Monday January 23, 2012: The mishmash edition

Daily stuff
Stayed home a lot this weekend because the weather was very bad: lots of rain and lots and lots of wind. Saturday afternoon I baked a chocolate-hazelnut cake, new recipe and I used half of the ingredients, otherwise it would be too big. It was a bit dry and I think I used not enough of some ingredients.

Sunday around noon it was supposed to stay dry for a while although the wind was like a storm at that point. We decided to go to the forest for a short walk with Bella. After 30 minutes we thought we were where we left the car but we were wrong: we were lost. After another 30 minutes we found the car. It’s not a huge forest so we would have found the car eventually but this hardly ever happens to us. At least Bella had a great time because she could run around for an hour instead of 30 minutes.

You can see the forest is very wet:

Book I’m reading
Tess Gerritsen
The Mephisto Club

I finally finished David Baldacci’s True Blue. First book I’ve read of him. Not sure if I will read another one of his books since it took me so long to finish it.

TV shows I watched last week
The Big Bang Theory, Glee, New Girl, Modern Family, Raising Hope, The Voice of Holland, Private Practice, Necessary Roughness, The Mentalist.

After a couple of months on Friday finally the final of The Voice of Holland. I don’t watch talent shows but made an exception for this one because the first season was a huge success here. I liked watching it but am also glad it’s over. I always recorded it (except for the final which I watched live) and watched it on Saturday afternoon. The winner wasn’t my choice although she was very good. The one I wanted to win won 2nd place.

Dinner

Saturday
R. had to work Saturday at a factory where they make all kinds of bread things for the oven. He brought home a kind of calzone that was filled with ham and cheese which we had for dinner.

Sunday
Chicken masala soup (bought it) with red onion foccaccia (brought R. home too on Saturday).

Highlights of the week
Bella got a haircut which makes her very cute, great workout week, forest walk with Bella.

15 responses to “Monday January 23, 2012: The mishmash edition

  1. I remember being lost in a forest once, it took us over 2 hours to find our way to our car, so very scary! Glad you found your way out and looks like Bella didn’t mind ;-).
    We are heating up a little on our end of the world too! We were minus 43 with the wind chill for a week straight, this week I’ll be running outside, crazy!

  2. Glad you found your car! I don’t like getting lost unless I can mostly figure it out.
    The forrest pictures are pretty. I especially like the one with the reflection of the trees.

  3. Ick, we’ve got that same wet weather too. All snow last week and all rain this week. It’s pretty gross outside. Glad you got out of the forest safely. I got lost once, by myself, in the woods in an area that is VERY well known for bears. I heard a crashing sound in the woods so just turned around and ran as fast as I could until I found people again. I found out afterwards that where I turned around I was only about 5 minutes from where I’d started, just on a trail that barely anyone ever used.

  4. Ooh, that red onion foccacia looks GOOD! What fun that R. brought home some treats! And sorry your cake didn’t quite turn out – it sure looks yummy.

    I’m glad that you weren’t too worried about not finding the car – that would have spooked me a little, being lost. At least you were together, and obviously, Bella just thought it was another great adventure…and it IS all about her, right? 😉

  5. Calzones – yum! John and I love to get those.

    I would have been nervous being lost about the car, but glad it all turned out okay.

  6. It’s been raining a ton here too and I’m kind getting sick of the gloomyness. I’m glad to hear that everything turned out okay though.

  7. Where is the picture of Bella with er cute haircut? I would not like being lost and would probably panic. Our landscape right now is very ugly. Snow washed away again by rain…. lots of ice…….no leaves……not a pretty winter scene.
    Glad we are now FB friends!

  8. Glad you found the car!

    Love the forest pictures, it looks like fall with all the leaves on the ground. Very pretty.

  9. Im such a homebody—the weather and the domicile time look PERFECT TO ME 🙂

  10. The cake LOOKS good… I wonder if you warmed it a bit in the microwave and had it with coffee if that would take care of the dryness?

    I’ll pick rain over snow any day even though both usually mean being stuck inside!

  11. The calzone and bread look yummy! I would be in trouble if I worked somewhere like that.

  12. Wow, that’s a lot of water! I ran outside today – what looked like water was actually a thin sheet of ice – almost fellon my ass!

    You might like this recipe!!

    http://mybizzykitchen.com/2011/12/30/tikka-masala-soup-with-shrimp-and-cilantro/

  13. Roz@weightingfor50

    Dear Fran. Please sent cake! 🙂 Love the photo of Bella on a mission….there is serious sniffing going on in that picture. Hope your week is going well.

  14. I don’t think I’ve told you this but we have similar taste in sitcoms. I watch Big Bang, Raising Hope and New Girl every week. I secretly think Sheldon is super cute 🙂

  15. I love that cake (we call it “ciambellone”) and the calzone. Rain or not I’d like to run through that forest.

Leave a Reply

