Monday March 19, 2012: The mishmash edition

Daily stuff:

We booked our vacation yesterday. We’re flying to Florence where we will be staying for 2 days in a bed and breakfast. and go to the Springsteen concert there. After that we will pick up our rental car and drive to Umbria for a few days. We’re staying in a country house and get a pasta cooking workshop there. Next stop is Tuscany, close to Siena. Another stay in a country house and during this stay we rente a Vespa scooter and will tour with it for a day. Our last stop is Lucca, another country house. At this country house where they make wine, we have a wine tastery. After that it’s driving back to Florence and fly home. I’m looking forward to this trip, especially because of the extra’s we booked with it.

 

Saturday I made a start cleaning up the garden after Winter. I did only half of the garden which took me 2 hours. I cut back and trimmed plants and took away all the leaves and everything that was dead. It looked refreshing after I was finished. Going to do the other half in 2 weeks.

I always wait too long before I do something in the garden and when I start it’s a lot of work. I’m going to try to work in it every 2 weeks. I don’t really like to do the garden and won’t do it every week because of that.

R. also did his part, he cleaned the terrace.

Before

After

Before

After

Hard working guy

Sunday we had an easy day. We went to a park for a walk with Bella. We took her ball with us and at one point R. accidently threw it in the water. Bella was crying but didn’t get in to get it. Suddenly a big black dog came towards us, jumped in the water, took her ball and, after his boss commanded, put the ball in front of Bella. This was so funny to see.

 

Book I’m reading

Dennis Lehane
Mystic River

 

Movies I’ve seen last week

Twilight Breaking Dawn part 1

I think I was the last Twilight fan who hasn’t seen this movie but when it came to the cinema nobody wanted to go and I waited till it was released on DVD. I received the DVD on Friday and watched it the same night and loved it! Can’t wait for part 2 and this time I will see it in the cinema, even if I have to go alone.

 

TV shows I watched last week
The Big Bang Theory, Necessary Roughness, Grey’s Anatomy, Revenge, The Walking Dead, Once upon a time, King, The Good Wife.

 

Cross Stitching
This is what I worked on yesterday.

16 responses to “Monday March 19, 2012: The mishmash edition

  1. Your vacation sounds wonderful!!! I hope you have a wonderful time. I also hate yard work. I am not a fan of it at all. 🙂

  2. Oh, what exciting plans for your vacation! That sounds fantastic.

    Nice work in the garden. We need to work on ours soon… neither of us particularly enjoys it and we’re always too tired out from running/biking/etc.

  3. Oh, your vacation looks wonderful! I can’t wait to hear all about it, and see a pics too.

  4. The dog store made me smile. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Your vacation is going to be wonderful!!! I plan on going with you, in my mind. That’s ok, right? 😉

  5. I love your little patio and garden. I wish we had a private space like that. Some day.

    I can’t wait to hear about your vacation – I am excited for you and totally jealous!

  6. That vacation sounds so wonderful! Hope you have a great time. And take lots and lots of wonderful pictures.

  7. Your trip sounds wonderful!!! I am sure it will be a great time.

    Nice work on the backyard…looks all nice and tidy…ready for relaxing, reading and enjoying the sunshine.

    What a cute story about the big dog getting the ball…that must have been so funny!

  8. You really know how to plan a vacation. It sounds like a really lovely way to see Italy.

    I like your 90/10 plan. Nice to know you can make a couple of choices that are not totally diet food and yet still be in control of your plan. Good thinking!

    Your knitting is really coming along. That sweater is going to be so bright and beautiful.

    Hey did you ever read the Hunger Games? I remember a while back you said you were starting it then I took a break from blogland for a while. Did you like it?

  9. Roz@weightingfor50

    Hi Fran, sooo excited for you and R’s vacation plans. And LOVE the garden pics. OK…gotta ask…when your pond freezes over in the winter, do you have to nab the fish and bring them inside until it thaws? I’m assuming not..but also know things can freeze solidly. Have a great week!!

  10. Isn’t it great to get the vacation plans all booked? Sounds like you guys have a great trip planned.
    Nice job on the garden – I’m with you, I don’t really like to do it either, which means ours looks pretty wild by the middle of the summer!

  11. Florence! Umbria! Tuscany! I want to go!

  12. Your trip to Italy sounds awesome!! Can’t wait to see the pics. And I am an avid Twilight fan & haven’t seen it yet.

  13. I love your yard! t’s so pretty.

    Florence?! Wow! If you need a personal assistant or anything call me. 😉

  14. One of many things I love about Europe is how compact it is. It is so easy to get to so many wonderful places just for a weekend or so. Florence is one of my favorite cities. I hope to visit it again one of these days.
    Have fun!

  15. Totally jealous of your vacation! My husbands father was born in Florence and didn’t come to America until he was 12. I would have loved to see that dog get the ball – how cool is that? My dog probably would have kept it for himself thinking finders keepers losers weepers!

  16. A very good job in the garden. Tuscany and Umbria are the greenest regions in Italy. I am sure you will have fun.

Leave a Reply

