Friday March 30, 2012: The TGIF edition

This weekend Bella and I are home alone. R. is to a motor exhibition in Italy. He left yesterday and will be back Monday morning. My plans are to get a haircut this afternoon and tonight I’m going to my Mom for coffee. Tomorrow I have a run planned and clean up another part of our garden. No plans yet for Sunday.

Monday dinner: veal with ham and cheese on top, cooked potatoes, stir-fried spinach with pesto, spring onions and almonds.

 

Tuesday dinner: rice with vegetables with sort of fish balls of cod fish with coconut.

Wednesday dinner: whole wheat wraps with chicken and salad with salsa. New recipe, nothing special at all and won’t make this again.

 

Thursday dinner: another new recipe and again not that special: noodles with chicken, snow peas, carrots and spring onions.

 

 

Today is my 3rd running anniversary. Today 3 years ago I started running. I started with a Dutch version of C25K and my first run was more walking than running: 3K  (almost 2 miles) in 32 minutes. I keep track of all my exercises in Excel sheets since 2007 and I looked my first run up. I sure made progress since then.

When I started R. had doubts if I would stick to running and to be honest, I had them myself too. I tried running before and never liked it. But to both our surprise I do love running now and still run after 3 years. And I have no plans to give it up.

Knitting update
This week I worked on my sweater. I’ve been kind of busy at night the past 2 weeks and this week I didn’t make much progress either. Oh well … I can always wear them next year in Spring 🙂

I leave you this Friday with a photo of Bella and her favourite toy: a ball (which she destroyed 5 minutes after she got) and wish you a great weekend.

14 responses to “Friday March 30, 2012: The TGIF edition

  1. Happy running anniversary! I’d say it’s a life-time thing for you now.

    Your meals all looked really good this week! And Bella is ready to rock the soccer ball!

  2. A whole weekend alone? I don’t think that’s ever happened to me – enjoy it!

    We buy stuffed animals at garage sales for our dog. He’s really nice to them in the beginning, even for a few days, but then we’ll wake up one morning and he’s taken out the eyes of the stuffed animal and stuffing will be everywhere!

    Happy Friday!

  3. Happy Runniversary! You sure stuck to it and have been very successful!

    The veal with ham and cheese, and the cod with coconut look so good. I “breaded” cod the other night with Parmesan cheese and it was so tasty.

    Have a wonderful weekend!!!

    P.S. Bella just gets cuter and cuter!

  4. Congratulations on your running anniversary…wow three years already….think for me its about that as well……:))
    I love the saying on that poster about running, its so true..if you run, you a runner…I love that!!
    The meals are making me feeling hungry looking at the images….I think i need to go down and get myself a yogurt….as will wait later for dinner…:)
    Your knitting is coming on very very nicely…
    HAVE GOOD WEEKEND WITHOUT R

  5. Too bad you can’t come here and join us on Sunday for ladies spa day! Wouldn’t that be fun?

    Congrats on the runniversary! You are a very dedicated runner 😀

  6. I hope you have a great weekend and find a way for it to be relaxing.

  7. Really cool that you keep such good track of your workouts and can pinpoint the day you started running…and happy runiversary!!! So neat to be able to look at how far you’ve come, too!

    My mom brought Paco a toy which he promptly destroyed. The only things safe are Nylabones – everything else, his razor-sharp teeth attack with gusto.

    Are you looking forward to a weekend of peace and quiet, or do you prefer to always have someone around? I like the peace, myself…but then, I’m a bit of a hermit. Hope you enjoy your time!

  8. Roz@weightingfor50

    Have a wonderful “Fran and Bella” weekend! Congrats on your runniversary! And I A’wwe’d out loud at the photo of Bella. So cute!

  9. No way are you quitting running now – you are hard core!

    Do you love having a bit of time to yourself? Have to admit, I don’t mind it once in a while. Enjoy your weekend.

  10. I always like the colors you choose for knitting.

    I love the quote about who is a runner. So true!

  11. I hope you enjoy your weekend. And big congratulations on your running anniversary. I am really proud of you and it gives me faith!

  12. I love that quote by John Bingham! Congratulations on your running anniversary…yes, you are a runner!

  13. Happy running anniversary.
    I disagree, what is that strange ball? Bella must play with the oval rugby ball!
    I think you are ready to write a book of recipes.

  14. That ‘you are a runner’ quote is a good one! Hope you’re enjoying the weekend.

Leave a Reply

