Wednesday March 7 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday
I had planned a short workout for Thursday morning. However R. had to repair the shower cabin in the bathroom on Wednesday and the glue he used had to dry 24 hours. This meant I couldn’t take a shower after my workout. Doing it at night wasn’t an option because Thursday nights I do my grocery shopping for the week. I rescheduled this workout to Sunday where I had planned a rest day.

Friday
Rest.

Saturday
This was a good run, I was so happy when I finished it. Because it was still recovery week this run I had no pace in mind. And I just ran at a pace that felt good without looking at my watch (except for the time). I did this with 7:1 intervals. I need to run more often without watching my pace because it is just the joy of running and listening to the music.
Also the first day I didn’t wear my thermo clothes underneath my running clothes, Spring is on it’s way.

Stats:
Weather:dry, cloudy, light wind, 9C (48 degrees)
Distance: 6.6 K / 4.1 miles
Time: 00:46:03
Average time: 06:59 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – It’s not unusual.

Sunday
Started my day with the workout I had originally planned on Thursday. A workout from the Firm: 20 minute weight loss. I did the burn & firm workout. Great workout although the tempo is high on this DVD and you have to combine legs and arms workouts which sometimes still is hard for me because of a bad coordination. But I’m getting better at it.
Total time: 20 minutes.

Monday
Did some sort of speedwork today. I did 4 x 400 intervals during a 4K run. After every interval I walked for a minute to catch my breath. I didn’t run on a pace, I just ran faster than the walk/run breaks.
The negative side of running in the dark in the rain is that you don’t see puddles. Just before I was finished I stepped in one with my right foot which was soaking wet after that 🙂

Stats:
Weather:rain, not much wind, 4C (39 degrees)
Distance: 4 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:27:09
Average time: 06:47 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Train – Drive by

Tuesday
Chalean Extreme. This workout was completely focussed on legs and shoulders, 90% of the exercises combined a shoulder and leg exercise. Great workout.
Total time: 32 minutes.

Wednesday
Another run I am very happy with. Also a short one but again I didn’t watch my pace and ran at what felt good. Used a run/walk interval of 8:1.

Stats:
Weather:dry, some wind, 4C (39 degrees)
Distance: 4 K / 2.5 miles
Time: 00:27:20
Average time: 06:50 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Frank Stallone – Far from over

Weekly review
Very pleased with this week. I skipped only one workout but I couldn’t do anything about that.

I am very happy with my home workouts. It was a good decision to cancel my gym membership and invest in DVD’s to do at home. Because I have a lot it’s never boring and I like them all so far.

Running is something different. I had made a plan that included tempo runs, speedwork and pace runs but most of the runs didn’t go that well. I still can’t run 30 minutes straight. I did a lot of thinking about that this week. I ran my last 3 runs at what felt good for me at that moment and they were all better than most of the runs in the weeks prior to these runs. I was also a bit faster without paying attention to that.
On April 9th and 22nd I signed up for a 10K race. I decided to drop all tempo, speedwork and pace runs and just run at a pace that feels good at that moment. I am going to work on the walk intervals and work towards running 30 minutes without walking. After the 10K on April 22nd I will think about what’s next. For now I think this works best for me.

14 responses to “Wednesday March 7 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. I think it’s a great idea to work on being able to run the 30 min without stopping, then speed (if you choose). I know others might think differently, but I think you should have a good endurance base before you try to improve something like pace. 30 minutes is a great base. Figure out where your normal walk breaks are and then challenge yourself to push past that for at least a minute (more if you can). I’m betting that your mind needs the breaks now more than your body. Once you get used to the idea of running without stopping you’ll be able to do it.

  2. You sure had a great week of running and DVD training…well done.
    Right now I cant run without walking during a 30mins run….I seem to be struggling with the leg I injured in September and it sure frustrates me the pain…but like you…we have a goal to work towards and we will…the warmer the weather gets the better for us.

  3. Woohoo, come on Spring, indeed! Nice to be able to shed some layers when you run!

    I’m with you on the idea of running a certain length of time w/o stopping. You are working on 30 minutes – I’m working on 10 minutes. But one of these days (and soon, I hope!), we’ll both be where we want to with our running. 🙂

  4. I love your variety of workouts. I need to add some other stuff in to help keep it fresh.

  5. The Firm instructor on your DVD is one of my favorites. I like her routines.

    Sometimes you just need to run the distance over and over and not worry about speed work and drills and all that stuff.

  6. You have been getting some good workouts in! I am hoping to get out and enjoy the sun today…

  7. I really love how you mix up your workouts!!! Love the pink shirt to!!!! You are doing so well~~~ Hopefully the sun shines here shortly. It was snowing earlier today.

  8. You’re actually running really fast with the intervals Fran, you don’t give yourself enough credit. You need to set your Garmin so you can’t see your pace or distance (create a custom page) then turn it on and just run for 30 minutes. That way you won’t be worried about how slow or fast you are.

    A lot of people would not be motivated to work out unless they went to the gym but you are so I think you made a great decision there – and you’re saving money. Money you can spend on new workout clothes!!

  9. You have definitely proven that you have the dedication to workout at home. I can’t seem to do it. Keep it up!

  10. Great workouts, Fran! I love pink and black 🙂
    Happy 8th to you!

  11. Just read about your run with the rabbit. So cute! I didn’t know they could swim either! I love reading about your workouts. You are really accomplishing alot Good for you Fran. Keep it up.

  12. I think working toward running 30 minutes without walking is a great goal. It sounds like you have better runs when you don’t pay attention to your pace.

    And yes I do love Jax. I showed someone his picture on my phone today.

  13. Great week of work outs! But boo to the wet foot!

    I think it is so cool that you work out at home.

  14. Good job! I keep hearing that variety of workouts is the key to a fit body. You are doing great in that department (I don’t). I find that the key to running distances is to go slow. The speed will come later and actually starting speed workout without sufficient running base can lead to injuries. I know it first hand.

Leave a Reply

