Friday March 16, 2012: The TGIF edition

I didn’t post my weekly workout update on Wednesday because my website host had an error that put my website down for 2 days. Here’s the weekly review just for information, I’m very happy with last weeks results.

I have a secret to share with you. A Fatsecret to be exact.
Since March 1 I’m tracking my food at Fatsecret. I wanted to know how much calories I eat in a day and how much calories certain foods have. I needed a reminder of what I eat again. I’ve been tracking for 15 days straight now (except for the Thursday I had dinner with my co-workers).

In the past counting calories wasn’t something I did for long but so far so good. Why it works this time is that they have an app for my blackberry that is in Dutch and has a Dutch food database. It synchronizes automatically with the website. Everytime I eat or drink something I enter it immediately in my phone. It’s working because I’m slowly losing weight again.

But it’s not enough. We finally decided about our vacation, going to make reservations tomorrow and get back to this on my next post. In 11 weeks we’ll be in Italy. Remember the 180 day challenge I started: 66 days left. I want to be at goal weight or close to it by the time we leave for our vacation.

The good thing about reading blogs is that you can “steal” ideas from other bloggers. Lori is using the 90/10 rule right now and it’s working for her. As of Monday I’m committing myself for the next 11 weeks to use this rule too which basically means I can have 4 “cheats” in a week. Cheats I’m going to plan so I won’t fall of the wagon. I hope this together with counting my calories and keeping up the exercise the way I do now it will get me to a weight I can be happy with.

Weekend plans? Not too much, because our vacation is going to cost more than we thought we need to be careful what we spend the next couple of months. I have planned to start working in the garden tomorrow and clean up the Winter mess and make it ready for Spring. It’s a lot of work and I won’t do the entire garden.

Knitting update
This week I worked on my sweater, I didn’t have that much time to knit this week but I did make some progress.

Have a great weekend my friends!

16 responses to “Friday March 16, 2012: The TGIF edition

  1. Your knitting is SOOOOOO cute!! Love all the bright colors!! And way to go on your workouts! That looks like a rocking week!!

  2. Glad you’re back up and running Fran. I have learned over time you need to do what’s right for you and what works for you. The important thing here is when you are realizing that something needs to be fixed you do it. That’s great!

    Italy? So jealous! One of my bucket list vacations ;-).

    Have a great weekend!

  3. The knitting looks lovely and glad to hear you got your vacation planned. Good luck with the food – you can do it!
    Hugs

  4. I need to know more about this 90/10 rule. It sounds like it would be good for me. WHen I cheat I go crazy. Like right now!
    Italy sounds wonderful!!!

  5. I use fatsecret to enter my recipes – love how user friendly it is! Hooray for Italy! My husband and I want to go there some day – he’s father was born in Florence!

    Happy weekend!

  6. I’ve been doing that 90/10 thing since I started Paleo. The only difference for me is that I’ve been putting my treats all on one day instead of a meal here or there. It’s super easy for me to be strict during the work week and not so much on the weekends when I’m with Mr. Helen. As long as that’s all I do it has worked well.

    Love the colors of that sweater!

  7. Glad to see you back. And not ‘cheats’ – just more indulgent. It’s not illegal or bad LOL!

  8. Frustrating to have your blog down – glad it’s back up!

    I love that sweater and the stripes make me happy. You are doing great with your color changes – I haven’t attempted that yet.

    How exciting that the vacation is planned – makes it more “real”, right? And I’m so happy that the fat secret is working for you! You can do this, Fran – and you’ll be so pleased with yourself in your vacation pictures, too.

    Have a great weekend!

  9. I did fatsecret for a while as well via my BB as have the German foods…but not counting anymore..
    Am happy you losing….will make you feel fantastic on your holiday.
    Love Italy…the time we went there is still one of my best holidays besides going home.

  10. Ahah Italy sounds familiar!!!! I hope you will be able to visit us. Many things to do, many places to visit, a lot of food to taste…….

  11. Italy! What a great vacation plan!!!

  12. Good training: Your workout will improve steadily, Fran!

    I’m glad to know the place of your vacation 🙂 and I hope you’ll be in Central Italy (between Tuscany and Rome), where I live. Please, let me know the region which you have chosen! I’m curious!
    Have a beautiful weekend!

  13. Great work outs! I use fatsecret too…I love how it calculates net carbs so I don’t have to.

    Have a great weekend!!!

  14. Glad the calorie counting is working for you! And I like the 90/10 rule and planned “cheats.”

    The sweater looks GREAT!

    Have a great week!

  15. it’s the flipside.

    how was the weekend?
    and did you finish knitting?

    it was awesome here! 🙂 a whole lotta nothing and family time.

  16. Love the colors of the sweater.

Leave a Reply

