Friday February 17, 2012: The TGIF edition

Monday dinner: a piece of pork meat (left over from Sunday) and broccoli. Didn’t want carbs at this meal.

 

I mentioned in my Monday post that my IBS problems are worse. I’ve spend some time searching the internet what I could do to reduce this. There isn’t any medication for this but I found some “rules” that might help and I started this week making changes in my food/drinking patterns to see if it helps.

Besides eating healthy, drinking enough water, exercise regularly (all things I’m already doing) I try to:
•    drink less coffee (which is hard as I love coffee)
•    no alcohol (= wine)
•    no carbonated drinks (I hardly ever drink soda but do drink carbonated water)
•    eat smaller meals (especially at dinner)
•    eat slow and chew food good
•    watch saturated fat
•    avoid processed foods
•    avoid food that contains a lot of sugar (already did that)
•    avoid fast food

Besides that I bought some vitamins to help me bring back balance in my bowels.
I’m doing this for 2 weeks and if it doesn’t help, I promised R. I will go back to the doctor.

So far I’m doing this for 5 days and today is the first day I’ve noticed a little difference. Hope it’s not just one day but the start of feeling better.

The hardest thing is drink less coffee. Not doing so good on that yet because I love my coffee. I’m used to drinking coffee all day long at work. This week I replaced the coffee in the afternoon with tea but still drink a bit too much. I keep working on that.

Because reducing my IBS problems is the most important thing for me to do right now, I’m putting the weight loss thing on hold. First I need to get healthy again and then I will continue to work on my weight loss.

Tuesday dinner: a meatball and chicory. Again no carbs for dinner.

Wednesday dinner: Chicken Siam with rice. My dentist appointment was delayed and the supermarket was next to the dentist. I bought a meal package for this dish because it was getting late. I haven’t bought something like this for I don’t know how long. It was okay but not as good as when I make things myself. Not going to do this again soon.

Today’s dinner:
Homemade burger with onion, rocket salad, tomato and mozzarella cheese on an Italian bread. This was so good.

No big plans this weekend. I will run tomorrow because the weather is a lot better since the beginning of this week.

Have a great weekend my friends!

14 responses to “Friday February 17, 2012: The TGIF edition

  1. Holy moly that burger looks GOOD!!!

    Hope you have a wonderful run tomorrow, and a perfectly awesome weekend. 🙂

  2. I really hope you find the ansews to this problem….cutting out all gluten has helped me a lot….I challenge u to try this for 30 days, if no difference go back to this way of eating.

  3. That burger looks fantastic!

    I hope the IBS starts to get better – even small changes could make a big difference. I would have a tough time with some of those too!

  4. Have you tried a wheat and dairy challenge to see if either of those bothers your IBS? Sorry to hear it has caused problems for you again.

  5. I know for me – the less dairy, grains and sugar I eat the better my insides feel. Once I start to allow those back in my stomach issues all return.

    I will say that burger looks awesome though.

  6. I love love love love coffee. I am going on vacation tomorrow and I drink even more coffee then! It would be hard to give it up but I think in general I drink less than I used to.

  7. Coffee would be hard for me to give up, too, so I am feeling for you! Especially in the winter… I don’t know how much dairy you eat but that might be one to try eliminating, a lot of people have trouble digesting it. I find if I eat anything with dairy, which I do try to avoid, then I see immediately on my face the next day – broken out and inflamed!
    Good luck and enjoy the mild weather this weekend!

  8. The burger looks delicious and that bread too.
    I hope you get well soon.
    Enjoy this week end without snow (is it right?).

  9. Oh Fran, I am sorry your IBS problems have returned. I hope you are doing better.
    That burger looks wonderful! It is making me hungry.
    I would have a hard time giving up coffee too. I have a big cup each morning, and I look forward to it each day.
    Have a good weekend.

  10. I hope the changes you are making help you to feel better. I’ve given up coffee pretty much entirely in favour of green tea. I like it and I like to think it is healthier too.

    Have a great weekend!

  11. I hope you start feeling better soon. There is nothing worse then feeling like crap. The pic. of the burger looks yummy!!! Something I might want to make soon!

  12. Sorry to hear about your IBS – hopefully you are feeling better by now!

    Happy Monday!

  13. I hope you get your IBS under control. That doesn’t sound like fun.
    That burger looks amazing! You’re making me hungry and it’s only 7am here.

  14. Someone else mentioned cutting out all gluten..have you tried it before? Have you heard of the book Wheat Belly? It is a great read. Hope you are feeling better Fran.

Leave a Reply

