Monday January 16, 2012: The mishmash edition

Daily stuff:
Thank you all for the tips how to bring food to work. I will see if I can buy a bag to bring my own salads to work. Next week I will still be buying my salads at work because I already did my menu planning and shopping before I decided to bring my own food.

My sky at my Saturday morning run

Both days this weekend were easy days. The weather was great on both days and I enjoyed my walks with Bella and my run on Saturday morning. For the rest I stayed home this weekend, watched some TV, did some reading and other things. It sounds boring but it’s how I like to spend my weekends most. I do like to go out and do things or meet people too but not every weekend.

I saw the first “sneeuwklokjes”. I have no idea what they are called in English, my free translation would be snow clocks.

My sky when I was walking Bella on Sunday

It’s Blue Monday today, some say the most depressing day of the year. I read somewhere it’s partly because most people that made resolutions on January 1st already quit by the third Monday of the new year. I didn’t feel depressed today, in fact I had a great day, how about you?

Book I’m reading
David Baldacci
True Blue

Almost at the end of this book (finally). Now I’m getting to the end the book is more interesting. Think I’ll finish it this week.

TV shows I watched last week
The Big Bang Theory, Glee, New Girl, Modern Family, Raising Hope, Homeland, The Voice of Holland.

Dinner

Sunday
Tried 2 new recipes. The main course was pork tenderloin with mushrooms, onion and garlic in tomato sauce. We ate it with some foccaccia. It was okay but not that special that I’m going to make it again.

Dessert however was a keeper. It’s made of soft curd cheese with whipped cream, chocolate chip cookies and clementines.

Highlights of the week
Coffee date with K., awesome workout week, beautiful cold sunny Winter weather on Sunday.

15 responses to “Monday January 16, 2012: The mishmash edition

  1. I don’t think a weekend like that sounds boring at all–it sounds perfect to me! Rare are the days like that for me.

    Interesting about blue Monday. I had never heard that before. I can say that the gym already seems back to normal, though, so it probably holds true about the resolutions.

  2. I didn’t answer your questions from the last post. I’m lucky to have access to a fridge at work, so I can store it there until lunch time. I usually just make my salads the night before. I hope you find a way to make this work! You will get better lunches for less $$ too.

  3. I know what sneeuwklokjes are called in Polish: przebisniegi – which would probably translate into cutting through snow. They are considered first signs of spring… wait, it is January!!! Over here we have not had winter yet.
    Somehow I missed your previous post. I always take my own food with me in what reminds me of Japanese bento boxes. The ones I have are made of thin stainless steel sheets. What I love about them is that they are reusable (environmental considerations are important to me), not plastic (I am suspicious of plastic containers), and lightweight. Salads do not get squished in them and that is a big plus.

    Quiet weekends at home rock. I am running around all week long. Being able to slow down if even only for one day is priceless.

  4. I think your weekend sounds great. Weekends are for relaxing, which is why I love them.
    I like your picture of the sky, very pretty.
    Have a good week.

  5. I love the word “sneeuwklokjes” – sounds sort of Dr. Seussian, and to me needs no translation. 🙂

    Haven’t heard of Blue Monday, and I’m definitely not depressed…hopefully it’s more of a media thing than a reality.

    I love my solitude – your weekends sound perfect. I get one like that this coming weekend – Jeff is going camping and I will have a couple days all to myself, finally! 🙂

  6. Those flowers are snow drops in English – or Galanthus. Earliest flowers and often poke through the snow, but we won’t see those around here for another couple months at least!

  7. Flowers already…how nice. Love the blue skies too…so pretty.

    I don’t count calories at all Fran, only carbs, the tracker tracks them for me, so I just put them into my posts, but I never worry about the number.

  8. Have you ever watched NCIS? That is my series of the moment.

    Thanks for the nice comments on my blog. I remain swimming discouraged but we’ll see. I know I can swim it. I don’t know that I can swim it half ways well!

    Nice picture when you were walking Bella.

  9. Roz@weightingfor50

    Oh Fran, the photos are GORGEOUS. You really live in a beautiful part of the world. I hope to see it through my own eyes one of these years!!! You have snowdrops out already??? WOW….spring is just around the corner! Have a great Tuesday.

  10. we made it through blue monday!!!!

    now. whats today supposed to be?

    xo

  11. Leave it to Lori to know exactly what those flowers are. I can’t believe anything is blooming but maybe that’s because it has been so cold and now this morning snow to ice. Blech.

    Blue Monday? Never heard of it. I didn’t feel particularly blue or rather no more than I usually do in the winter. I’ve been trying very hard to focus on positives so that I remain upbeat.

  12. Congratulations on your 10 year anniversary at work – that will be something special to look forward to this year! Nice wintery pictures on your blog today – thank goodness blue Monday was so bright and sunny, otherwise it would have been really bad!

  13. Those two photos of the sky are breathtaking. We’ve been having lovely winter weather too (not too cold and sunny – no snow).
    You’re still making me hungry with that soup!!
    I forgot to tell you that I finally finished the Hunger Games series. I remember you saying you didn’t like the 3rd book as much as the first two. I actually enjoyed them all and didn’t mind the last book or the ending. I kept wondering if the ending was going to make me mad but it didn’t. I was content. My biggest complaint is that the series is over.

  14. Gorgeous photos! I’ve never been to the Netherlands but have heard it’s very lovely. Also that dessert looks really tasty.

  15. I enjoy your photos! Great idea to take a bag of salad with you to work just incase. 🙂

Leave a Reply

