the pace of 6:30/km sometimes but was more slow than fast. I warmed up at a slow pace for about 10 minutes and used 5 minutes for cooling down at a slow pace. I had to walk twice. But you know what: it’s okay. I’ll get better at this (I find running at a certain pace hard). I was out there and I enjoyed my run.

Stats:
Weather:dry, hardly any wind, fog, 3C (37 degrees)
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:35:53
Average time: 7:11 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Duran Duran – Hungry like the wolf.

 

Wednesday
When I got up I didn’t feel to well, it seemed I had a light cold. I had an easy run to do and decided to go out anyway and see how far I would come. I did a shorter distance than planned at a very slow pace but no walking breaks. After the run and for the rest of the day I felt great, no sign of the cold anymore.

Stats:
Weather:dry, hardly any wind, 7C (44 degrees)
Distance: 2.7 K / 1.6 miles
Time: 00:20:03
Average time: 7:26 /km
Average speed: 8.0 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: The Black Eyed Peas – Let’s get it started.

 

Weekly review
Week 1 didn’t go exactly as planned and during the weekend I thought about that. On Monday my first 3 weeks cycle of running/exercise started and I don’t want to make up anymore excuses and skip workouts.

 

Tuesday I started a 10K training plan that I adjusted to what works best for me. After every 3 weeks I have a recovery week. I’ve calculated paces for tempo runs, speed work, long runs, pace runs and easy runs and I want to try to follow the pace as much as possible. I have planned a 5K in March and a 10K in April and my goal is to PR on both races. But I have to get faster if I want that, that’s why I use paces for different runs.

 

Overall I’m happy with last week. The quote at the top of this post is how I feel right now. I’m really enjoying my running and workouts at the moment. It sure doesn’t feel like a chore but something I like doing.

 

13 responses to “Wednesday January 11 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. It’s a great feeling to ENJOY the workouts! I can’t imagine doing half of what I do if it felt like a chore.

    Glad you are feeling better with a couple of rest days – nice runs & workouts! Good luck with the training plan.

  2. Enjoying exercise is definitely very important! How else are we going to be able to keep at it?
    And I know what you mean about trying to run a certain pace – it IS hard! Good for you for getting out there and trying, though.
    Hugs!

  3. That quote is a nice reminder to have fun while working out. I can normally do this on a run but I find it much more difficult when thinking about doing weights or circuit training. If I make it fun I’ll be more likely to do it. Instead, I keep thinking about doing different workout routines but then never actually do them.
    Glad you had a good week, Fran!

  4. You did good Fran! I think your run on Thursday was probably affected by your cold, but you did well anyway. I still haven’t found my running groove again, but am doing some fitness classes and weight/cardio workouts at home. Like you, I agree that fitness shouldn’t be a chore. That’s why right now I’m doing what I enjoy – no schedules, no goals. My only thing is I have to do “something” consistently.

  5. fitness exercise and running is a good combination, Fran! As you can see, restdays are important too!
    Please, keep you motivation and enjoy your training plan!

  6. I love that quote and try to live by it.

  7. Glad you are feeling better and that exercise is enjoyable again!

  8. I find sometimes when I feel like I have a cold a run will banish it. I also find hitting a pace very hard. Don’t consider it a fail but a trial.

  9. we’ve had that hideous wind here as well – it’s raging as we speak! – and I think I’m going to hit the mill later…

  10. I think you did great considering you weren’t feeling 100%! I need to sign up for some races for motivation – I haven’t run one since October 2008!

  11. Enjoying your workouts is so important!!! Go FRAN!

  12. Enjoying the workouts is the secret for a good training and a better life.
    Good luck for the PB, I am sure you will reach your goals. I have also scheduled a 5 km in march, on 10th I will enter the Cardiff Park Run (I will be in Wales for the rugby match Wales-Italy).
    I wish no more storms around.

  13. Looks like you had a good week. I find that my runs clear my sinuses so I run with a cold. In reality I am probably only making it worse. Oh, well.

Leave a Reply

