Wednesday February 1 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday
Rest.

Friday
After the very bad run on Wednesday it was time to try again. First I thought about not going, then about running a shorter distance but in the end I decided to try the 8K I had planned. I used a 5:1 run-walk method and it went so much better than most of my other runs this month. The last K was a bit harder but overall taking a walk break after every 5 minutes worked out very well.

Stats:
Weather:dry, sunny, little bit of wind, 2C (35 degrees)
Distance: 8 K / 5 miles
Time: 00:57:08
Average time: 7:08 /km
Average speed: 8.4 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Ryan Shaw – It gets better

Saturday
I don’t know what happened but I’m not complaining. Earlier in the week I thought about quitting running and suddenly I had my fastest run so far this year. The walk breaks really help at this point. Again I used a 5:1 run-walk interval.

Stats:
Weather:dry, sunny, hardly any wind, 3C (37 degrees)
Distance: 4 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:27:06
Average time: 06:46 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bob Seger Band – Against the wind.

Sunday
Started my day with a Chalean Extreme workout. This was mostly focussed on the shoulders. Though but great workout.
Total time: 40 minutes.

Monday
Rest.
This week is recovery week which means I (normally) go back from 3 runs to 2 runs and from 3 workouts to 2. This week I skipped the running due to icy roads and replace the weekday run with a DVD workout.

Tuesday
Because it’s recovery week I’m keeping my DVD workouts short this week too. This day I did a Turbofire workout: HITT 20. A short and intense HITT training.
Total time: 20 minutes.

Wednesday
Rest.

 

Workout results January 2012

Results January:
•    Very, very happy with my workouts this month.
•    I don’t think I ever did so many workouts in 1 month.
•    This has been a much better month than October, November and December.
•    Running didn’t go that great but my last 2 runs were good again and I have confidence it will get better and better. At least my mileage was the highest since October.
•    Total time I did something (including walking): 22 hours and 30 minutes.

Goals February:
•    Continue what I did in January.
•    Improve my running.
•    I’ve signed up for a 5K in March and 2 10K’s in April too keep me running and motivated.

Workouts January:
Running. Done: 9
Strength training. Done: 7
Yoga. Done: 1
Cardio. Done: 5

Workouts:
Number and time of workouts in December: 12 workouts, total time 6 hours and 5 minutes.
Number and time of workouts in January: 22 workouts, total time 11 hours and 14 minutes.

Running goals:

Yearly mileage
Total January: 40.5 K / 25.1 miles

Total till 01/31: 40.5 K / 25.1 miles
Total running time: 4 hours 48 minutes

Races:
None.

Personal records I want to achieve:
Run a   5K < 32 minutes
Run a 10K < 1.08
Run 30 minutes without walking.

My reward for being such a sporty girl this month:

16 responses to “Wednesday February 1 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. That sounds like a great month! You did a lot of workouts. Interested to see how you like P90X.

  2. great work Fran!!! P90X it’s the devil 😉

  3. You are had a great month, you seem to have found your running groove. Congrats.

  4. You had a great month. Oh I love P90X Ijust wish the DVDs weren’t so long!

    My fav is the KenpoX DVD.

  5. A lot of times the only pressure we have is the one we put on ourself! Congratulations for letting go and just enjoying.

  6. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran. Congrats on your “spectacular workout January!” Hope February is just as good!!! Take care

  7. Look at you rewarding yourself with stuff that will make you work harder! You must be an athlete!

  8. Isn’t it bizarre that something as simple as a one minute walking break can make such a difference when running?!? SO GLAD that you had some good runs this way!

  9. What a great training month you had. Well done.
    Good luck for Feb!

  10. Nice workouts! What a great feeling to have a fantastic run – see, the bad ones only make the good one better!

  11. Woo-hoo! Good job, girl, on a great workout month! And not one of the easiest to get things done. Although I have a feeling February is going to be harder for us – I totally agree with you that it is too cold to run outdoors right now. BRRRR! So I guess I will be spending more time at the gym…

    And yes, it was Landgraaf ! they go once each year with school and they love it there.

  12. Fran, your workouts are putting me to shame – go girl! 😀 OMG, I’ve seen the infomercials for the PX90 – its insane!

  13. You had sunny weather there in the Netherlands! And we didn’t! … I’m envious 🙂 Glad your run went well although the last kilometre was a hard. Good workout, Fran!

    We have snow here in Central Italy … I have to try to run on a icy running path!
    Haved nice runs!

  14. Great job on January!!! I am so proud of you Fran…and I am happy you had some good runs again.

    Keep up the wonderful work in February…I know you will!

  15. Good luck on your goals. I know that you can do it!
    A very good january full of workouts.
    I see you wear the brand “Craft” I bought some items in Sweden and it was a very good buy.

  16. Sounds like you had an amazing month! I’m so glad that you were able to start the year off so well!!! Keep up the good work on your runs – i know how you feel. But i think that good run came just in time to remind you that you’ve got it. I need a good run every now and then to remind me.

Leave a Reply

