Wednesday January 25 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday
I knew I had a long day ahead of me with a long meeting and wanted a short workout to start my day fresh. I did another workout from The Firm Express, this one was pure cardio.
Total time: 21 minutes.

Friday
Rest.

Saturday
This was a tough one, lots of rain and a brutal wind that made it look like I was standing still sometimes and it slowed me down. Luckily it wasn’t cold. Not the fastest or best run ever but always look on the bright side: I did it.

Stats:
Weather:rain, strong wind, 10C (50 degrees)
Distance: 6.4 K / 4 miles
Time: 00:45:32
Average time: 7:07 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Robbie Williams – Trippin’

Sunday
Rest.

Monday
First time for a Jillian workout of the DVD Killer Buns & Thighs (level 1). What I noticed is how much stronger my legs are than my upper body. Where at upper body exercises I often have to adapt the exercise, this workout I could do all the exercises because it was all focussed on the lower body.
Total time: 40 minutes.

Tuesday
An unexpected rest day. I got up in time and got dressed in my running clothes. I went outside and walked to my starting point. That’s when I started noticing the roads were icy. I walked a little further but I slipped away a few times. As I don’t run on icy roads because I’m too afraid to fall and get injured I turned around and headed home.

Wednesday
This run sucked big time, period!

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 2C (35 degrees)
Distance: 2.8 K / 1.7 miles
Time: 00:21:25
Average time: 7:39 /km
Average speed: 7.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Total eclipse of the heart

Weekly review
I had such a bad run this morning and since I’m not happy with my runs the past couple of months, I seriously thought about quitting running. This run gave me such a bad mood for almost the entire day and quitting seemed the easy way out. It took 3 sweet guys at work, who all run, to convince me I shouldn’t give up.

I’m rocking my workouts this month so far, I hardly skip workouts and if I do it’s always a run because I dread most of the runs. I’m losing my joy in running. I had about 2 runs that went okay this month, most other runs sucked. I also noticed I’ve lost the base I build in the first half year of last year. I’m slower and I can’t run longer than 20 minutes without walking. What to do?

Give up running? This morning I said yes but at the end of this day: no way!

That leaves adjusting my plan. I’m going back to run-walk-run starting with a 5:1 ratio and build that up. I have to experiment if I can add a minute after every run or after 2 runs or more. I’m going to be flexible. My goal is to get back at running straight for 1 hour which I could last year and get faster. I don’t have to win a race, after all I’m 43, but right now I’m too slow. At the pace I’m running now I’m always going to be one of the last to finish. In Holland runners that run races are fast. It will be nice to finish somewhere in the middle.

But the most important thing I want to achieve is that I look forward to a run again instead of dreading it. For now I’m not giving up, I have to be able to rebuild my running base and have fun again.

Wish me luck, I will need it.

14 responses to “Wednesday January 25 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. I’m sad to hear that you are struggling so much with your runs lately. I hope you figure it out and it gets better for you. At least you have your other workouts to do.

  2. AWW Fran, we all have bad runs and days we want to quit but LOOK HOW FAR YOU HAVE COME, don’t let a few bad runs take that way from you!!!!
    Get back on the running trail, take walk breaks AND NEVER GIVE UP!!!
    XOXO
    LOVE YA!

  3. I bet if you do the 5:1 intervals your love of running will come back…or you could reverse that and do 10:1 intervals like me (haha, walking 10 minutes, running 1 minute) – then running seems FUN! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  4. LOL @Shelley!

    I think for some reason you are pressuring yourself. You ran 4 miles in 45 minutes. Do you know how many people would like to run that “fast?” It’s not worth it. You need to run for fun. Not for time, not for distance, not for races, no training plan – nothing set in stone. Just run for fun for a while. Get up, go out and run, even if it means you don’t wear your Garmin. And yes, I have actually done that. It works.

  5. I like what Helen said…run for fun! No obligation, no pressure…glad you aren’t giving up though as when running is good for you…it is GOOD!

    Careful out there…ice is scary!

  6. I am so not motivated right now, I don’t know where it all went. I feel like every run is a challenge, yet I keep signing up for races. LOL

  7. Love those hot pinks and blacks. You need to keep running so people can see you in those great clothes! Glad the work guys convinced you to keep going.

  8. I think just going out and running without any watch or anything on and no distance in mind would be good. Then you would just be out there for the sake of being out there. I do that every once in a while to remember why I exercise – because I enjoy it!

    Sounds like the rest of your exercise is really on track, though! Yay!

  9. Stick with it Fran but don’t put too much pressure on yourself. Maybe try some short fun runs and just do what you feel like doing rather than tracking your distance and time. Find the love of it again then go back to training.

    You will figure it out. You are great at reevaluatting. I am glad you decided not to give up. That just wouldn’t be like you!

  10. I’m also thinking of giving up running the way we know it, I want to try other kind of suggestions as I want to do this for fitness and not win races or even run them anymore.
    I’ve not run in a month – too hot in CT ( 40/45 degrees ) and here too cold for me (-4 ) hoping to start in Feb when I can run at gym on treadmill ( membership was stopped while in CT for 2 months )
    I will join the girls and hubby for runs during spring, but want to give the Primal suggestion on running a go as less stress on the body. Will let u know once into it.

    I’m sure you will find your mojo again with your running, it’s so good to have a space where one can write about how you feeling and then receive encouragement from other – it does give one the push!
    I hope you end up doing what is the best for you…..remember this
    Man is designed to run!

  11. It’s amazing how a couple of bad runs can make us feel so down. Just remember, the bad ones only make the good ones better!

  12. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. Sorry to hear you had bad runs. (my God, that just sounds so wrong! – yeah, someone had to say it, may as well be me and my inner 15 year old!!) Hope you find your running mojo soon and it is fun for you again!!!! Take care!!!

  13. checking back in on you…cant believe it’s FRIDAY!

  14. There are good days and bad days or, better, periods when the workouts are a committment and other a pleasure. This is normal. If you had a race in the near future I am sure that your mood would be different.
    About wind and rain. Running with rain is possible, with also a strong wind is a torture, but you did it.

Leave a Reply

