Wednesday April 4 – 2012, The workout edition

Thursday

I took a rest day on Wednesday where I had planned a run. I did the run on Thursday only shorter than originally planned. I had decided the night before that I would run 3.2K without walking breaks and I did. It went great. I didn’t watch my pace, I just ran. Great run.

Stats:
Weather:dry, hardly any wind, 7C (44 degrees)
Distance: 3.2 K / 2 miles
Time: 00:21:56
Average time: 06:51 /km
Average speed: 8.8 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Pink! – So what

Friday
Rest.

Saturday
Rest but I did work in the garden the entire morning.

Sunday
Rest.

Monday

Jillian Michaels Shred it with weights, level 1. This is actually a kettlebell workout but I don’t own a kettlebell and have no intention in buying one because this is the only DVD I own that uses a kettlebell. But it could be done with a hand weight too which I did (one of the girls behind Jillian showed the moves with a hand weight). Very fun workout and it gave me a good sweat. I could feel I worked my shoulders.
Total time: 28 minutes.

Tuesday

 

Woohoooooooo: 5 K without walk breaks. I actually had planned an interval of 23:1 for this run but after 23 minutes I said: one more song, after that one more song and so on until I finished this one without walking. One of my goals this year was to run 30 minutes without stopping and I finally did it. Feels good, feels like I’m finally getting back to my old running level.

Stats:
Weather:dry, not much wind, 5C (41 degrees)
Distance: 5 K / 3.1 miles
Time: 00:34:20
Average time: 06:52 /km
Average speed: 8.7 km/hour
Last song on Ipod before finish: Marc Almond – Something’s got a hold of my heart.

Wednesday
I put in a DVD of The Firm but after 5 minutes I realized I had done this one just 2 weeks ago. I bought this DVD with 2 workouts on it but it were just copied workouts from the Firm Express series that I also bought. I don’t like doing the same thing so soon after each other and stopped after 8 minutes. This workout doesn’t count and I’m going to sell the 2 DVD’s that have the same workouts as on the Firm Express. Bummer!

Weekly review
I didn’t run/workout that much last week but I’m perfectly okay with that. I obviously needed to take a step back and take the rest. My 5K without walking breaks is definitely my highlight this week.

 

 

15 responses to “Wednesday April 4 – 2012, The workout edition

  1. I am glad you don’t have a kettlebell because people much more knowledgable than her say that her form is all wrong in that video and that you could get hurt. Just letting you know!

    Today is my rest day – so happy! 😀

  2. Great job Fran!!!!

  3. You definitely need those easier weeks now and then. And it looks like the workouts you did were GREAT! Congrats on the 5K without walks!!

  4. Yes to the 5K without breaks! Good for you.

  5. Great job Fran! I can’t see buying a kettlebell, either. You need to increase weights with those as well, so you end up buying a whole set.

  6. How fun that we both reached 5K running goals in the same week! I like your “one more song” mantra and may have to try that one of these days. 🙂

    I used kettlebells when I worked out with Brad – it’s easy to get off with them and strain your back, so it’s probably a good thing you’re not going to buy one. Good on ya for getting those workouts done, though!

    I love that Pink song – need to add it back onto my running playlist.

  7. Woo-hoo! Congrats on your 5K with no walk breaks!!! I know how much you’ve wanted to nail that goal, and now you’ve done it – way to go!

    I am with you on the kettelballs – just one more thing to take up space in my house (and could be used as a lethal weapon by my kids)!

  8. A
    W
    E
    S
    O
    M
    E
    JOB!!!!

  9. Congrats on running 5k without walk breaks!

  10. Congrats on making your goal, I know that means a lot to you! In the May edition of Runner’s World there is an article about running without technology and how that can make you faster. They say you should run a route you know well and it’s ok to note the time you leave and the time you get back. The theory is that if you run without your GPS watch and iPod, etc., etc. that the runner is forced to listen to their body therefore they don’t overexert themself and just naturally run like they should – and will ultimately speed up even though there’s no gadget telling what the pace is. It’s very interesting to me since that is what I do after a big race like a marathon and I have to say numerous times I’ve been quite surprised at how fast I was.

  11. Congrats on your 5K! You must have been over the moon happy. And that’s a really respectable time too. You have inspired me to pull out my workout DVDs. I don ‘t have a lot of them but maybe that’s my problem. Maybe I need the variety.

    Great job Fran! Have a great Easter weekend!

  12. Looks like you are doing great, Fran!

    (Yes, I am back 🙂 )

  13. Roz@weightingfor50

    Woo Hoo!!! Way to go Fran!!!!!! You are a fitness inspiration!!!!

  14. Congrats on your 5K. Your commitment to working out is inspiring.

  15. Glad for the 5 km without walking breaks!
    My wife always says that gardening is more demanding than running.

Leave a Reply

