Wednesday February 22 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday
Thursday = short workout day. The Firm Express, it’s only 20 minutes but the tempo is high, no rest between exercises. This one had a combination of cardio and weights.
Total time: 20 minutes.

Friday
Planned active rest day. Spend the morning cleaning my house and took a walk with Bella in the afternoon.

Saturday
Now that it isn’t that cold anymore I don’t have any excuse to skip runs. And I didn’t. It was a tough run though because the hard wind almost blow me off the road sometimes. My time is a bit slower than usual too because I had to run against the wind a few times. I did 5:1 intervals on this run and I felt great afterwards. Now my goal is to continue running 3 times a week.

Stats:
Weather:dry with an occasional drop of rain, strong wind, 7C (44 degrees)
Distance: 8 K / 5 miles
Time: 00:58:05
Average time: 07:16 /km
Average speed: 8.3 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Michael Jackson – P.Y.T.

Sunday
Short run on my schedule. It was sunny but I did get some hail during my run. Also the roads were icy and I had to be careful not to slip. Because of that it was a not so fast run but I’d rather be slow than fall and get injured. Did 6:1 intervals.

Stats:
Weather:dry, a bit of hail, not much wind, 3C (37 degrees)
Distance: 4 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:27:47
Average time: 06:57 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Bruce Springsteen – Waiting on a sunny day.

Monday
My first P90X workout: core synergistics and I loved it! A lot of push ups which I do the girly way. I still can’t do a full push up but I keep on trying. What I like about the Beachbody programs is that you see in the screen how much time the exercise is and it counts down, so is the total workout time. If I get tired during an exercise and see it’s only 20 more seconds I push through.
Total time: 56 minutes.

Tuesday
Went out for a morning run. The weather was good and it wasn’t too cold. The run was good, not much to say about this one. Did 6:1 intervals.

Stats:
Weather:dry, some wind, 3C (37 degrees)
Distance: 4.5 K / 2.8 miles
Time: 00:31:00
Average time: 06:53 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Robbie Williams – Lovelight.

Wednesday
Yogalates total body toner abdominals. This was a boring workout. Half of it were breathing exercises which is good but not for too long. It didn’t feel like a workout at all and I won’t be doing this particular workout again. The DVD has 3 more other workouts and I hope they will be better.
Total time: 25 minutes.

Weekly review
Excellent workout week, I didn’t skip workouts, sticked to my workout plan. Very happy with this.

I’ve switched my Sunday run and my Monday workout because I don’t really like running 2 days in a row. And because of that I have skipped my Sunday run too often in the past weeks. I will be running on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday. I started doing this so that I wouldn’t have to run in the dark twice a week. But now that it’s not that cold anymore I don’t really mind. And besides it will be light in the morning in a couple of weeks.

16 responses to “Wednesday February 22 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. Great work Fran! Love the variation in workouts! Keep up the great work 😉

  2. You had a great workout week! That should make you smile and get you excited to move into next week!

  3. You have the same shoes I do and I love that black and pink! I don’t vacation to relax. I vacation to do things. Some time I will have to try the other kind.

    Yeah to not running in the dark.

  4. Good job Fran! You know I’m right there with you on the Yoga. It just doesn’t do anything for me. You really rocked it this week!! Awesome.

    I still LOVE that outfit in the picture under your Saturday workout. Gorgeous!

  5. I’ve only done a couple of the P90 videos although I’d like to stick with the program eventually. I did like the little countdown timer!

  6. Sounds like you had a fantastic week of workouts! Mine were lacking because I was sick and I didn’t want to aggrevate it. I’m back at it now though and it felt great to run today!

  7. Wow Fran, you were a running fool last week! Nice going – especially with the wind. That is HARD. Feels like you’re barely moving. And I’m with you on not liking to run in the dark…nice that the sun is showing up more and more lately. 🙂

  8. Roz@weightingfor50

    Wow Fran, you really rocked all the workouts. I am bowing at your feet!!!! Have a wonderful rest of the week.

  9. What an excellent week of work outs!!! Congratulations on a job well done!

  10. Wow – P90X – you are hard core!!

  11. I am so impressed with your workout regimen. Black & pink fo rmy fav colors.

  12. You had an awesome workout week! Way to go!

  13. You made me laugh so hard about the sauerkraut! Vies!!! LOL! 😀

  14. 3 times a week is a very good plan also considering that running is not your only activity: you are working hard. Be careful on the icy streets.

  15. You know, for reasons out of my control (low blood sugar tuesday) I found that resting from running helped my run yesterday – in my mind I thought it would be harder to get back into it.

    I like your running schedule – I think I am going to try to up my mileage and not worry about time over the weekends, so my shorter runs get faster. We’ll see! Great job!

  16. I’ll take running in the dark over running in the wind any day! In fact, on Monday I ran on my treadmill because, of course it was dark, but our wind gusts were insane. No thank you!

Leave a Reply

