Friday February 24, 2012: The TGIF edition

Since a couple of months we have a new TV channel: 24 Kitchen.
I believe in the USA you have Food Network and I think this is about the same: 24 hours a day cooking programs. I watch it a lot especially the one that’s called “the easy kitchen”. Recipes that are ready in about 30 minutes. This week some of our dinners are from recipes I saw in this program.
Monday dinner: green bean fantasy. A dish with green beans, sweet potato, mushrooms, yellow pepper, sunflower seeds, almonds, bacon and a bit of cinnamon. Very tasteful.

Tuesday dinner: a dish with noodles, chicken, fresh pineapple, snow peas and red pepper. Also a recipe from 24 Kitchen. It was okay but not that special that I’m going to make it again.

Some of you asked me to show photo’s of my cross stitching work when it is finished. Well, you have to have a lot of patience because most of my works take years to finish. It doesn’t help that I have 10 different works on which I’m all working. I thought it would be nice to show you some of the things I did finish and that are hanging in my house.

 

 

For those of you who never cross stitch, let me give you an idea how much work it is. I have to say that the one I’m showing you is my most difficult work. Every space on this is used as you can see on the pattern at the right (and there are 3 more sheets of this). The pic below shows how it is going to look when it’s finished and you can see I did not make much progress on this one yet.

I will post a pic every Monday if I worked on something in the past week. So you and I can see the progress (or not) I’m making.

I took a vacation day today. This week is a school holiday and lot of people at work are on vacation. It was quiet this week at the office and today a lot of colleagues are free too.
My weekend plans are exercising and relaxing. Tomorrow night we are going to our best friends and have dinner there. My friend will be cooking. The plan is we are going to this more often and next time I’m the cook.

Have a great weekend my friends!

13 responses to “Friday February 24, 2012: The TGIF edition

  1. We have Food Network in Canada. Mostly shows from the US. We lovei it and watch it a lot. In fact I think it has a lot to do with why Paige likes cooking so much. Those cross stiches look extremely difficult! Must really be a labour of love. I like the one with the food 🙂

  2. Wow your cross stitch stuff is amazing and so intricate! Between this post and Shelley’s I feel like a total craft sloth lol.

    Hey that Monday meal you had? Totally Paleo! I love the Food Network – I can vegetate for hours in front of it just enjoying all the different things being made.

  3. Holy cow that looks like a ton of work! A ton! Can you do it while you are watching movies? Someone recommended Criminal Minds to me. Have you ever seen that? I am totally in love with Mark Harmon from NCIS.

  4. I love your food pics. They always make me hungry because the look good. Cross stictching is a lot of work! Your work is amazing.

  5. Wow! That is some amazing cross stitch work! I’ve done some cross stitch but never anything so elaborate. Beautiful!

  6. That cross stitch is beautiful! Lots of talent being showcased on the blogs lately!

    I used to watch Food Network a lot. Now it is mostly competitions. There is a new channel called the Cooking Channel, which is more like what Food Network used to be. Our cable company doesn’t carry it yet, though.

  7. I started a cross stitch once back in middle school (a basset hound… surprise). We had small lunch-time courses we called “mini-course” where the teachers could teach you something they enjoy and one of the ones I took was cross stitch. I haven’t touched it since then though but it was cool to learn. It’s so tedious. The cross stich things you’ve completed are very lovely though and the one you are working on now is quite ambitious!
    All that food looks amazing! I used to watch food network all the time. Then just before I moved (and haven’t signed back up for cable) we got a channel called ‘cooking channel’. It features a lot more cooking and less of the competitions and such. One of these days I’ll get cable again.

  8. Your cross stitch works are just gorgeous. Absolutely beautiful works of art! I cracked up at the unfinished one, only because I’ve done something like that…take on a HUGE project and then not get very far because, hello…it’s HUGE!

    Have a great weekend, my friend!

  9. Beautiful work on the cross stitching!!! Can’t wait to see the finished product of the last one…it is going to be be gorgeous.

    Have a fabulous weekend!!!

  10. Roz@weightingfor50

    Oh Fran, the cross stitch is AMAZING!!!!! We have the Food Network here in Canada, but I don’t watch it as much as I used to….they have FAR too many cooking “reality competition” shows….which I find really dull. People must love ’em, but their not my cup of tea at ALL. Have a wonderful weekend. Hugs.

  11. Your cross stitch is so beautiful. I’ve done a little in my past, and it is a lot of work. You really have a talent for it. Just gorgeous.

    I love the Food network here in the U.S. It is fun to watch some cooking shows, and get ideas for dinners. Your dinners looked very good.

  12. You cross stitching works are really beautiful!
    Have a nice week!

  13. Cross stitch looks so tedious! I don’t think I would have the patience. Good for you!

    Hope you enjoyed the weekend.

Leave a Reply

