Monday February 20, 2012: The mishmash edition

Daily stuff:
Thank you all for your tips regarding my IBS in my last post. I’m going to keep them all in mind but for now I’m continuing what I started last Monday. It seems to be working, haven’t had problems since Saturday. Hopefully this isn’t just a short time recovery but a long one. If my problems do come back, I’m going to see my doctor first before trying something else.

Hope you all had a great weekend.

Mine was perfect. This was the second weekend I almost entirely unplugged from the internet. I am spending less and less time on the internet compared to a couple of years ago. Do you unplug or spend less on the internet during the weekend?

I went running twice this weekend, catched up on some TV shows I watch, watched a bad movie (The Mechanic) Saturday night with R. Yesterday my Mom came over for coffee and after she left I spend some time working on one of my cross stitch works.

My blogger friend Shelley has discovered knitting and reading about that on her blog several times, made me dust off my cross stitch packages and for the past 2 weekends I worked on it.

I used to knit a lot couple of years ago, I made the most beautiful sweaters (don’t have them anymore). Shelley’s knitting made me think I want to knit myself again too. I even went to our local knitting store last Saturday to see what’s hot this moment but it was so crowded (lots of people knitting and cross stitching apparently) I left. But the idea is still in my head. I’ll let you know if I pick up knitting again.

The entire weekend the news was dominated by the terrible accident that happened to the second son of our queen, prince Friso. Maybe you’ve heard about it on the news, I understand it’s world news. He was buried by an avalanche while on holiday in Austria. He spent 20 minutes buried in the snow before they found him. At this moment there isn’t any news, he’s stabilized they say but still in critical condition. I have to say that everytime there was a news flash I watched it even though it was the same all the time: no news. Probably not before the end of this week.

Book I’m reading
Dennis Lehane
Mystic River

TV shows I watched last week
Once upon a time, Revenge, Private Practice, Glee, New Girl, Modern Family, Raising Hope, Homeland.

Dinner

Saturday
Turkish bread with zucchini, roasted pepper and tomato tapenade.

Sunday
We decided to pick up some Chinese food. Didn’t feel like cooking.

14 responses to “Monday February 20, 2012: The mishmash edition

  1. I really unplugged this past weekend too and was amazed at how refreshed I felt by today. Somehow unplugging is quite easy for me in the summer – not home! – but in the winter I have too much inside time. This weekend I just put my focus on reading, watching some TV, cooking, and choosing to not be online.

    When you finish one of your cross stitch projects you’ll have to post a photo for us, please!

  2. I spend Saturday mornings catching up on blogs, but after that I just cruise on the internet if I am at home, which we often are not.

    Your Chinese food looks a little different that what I see around here. What was that dish?

  3. I had not heard of the accident. I hope he makes it.

    I have read that book and liked it . It is also a movie. You may want to see it.

    Thanks for the nice comments about the race.

  4. Usually I’m busier on the weekends and don’t spend a lot of time online – this was especially true for last weekend, and I hadn’t heard about the prince’s accident. I hope he makes it – doesn’t sound good right now. 😦

    Love that you were inspired to think about knitting again! I am really enjoying it, even with all the unraveling I end up having to do (and I messed up a project when I was about 2/3 of the way done – argh – start over time).

  5. I’m spending a lot less time on the Internet than a few years ago. And I like it! 🙂 It’s really about living life, right? 🙂

    Your Turkish bread sandwich looks amazing!

    Have a great week!

  6. Still not heard any news on German or Uk news about your Prince! Hope he makes it.

    I don’t spend as much time online over weekends, but with IPad it’s so easy to check things when the computer is off, and my mail and FB comes to my phone.
    I love my connection to the world with living here, when in CT I hardly went online and didn’t miss it, so get u!

  7. I’m with Andrea…. that sandwich looks delish. Sounds like a lovely weekend. I read that book. Very good. I couldn’t put it down.

  8. I am also on the computer a lot less on the weekend than during the week – the big reason is that my kids hog the computer on the weekend!
    We did hear about Prins Friso here, it was on the news every day since the accident. The last I heard they have to wait another few days to see if he will come out of it okay. It really doesn’t sound too good.

  9. wow Id missed the story about the prince as well
    another always needed (here :)) reminder about the frailty of life.

  10. I unplug occasionally. I was mostly unplugged for the past 3 days because I was having a girls weekend at the beach. My phone now has internet access but I only checked it a few times over the past days and didn’t read any blogs. I’m trying to play catch-up now.

  11. sometimes unplugging is a great thing to do. In my world I consider unplugging “running”. It’s my time to get out in my own thoughts all by myself, so I guess you can say when I unplug I unplug from my kids ;-).
    I understand the whole computer and tv thing too. Sometimes it’s just nice to take a break!
    That Turkish bread sandwhich looks really yummy!
    have a great week Fran!

  12. When I go away I unplug completely. I don’t have a laptop or a cell phone…other than that, I think I use the computer less when the weather is good and we can get out more.

  13. Are there other news about the Prince’s accident? I haven’t heard about that accident because during last weekend I was in the mountains of Tuscany.

    I love Turkish bread sandwhich: There’s a Turkish food shop (Kebab) near my house where I can buy those sandwhiches. I can buy there a good Turkish cake with honey and walnuts: Baklava, that’s its name.

  14. Never eaten turkish bread. I have to try it!

Leave a Reply

