Wednesday March 28 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday

Thursday = short workout day. Did a The Firm Express workout: cardio + sculpt. I do like this DVD’s but there’s one thing I don’t like. The workouts are short and all the exercises are short too. I would have preferred it if they did less exercises so you could do more of the same. But overall it’s a good short workout.
Total time: 20 minutes.

Friday

Rest.

Saturday

Tough run because I needed to break the mental block in my head that I could run more than 8K (5 miles). And I didn’t do a longer run last weekend. But I gave it a try and I did it. Intervals 15:1 but I stopped twice to catch my breath. Since I don’t watch my pace at the moment during runs I was more than surprised to see my overall pace afterwards, much faster than I thought I was, haven’t run much at this pace this year.
The weather was absolutely perfect for running, best weather for a run so far this year.
Very happy with this run.

Stats:
Weather:dry, sunny, hardly any wind, 9C (48 degrees)
Distance: 9.6 K / 6 miles
Time: 01:04:59
Average time: 06:46 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: The Fratellis – Chelsea Dagger.

Sunday

X-TrainFit workout: hardcore. A mat workout with only core exercises. Great workout.
Total time: 54 minutes.

Monday

Early morning run, it was dark again because the clock went an hour forward Saturday night but hopefully in a few weeks I’ll be running in daylight again in the morning. Nothing special about this run, it was just a good run. Intervals: 16:1.

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 5C (41 degrees)
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:35:16
Average time: 07:03 /km
Average speed: 8.5 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Guns ‘n Roses – Sweet child of mine

Tuesday

Turbofire: HITT 25 + Stretch 10. An intense HITT cardio workout of 25 minutes followed by a nice stretch for 10 minutes.
Total time: 35 minutes.

Wednesday

Rest. My body felt very tired Monday and Tuesday and I decided Tuesday night I needed an extra rest day to recover.

Weekly review

Very pleased with last week results, especially with Saturday’s run. It was a good training week.

 

 

13 responses to “Wednesday March 28 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. You did well with your training …well done.
    Am pleased you got through that mental block….
    I hate them…they sure do hamper one’s training performance.

  2. I’d say you had a stellar week Fran! Great work!

  3. You are so dedicated with your workouts Fran! Way to go!

  4. Right choise about the extra rest day … we have to run only when we want.
    Your training is improving slightly. That’s good!
    Spring weather is wonderful and it is becoming hotter … take care about rehydration!

  5. I thought I’d see Bella looking for her ball! Great to feel so good about Saturday!

  6. Great work outs!!! Go Fran!

  7. Don’t you just love those running surprises, when you discover that you actually ran fast? Quite nice!!! Glad you got through that 8K barrier and had such a wonderful run!

  8. You got some great workouts in this week – way to go!

  9. GOOD? It was a great training week for you!

  10. You’ve just gotta love a great run, even if it is a surprise! Glad you were able to break through that mental barrier and get a fast time on top of it!

  11. Well done on the 6 miler! Way to push through!! No more barrier. 🙂

  12. Well done you! It’s great the way that Saturday run turned into something so positive.

  13. We need some days before teaching our body that we do our workouts one before now.
    The extra day is always a good decision if we don’t have the right feeling.

Leave a Reply

