Wednesday January 18 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday
First time I tried a workout from the program “The Firm Express” that I recently bought. This set has 13 DVD’s with workouts. Every workout is approx. 20 minutes. It is short but intensive. I felt my muscles in my arms and legs later in the day. Love this workout too.
Total time: 21 minutes.

Friday
I had planned Jillian Michaels yoga meltdown level 1 that is approx. 30 minutes. But a combination of being sore and very tired had me finish this one before the end. Better luck next time.
Total time: 11 minutes.

Saturday
Saturday is my long run day. Because I started a 10K program this week, it was actually kind of short, only 6.4K (4 miles). But it was a great run. Weather was perfect for running and the run itself went easy. I’m trying to run my long runs around 7:00/km and I succeeded.

Stats:
Weather:dry, cloudy, hardly any wind, 5C (41 degrees)
Distance: 6.4 K / 4 miles
Time: 00:44:42
Average time: 6:59 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: U2 – Sunday Bloody Sunday

Sunday
Active rest day. After 6 days of working out my body told me it needed a break. I didn’t workout but I did walk with Bella because the weather was so good for January.

Monday
Did a workout from the program called X-TrainFit. This exists of 8 DVD’s with various workouts. Monday I did the chest and back DVD. It had 3 sets of various exercises for the back and chest (lots of push ups). I liked this workout, the instructor explained the exercises very well and she was no-nonsense.
Total time: 1 hour and 3 minutes.

Tuesday
I totally slept through my alarm this morning. By the time I woke up it was a bit late and I thought about skipping my planned run. But then I thought that a short run is always better than no run at all and I did go. It was cold but luckily no wind. Afterwards I was glad I decided to go instead of skipping it.

Stats:
Weather:dry, no wind, fog, -2C (28 degrees)
Distance: 2 K / 1.2 miles
Time: 00:14:18
Average time: 7:09 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Stevie Wonder – I wish.

Wednesday
Zumba time! What a fun workout to start my day with.
Total time: 46 minutes.

Weekly review
Very happy with my workouts this week.

I have changed my running schedule, meaning I made my own schedule for the first 6 months of this year. When I look back at my average mile per month last year, it seems I had a kind of running burn-out the last couple of months. I don’t want that to happen this year and thought about what would work best for me.

I love to use a training plan for running. I like it when I know what en when I have to run. Most internet schedules are “fast”. By fast I mean that you have a schedule for 8 weeks and in these 8 weeks your weekly long run is longer every week. My experience last year is that I don’t really like that, I prefer to do a certain distance twice before I move to the next step, it gives me more time to get used to distances and it builds my confidence.

That’s how I build my new training plan: every distance for my long run and my pace run I will run twice. The first time I run the distance for the long run it will be slow, the second time I’m using the 3/1 method: run ¾ easy and ¼ in pace tempo. On a weekday I will do a tempo run or do speedwork.

After every 3 weeks I have a recovery week in which I cut back on the mileage.

For now I will be running 3 times a week and do a DVD workout 3 times a week. My upper body strength is very weak and I need to work on that because I know it will benefit my performance in running too. Maybe when it is light again in the morning I switch to 4 times running and 2 times a DVD workout but I’ll see about that when that day comes.

The plan I made feels very good for me and I hope it will get me to PR on a 5K and 10K race which are my short-term goals.

15 responses to “Wednesday January 18 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. You are setting yourself up for success by creating a plan that you know will work for you. Great job on the workouts!

  2. I love your idea for your new plan. I have been using the SmartCoach program and adapting it to my needs. For example I no longer feel the need to run over 10 miles for half training…so I am not going to. It puts less stress on me nowing my longest run is 10 miles.

  3. Hey: what are the chances there is a race in Holland when I am over there this summer? How cool would it be to enter a race together? Of course, you would probably leave me in the dust but that’s okay!

    Great planning Fran!

  4. I love your running outfit …………all that black and pink. Love that you worked out 6 days in a row! Good for you. Have fun with those DVD workouts. Did you say what you were reading? I guess I’ll go back and look.

  5. Wow Fran, you sure mixed it up this week with your workouts! Way to keep it interesting!

    Glad the running is going so well for you. And it seems that you are doing well to know yourself and how YOU like to train – I’m glad that you’ve tailored a plan to suit your strengths. Those PRs will be yours! 🙂

  6. Great workouts! I like it how you are mixing different kinds of exercises. ANd that running outfit rocks!

  7. I like your plan. If you want to gain upper body strength without a ton of work, do the pushups working your way to full on the toes style. Your arms and chest will get strong!

  8. oooh covet the pink shirt—-AND YOUR MAD ORGANIZING SKILLS.

  9. Fran, have you ever heard of FIRST Training? It’s a plan that was specifically designed for runners to run less but get faster. You run only 3 times per week but each run as a specific purpose. I’m not saying you should change what you’re doing right now but you might want to look into it eventually!

    http://www2.furman.edu/sites/first/Pages/FirstTrainingPrograms.aspx

  10. You had a fantastic workout week.

  11. I love how you are incorporating many different tools into a program that works for you. That’s what fitness is all about, finding a plan that works for you and having fun with it!
    Good luck on your pursuits.
    Stephanie,
    X-TrainFit

  12. What a great fitness week!!! The Zumba sounds like a lot of fun and definitely a fun way to start the day. I think it takes real discipline to work out at home like you do!!! Great job!

  13. Hello again. Happy New Year to you! I know I am a bit late, but you know how it’s been this past year. I love that slogan at the top, and I need to remember that for myself. Loved your week.

  14. You are on the right way to reach your goals on the 5 and 10 km. Good luck.

  15. You had a great week!! I was happy to hear that you liked the zumba. It’s such a fun workout that doesn’t feel like you are working out. I’ve been hitting my gym zumba now twice a week and I’m loving it!

Leave a Reply

