Wednesday March 21 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday

Yogalates workout focussed on the upper body. These workouts are great to add to the other workouts because they are not as hard as the other which is nice for a change.
Total time: 28 minutes.

Friday
Rest.

Saturday
I didn’t feel like running on Saturday and I gave in to it. But I didn’t sit on the couch. I worked in the garden for 2 hours and walked with Bella.

Sunday
Rest.

Monday

It was cold, freezing cold, didn’t really expect that and I didn’t wear my thermo clothing but after about 10 minutes I was warmed up and it didn’t bother me anymore. Slow run but a very good one, it went smoothly. Intervals: 11:1

Stats:
Weather:cold, fog, not much wind, 0C (32 degrees)
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:35:16
Average time: 07:03 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Glee Cast – Love Shack

Tuesday

Chalean Extreme push circuit 3. Weights workout focussed on legs and chest. I used a heavier weight for the first time: 6 lbs (3 kg). For some of you that’s a baby weight, for me it’s a step forward. I’m definitely feeling it. But also in my legs and I won’t use heavy weights for my legs anymore. My legs are super strong and I don’t want soreness because it can interfer with my runs.
I also did 10 wall push ups. As of this week I’m working towards a full push up and start with wall push ups.
Total time: 32 minutes.

Wednesday

I wasn’t feeling well Tuesday night. I was tired and I felt weird. I was in bed before 10 pm which never happens. When the alarm went off this morning, I was tempted to stay in bed but decided I would go out for a run and see what would happen. I could always make it shorter. And so I did and I did make it a bit shorter than I had planned. It wasn’t that bad at all, I felt pretty good. Intervals: 13:1.

Stats:
Weather:dry, some wind, 4C (39 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:22:14
Average time: 06:57 /km
Average speed: 8.6 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Frank Stallone – Far from over

Weekly review

I missed two workouts last week but I’m okay with that. It’s okay to miss a workout or two every now and then. Overall I’m doing pretty well so far this year with my exercise.

I did decide however to add a few extra rest days to my schedule which means there will be weeks where I workout 6 days and other weeks 5 days. I don’t want to overtrain myself and I’ve noticed this past 3 months I need an extra rest day every now and then.

 

10 responses to “Wednesday March 21 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. Gardening is great exercise!
    Don’t ever apologize for the weights you use. Everyone is at a different point and increasing your weights (whatever amount that is) is fantastic! Means you are getting stronger.

  2. sounds like another great week Fran. Nothing wrong with taking rest days. I find I always come back stronger. For the last 9 weeks I have taken 3 rest days a week, but the 4 I work out I give it my all ;-).

  3. Man it is not freezing cold here. It is in the 80s. It is so so so hot in my room at school which means everyone is tired and grumpy in the afternoon and little learning takes place. It is way too early for that.

    No bon bons on the couch? Working in the garden and walking Bella counts for sure! I would run many miles rather than work in the garden!

  4. Great week of working out Fran! It is so good to rest your body when it asks. Self-awareness is a really big help!

    Enjoy the rest of the week!

  5. I think it’s cool you are working on push ups. Chicks with upper body strength are sexy 🙂

  6. I’m just impressed at how many workouts you do at home – I have SUCH a hard time motivating myself to do that…heck, I forget to do my planks quite often and that’s just a few minutes! You’re doing great, my friend. 🙂

  7. I agree with Shelly – you have great motivation, doing all those workouts at home. I have a hard time getting myself to do my DVDs. So you definitely earned a few rest days here and there!

  8. It’s good that you listen to your body before your body makes you rest via injury. I think you do great as there are not many people who are this movtivated to work out at home on their own!

  9. I think 6 pound weights are great – good job Fran! Enjoy your weekend!

  10. Indeed you never rest! I like your log-book. Sometimes I turn back in time to remember what I did long time ago: the log book and the pictures are my best running memories.

Leave a Reply

