Monday January 30, 2012: The mishmash edition

Daily stuff:
Friday night my friend T. came over for dinner. I totally forgot to take a photo of the two of us because we were too busy chatting. It was a great evening, just what I needed.

Sunday morning I did a home workout ….

Winter has finally arrived here. It’s going to be cold, around -10C (14 degrees) at night and -5C (23 degrees) during the day. I know that’s not cold compared to what some of you have to deal with but for this little part of the world it’s cold. I don’t mind the cold because the days will be sunny with clear blue skies. What I do mind is the snow that fell last night. It wasn’t much but due to the cold it didn’t melt which means it will be icy for the rest of the week.

That’s why I decided I won’t run till Saturday. Not because of the cold but because the icy roads. I replaced my weekday run with a DVD workout. I’m glad it’s recovery week and I already had planned less running this week. After the weekend it looks like temperatures will rise again.

Book I’m reading
Tess Gerritsen
The Mephisto Club

Movies I’ve seen last week
Avatar.

Second time we watched it. I didn’t expect to like this movie when I saw it the first time but I did. Too bad I fall asleep this time the last 15 minutes of the movie.

TV shows I watched last week
The Big Bang Theory, The Mentalist, Once upon a time, Glee, New Girl, Modern Family, Raising Hope, Revenge, Private Practice.

Dinner

Friday
Starter: mushrooms with a slice of toast.

Main: pork with mushroom sauce and a topping of mashed potatoes. This didn’t come out as it looked on the photo of the recipe but it tasted good nevertheless. Side dish was grilled zucchini with cherry tomatoes and caperies.

Dessert: vanilla quark with mango and pineapple (forgot the photo).

Highlights of the week
Dinner at my Mom’s house on Wednesday, a nice evening and dinner with my friend T.

20 responses to “Monday January 30, 2012: The mishmash edition

  1. I think we need to work on Bella’s attitude! ; )

    I hate the leftover ice after snow also. I think only runners really notice that, but it’s one of the reasons I don’t like snow.

  2. I think that’s plenty cold…and yeah, I wouldn’t chance it in icy roads – no need to hurt yourself!

    When you get on the floor to exercise, does Bella “help” you by jumping on your back or stomach? Or kiss your face? I have to do my planks after Paco has gone to bed or I get his unwelcome participation, lol.

    Oh – I fall asleep at movies too. Sometimes not only at home – I can nod off in the theater too!

  3. After living in an area without ice and snow for 20 years, I can’t deal with winter weather anymore… Glad you decided to not take any chances on the icy road…

    Have a great week!

  4. Poor footing on the road is the hardest part about winter running. I don’t wear anything special on my shoe, but some people buy attachments with cleats on the bottom to grip. I just take short, careful steps and keep my eyes on the ground at all times! I hope it clears up soon!

  5. I know what you mean, I ended up walking today with my hiking boots on instead of running because I was worried about slippery roads…I think I will use the treadmill for the rest of the week!

  6. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. Good call on not venturing out on that ice. And those pics of Bella are HILARIOUS!!!! Have a wonderful week. Stay warm!!!

  7. I have been feeling like Bella lately. I would rather sleep on my yoga mat then do yoga.

  8. Bella is oh so clever! Boo to icy roads, they are no fun at all.

  9. I found running on slippery roads much easier than walking on them. I am not kidding.
    Bella is quite a princess, isn’t she?

  10. It snowed here yesterday and today…I am so careful even walking from the car to the building at work…I am scared to slip and fall. Good idea to hold off on the running until everything is nice and dry.

    I didn’t know Bella could talk…she is so smart! 😀

    Pork and mushrooms is always so tasty!

  11. Haha! Bella is so cute that picture makes me want to have a nap. Definitely smart not to run on those icy sidewalks. Glad you had some nice family and friend time this week. I had an amazing healthy dinner at my parents place this week. It feels so good to visit and eat and still feel in the groove. Have a good week Fran.

  12. That’s definitely cold! So do the roads and sidewalks stay icy/snowy because they are not cleared? Our get cleared but if it’s a lot of snow there’s just no room for runners and cars.

  13. Sweet, sweet Bella! Love it! Delilah would have been too tired as well.
    We are still lacking in snow here and I’m loving it! We had about an inch a week ago but it warmed up a few days later and melted everything. Some winters the trails by my house stay icy all winter and I hate it. At least when I run in the city it’s not so bad because they are good at salting the sidewalks.

  14. @Helen: only the main roads are cleared. The road of my street, for example, isn’t cleared. The bike paths and sidewalks are mostly clear now but temperatures are below 0 (C) which means they stay icy.

  15. So glad I found your blog. I understand about the ice. We live in Minnesota, the land of ice and snow. Ice is definitely much more treacherous than snow. Is your dog a cairn terrier? We have a little cairn, and she is wonderful. Also, my great-grandparents came from the Netherlands. I still have relatives there. Take care on the ice. I will be back and following you.

  16. dang
    somehow I am always late to the party here—but it makes me feel as though Im your checker in’er 🙂

  17. It is so cold outside. I am unsure that I will even want to run again until summer. I do live next to a “nuts” German though that runs no matter what which means I do to.lol Love the photos of Bella on the yoga mat!

  18. I ran last week and what I thought was just melted snow turned out to be a five foot sheet of ice! I almost fell but was able to jump on the grass last minute – whew!

    But our 60 degree weather (super unseasonal!) melted it all. 😀

    Hope you have a great day Fran!

  19. Glad that Bella changed her mind, she is very wise.
    The mushrooms look delicious.

Leave a Reply

